We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Reviewed 1 May 2017

This hotel is in a great location with a fantastic view of the lake. You can walk to downtown Magog in 5 minutes. It's very quiet and the rooms are very nice, some rooms have a balcony which is perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this hotel from April 28, 2017 to April 30th.
The best thing about this place is the view. It is perfect. You can sit on your private balcony and look out to the lake as you people watch. The hotel is separated from the lake by a bike/walking path. All day people pass by with their dogs, or on roller blades, biking or simply walking. The sun shines on the balcony all afternoon. Very pleasant, gorgeous view. Book a room in the main building on the lake side. If you are in the smaller, white building, book a room on the 1st floor, not on the ground floor if you want a good view.
For a guaranteed lake view from their main building, we booked the comfort plus room-no king beds, only queen. It was comfortable but the furnishings are getting a little tired. We did have a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub, small fridge, flat screen tv, small coffee maker and free WiFi and it was clean. There is a rug on the floor, old, but clean.
However, even if everything was a little older, apart from the newer TV, it was very comfortable and cozy. We will return.
Another great thing was the location. We easily walked from the hotel onto the main road where the restaurants, stores and pubs are located. I'd say between a 10-15 minute walk, half of which is along the lakeside-very nice.
We did not try their restaurant or spa facilities, so, I can't comment there. Overall, we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Since we live only an hour away from the Canadian border my wife enjoy frequent visits to Canada. When we travel to Magog we always stay at the Etoile-sur-le-Lac, right at the north shore of the lake. The rooms are quite nice, some have fireplaces and many have decks. There are walking and bike paths between the lake and the hotel that pretty much follow the shoreline and end at a park near the center of town. There is a restaurant in the facility and during our most recent visit we were given a 15% discount on meals.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel generally have decks and a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank snussnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The Hotel is directly loacted at Lake Magog with beautiful view over the lake. In winter the lake is frozen which makes it even more unique. Good location for outside walking, jogging along the lake.
Rooms are adequately equipped, free WiFi, but a bit antiquated. Bathrooms provide all you need for this category of Hotel. Spacious.
Restaurant is good, people friendly, menu provides all you like.
People at reception friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gauttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

My husband brought me to this hotel for Valentine's week-end! We are familiar with Magog having grown up there because my father had a cottage on the lake when I was a teenager. We were a little disappointed with the room. It needs to be refreshed. The sofa, chair and bed are soft!!! We had problems with the room temperature! We wanted the ambiance of the gas fireplace but we would melt from the heat when we turned it on...It would be nice to have the choice of no heat when it is turned on. The bathroom products are so so. But for the price, it was an excellent deal! What we really appreciated was the fact that the hotel is right on the lake. You walk out of the back of the hotel and you are on the skating path! It goes right to town (Merry point). We skated for hours!!! It was the Fête des neiges (winter carnival) that weekend so there were many activities so it was very exciting! The ice is maintained hourly with a zamboni (like indoor hockey rinks) so the ice is perfect! Now for the "Ancrage" restaurant. Magnificent!! We must mention that we bought a package that included 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner with our room. Great decision. The breakfasts are delicious and the dinner was unforgettable! The restaurant is very well situated. The view is the lake and the skating path so while you are having your meal, you see the people skate by. In the evening, the restaurant makes a fire outside and the people sit by it to warm up! It is very magical! Overall, it was a perfect week-end.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Missclairol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magog hotels
5.5 km away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
267 reviews
3.9 km away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
4.9 km away
Manoir Des Sables
Manoir Des Sables
#5 of 7 in Orford
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Auberge du Grand Lac
Auberge du Grand Lac
#6 of 18 in Magog
80 reviews
4.9 km away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#4 of 7 in Orford
248 reviews
1.0 km away
Le Chateau du Lac
Le Chateau du Lac
#7 of 18 in Magog
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac

Address: 1200, rue Princpale Ouest, Magog, Quebec J1X 2B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Price Range: ₹ 7,424 - ₹ 9,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Magog, at one hour from Montreal, on the shore of Memphrémagog lake, the cordial ambiance of the Inn and Spa and the superb cuisine of l'Ancrage Restaurant combine to make Hotel & Spa Étoile-sur-le-Lac one of the most outstanding venues in the region. À Magog, à une heure de Montréal, sur les rives du lac Memphrémagog, l'accueil chaleureux de l'hôtel et du spa et la gastronomie du restaurant L'Ancrage, font de l'Hôtel $ Spa Étoile-sur-le-Lac un endroit unique dans la région. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Etoile-Sur-Le-Lac
Hotel & Spa Etoile-Sur-Le-Lac Magog, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing