We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“christmas at the fern” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fern Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fern Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“christmas at the fern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Such a gem.. the only american style all incluisve that i am aware of. Lots of food, clean rooms, great entertainment. a little on the expensive side but you do what you pay for in regards to activities and food. The only optoin i would like to see different and i say it every year.. been going there for `10 years now, is the dining times, way toooooo close together breakfsst is 8-930 lunch 12-1 dinner 6-7.. not enough time inbetween.. the meals were not as great this year as in years past. food cold and meat raw.. but they were busy and very accomadating to give u a new dish. Due to lack of snow, activities were not in abundance, but you could do something every hour if u wanted to. from hikes to bingo to ice skating to swimming.. its a 3 star resort its not the Hilton, very cozy, casual, lower end decor but comfy and welcoming. staff are amazing. I prefer it in the summer.. but def was a nice change for christmas.. go online and check it out.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulife7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your comments. Christmas at Fern is always such a good time and you get to be surrounding by family and good friends. I appreciate your comments regarding the food and we will strive to make that a better experience the first time around. Meal Times are struggle when we try to accommodate all guests preferences but certainly we can and will evaluate them for next year. Thanks again for posting your comments and we look forward to seeing you and your family again time!
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    78
    34
    21
    4
See reviews for
172
19
Solo
0
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed as part of a conference. The rooms are very 1980's and could use some updating. The good - clean (my tub sparkled), fireplaces that actually work, wonderful view of Lake Couchiching, excellent food and service, small refrigerator in the room.
The bad - very dated, rooms have two double beds, tiny bathtubs.
I think they have great programs for families and the outdoor pool looked huge (it was closed). The indoor pool was tiny as is the gym.
I rate it very good as the service and meals were wonderful and the beds, though small, were comfortable.

Room Tip: Some of rooms in the Main Building were a bit larger and had gas fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfnwench1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Fern Resort as part of a conference getaway. Food, good hospitality and service are the cornerstones of what we do here at Fern Resort and I am glad it showed through on your visit. Yes we do have some units that are still in need of updating as we try to remodel our 105 unit property. Currently we are approx 50% there. Thanks again we hope to see you again soon.
Scott Collens
General Manager
Fern Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Our family of five enjoyed our first stay here and have these highlights to share:
PROS:
- varied and stimulating activities for all age groups, adults and kids
- dedicated staff who worked hard to ensure a successful stay (hats off to the toddler caregivers--no easy task taking in our 14-month old, and to Crazy D who elevates bingo to fierce sport)
- good rec and exercise facilities
- nice attention in the dining room to our food allergies and baby needs (always a clean high chair, bib and towel waiting for our little one)
- good variety of meals
- good eveniing entertainment
CONS:
- odd arrangement where we pick up swim/gym towels from the front desk, meaning you could be standing in line for several minutes waiting for guests to check in before asking for a towel
- waiting in line only to be told they're out of towels (management, fix this please)
- baby/toddler wading pool gets somewhat poluted by nearby foliage and birds that drink there
- inconsistent wi-fi signal from our cabin
- inconsistent food quality--acceptable but not on par with a 3-4 star hotel restaurant
Bottom line, our kids really enjoyed their vacation, parents had a chance to relax. We'd go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gngottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for posting your comments regarding your families stay with us at Fern Resort. Crazy D has certainly brought Bingo to new heights of excitement that is not normally matched in your town hall bingo game ! lol. We love Crazy D. As we do each and every summer, we will analysis all the comments both good and bad and look at our procedures to ensure we can create a comfortable atmosphere in a cost effective manner. We look forward to seeing you and your family again next summer and if you filled out your advance reservation request, good luck in the draw to win 50% off next summer's stay!
Cordially,
Scott Collens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Spent a week at Fern Resort Aug. 2011 (our 6th visit). Our kids are aged 9, 9, 14. We travelled with family friends who had 1 son (14). We all had a great time & for the first time our twins fully participated in almost all the Youth Program activities (they loved their Counsellors Trevor & Jamie). Our teen daughter & our friends' son were totally engaged in the Teen Centre program including a boat cruise/ swim at some sandbar in the middle of the open lake, a special Harry Potter movie they got to produce/ direct/ present at the Thursday evening Lip Sync/ Family Show! They engaged the teenagers ---- very difficult feat!!! The food was good (comfortable, Canadian/ British home-cooking) with lots of healthy options/ alternatives. But don't order anything too adventurous. They haven't gotten the asian or caribbean cuisines down pat yet. We love our cottage layout, lakeview & space but the bathroom is really tiny which makes it difficult to get ready on time for breakfast or dinner with a family of 5 (we managed happily!). Any issues we may have had (eg. some dinners arrived late & cold, A/C unit leaked like Niagara Falls behind the drywall 1 night, needed First Aid help) were addressed immediately & professionally. MaryLou's, the indoor air-conditioned lakefront games room with ping-pong, x-box, PS3, billiards, shuffleboard, PCs, snack bar was a great meeting point, a respite from the outdoor activities. Bergwen's, the indoor formal conference room & theater, was the venue for movie night, all the stage shows, some daytime activities. At over C$900. per night for everything (INCLUDING gratuity, HST, 4 waterski sessions, 3 UFO rides, a few bottles of wine, so many fun-filled activities for adults & kids, fun events, shows/ events every night) for a family of 5, it was a bit expensive but still well worth it on a cost/ benefit scale given all that is available & included. I would stay longer if the Master Bedroom bed were a bit less lumpy tho'! Our whole family agrees that it's better than being at a cottage, anyday. Fern staff & management deliver great customer service. We love Fern just the way it is (except the bathroom in our cottage) so please don't change its rustic comfy cottage charm. The staff are approachable, caring & friendly. This is the warmth & charm of Fern. It truly was a vacation for everyone in our family. We booked for summer 2012!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyfunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for all your comments about your families stay with us this past summer for your 6th visit. I am glad to hear the kids got involved in Trevor's youth program ... he certainly keeps the kids engaged. Cynthia's teen program was awesome this year ( as in past years) and most of the teens this summer enjoyed all the energy and time she put in to it. I am pleased we were able to fix some of the small problems you had quickly and professionally and it did not impact your stay negatively.
We look forward to seeing you and your family again next summer.
Cordially,
Scott Collens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I'm a single parent (3 kids) who came with my girlfriend + 2 kids as well as her sister/husband+3 kids. Resort and facilities were excellent. Food was decent but any of the more exotic/vegetarian dishes require some significant work (eg indian style chickpeas, vegetable pot stew) and was a bit of an issue as many in our party were vegetarians. The only issue I had was the cost; As my kids were older (>12), I (party of 4) basically paid $1100 per night for the cottage while my girlfriend's sister (a party of 5) paid signficantly less because her kids were under 12. Understand some differential is warranted (based on food costs for example) but it just seemed excessive given that younger kids use the facilities just as much as older ones. Would have to ponder this a bit if we consider going here next summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AS188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernResort, General Manager at Fern Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you found some value in your vacation even with the high cost. Our pricing structure does garner a high price for teens than children but in turn, does not charge additional for single parents with rate paying teens/children. We are consistently changing menu's and menu options and evaluating them. We strive to offer at least three vegetarian options at each meal as well as vegan options. Vegetarians and Vegans are more and more common place and we will continue to only improve in our menu planning options, Again I thank you for your comments and hope we seeing you and family again soon.
Cordially,
Scott Collens - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orillia
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Couchiching Inn
4.9 km away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
33.0 km away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mariposa Inn & Conference Centre
2.3 km away
Days Inn - Orillia
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 14 in Orillia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Resort

Property: Fern Resort
Address: 4432 Fern Resort Rd, Orillia, Ontario L3V 6H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Orillia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Orillia
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,482 - ₹ 45,195
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern are located along the shores of Lake Couchiching in the city of Orillia. We offer all inclusive packages for both family vacation stays as well as meeting and conference stays. All meals, use of facilities and at specific times of the year, we offer activity programs for all ages, children supervision and nightly entertainment. Established in 1895, Fern has a long tradition of offering our guests with good olde fashion hospitality in a professional and friendly manner. Whether it's the traditional family vacation, a little getaway weekend or a sales meeting or corporate seminar, Fern Resort and the Conference Centre at Fern should be your venue of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Hotel Orillia
Fern Resort Orillia, Ontario
Fern Orillia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing