We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough to stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Ittre, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good enough to stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I chose this hotel because it was the #1 ranked in the area. Certainly the service was good and friendly and the rooms were comfortable, well-equipped and quiet. However everything was rather dark and gloomy and a little run-down. Because I was tired after a very long journey I decided to eat a bar snack/evening meal. Big mistake! The shepherd's pie was almost all potato and the bread roll was distinctly stale. In my room the WiFi was free, fast and reliable. The price was a liitle high.

All in all a decent choice and I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    141
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
108
256
17
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New Liskeard, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed only one night but will definitely return for a nice, relaxing weekend! The rooms are cozy, clean and designed to offer luxurious relaxation with lovely fireplaces and whirlpool tubs! Compared to other similar properties in other cities, the Stone Gate Inn, offers an affordable alternative for a luxury couples getaway.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyLee_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was our first visit to the Stone Gate Inn and it will be our only choice if we're back in Orillia. The staff was gracious and attentive and the rooms were perfectly suited to our needs. Beds were comfortable and the rooms were stocked with more than enough dishes and glasses. There is a great hot breakfast (included) where, once again you can enjoy the friendly staff! Congratulations to the staff and all who are part of making the Stone Gate Inn so welcoming and comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotSoGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel and we will definitely be back! Our room was a small suite, complete with fridge, wet bar, microwave, toaster, and coffeemaker, and there were dishes and cutlery provided. The bed and pillows were comfortable, a turn down service was provided, and the room was very clean. There is a small pool and hot tub on the main floor, as well as a small bar/restaurant called the Fireside Lounge, which serves locally brewed beer. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room. Free parking is available, and there is a 24-hour grocery store very close by. The staff was friendly, and the rates were very reasonable. We were impressed with our stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickelcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I have stayed at the Stone Gate several times, most recently on March 3 2012. Spacious rooms-actually all are suites, with all the amenities, comfortable beds and very clean.I have tried a few other hotels in Orillia, but none can even come close, except in price, which only proves you get more for your money at Stone Gate, with pleasant professional staff and dependable quality every time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyh558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
4.3 km away
Best Western Plus Orillia Hotel
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
4.0 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Days Inn - Orillia
2.4 km away
Highwayman Inn & Conference Centre
32.7 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Gate Inn

Property: Stone Gate Inn
Address: 437 Laclie St, Orillia, Ontario L3V 4P7, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,345 - ₹ 12,962
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Gate Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Lake Country, just 1 hour north of Toronto, you will find the heights of luxury and comfort at Stone Gate Inn. Designed to provide the ultimate in relaxation with exquisite decor and upscale amenities, including Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast, cozy Fireside Lounge, Shuttle to Casino Rama and so much more! Just Minutes from Orillia's quaint downtown shopping, or enjoy a stroll through one of the many Waterfront Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stone Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Gate Hotel Orillia
Hotel Stone Gate
Stone Gate Inn Orillia, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing