We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
37
59
33
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
59
33
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking path view of the lake older part first floor main building hot tub was nice minute walk downtown magog jacuzzi tub the ground floor small fridge grocery store eastern townships promenade balcony bike fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this hotel from April 28, 2017 to April 30th.
The best thing about this place is the view. It is perfect. You can sit on your private balcony and look out to the lake as you people watch. The hotel is separated from the lake by a bike/walking path. All day people pass by with their dogs, or on roller blades, biking or simply walking. The sun shines on the balcony all afternoon. Very pleasant, gorgeous view. Book a room in the main building on the lake side. If you are in the smaller, white building, book a room on the 1st floor, not on the ground floor if you want a good view.
For a guaranteed lake view from their main building, we booked the comfort plus room-no king beds, only queen. It was comfortable but the furnishings are getting a little tired. We did have a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub, small fridge, flat screen tv, small coffee maker and free WiFi and it was clean. There is a rug on the floor, old, but clean.
However, even if everything was a little older, apart from the newer TV, it was very comfortable and cozy. We will return.
Another great thing was the location. We easily walked from the hotel onto the main road where the restaurants, stores and pubs are located. I'd say between a 10-15 minute walk, half of which is along the lakeside-very nice.
We did not try their restaurant or spa facilities, so, I can't comment there. Overall, we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a lake view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Since we live only an hour away from the Canadian border my wife enjoy frequent visits to Canada. When we travel to Magog we always stay at the Etoile-sur-le-Lac, right at the north shore of the lake. The rooms are quite nice, some have fireplaces and many have decks. There are walking and bike paths between the lake and the hotel that pretty much follow the shoreline and end at a park near the center of town. There is a restaurant in the facility and during our most recent visit we were given a 15% discount on meals.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel generally have decks and a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank snussnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The Hotel is directly loacted at Lake Magog with beautiful view over the lake. In winter the lake is frozen which makes it even more unique. Good location for outside walking, jogging along the lake.
Rooms are adequately equipped, free WiFi, but a bit antiquated. Bathrooms provide all you need for this category of Hotel. Spacious.
Restaurant is good, people friendly, menu provides all you like.
People at reception friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gauttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

My husband brought me to this hotel for Valentine's week-end! We are familiar with Magog having grown up there because my father had a cottage on the lake when I was a teenager. We were a little disappointed with the room. It needs to be refreshed. The sofa, chair and bed are soft!!! We had problems with the room temperature! We wanted the ambiance of the gas fireplace but we would melt from the heat when we turned it on...It would be nice to have the choice of no heat when it is turned on. The bathroom products are so so. But for the price, it was an excellent deal! What we really appreciated was the fact that the hotel is right on the lake. You walk out of the back of the hotel and you are on the skating path! It goes right to town (Merry point). We skated for hours!!! It was the Fête des neiges (winter carnival) that weekend so there were many activities so it was very exciting! The ice is maintained hourly with a zamboni (like indoor hockey rinks) so the ice is perfect! Now for the "Ancrage" restaurant. Magnificent!! We must mention that we bought a package that included 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner with our room. Great decision. The breakfasts are delicious and the dinner was unforgettable! The restaurant is very well situated. The view is the lake and the skating path so while you are having your meal, you see the people skate by. In the evening, the restaurant makes a fire outside and the people sit by it to warm up! It is very magical! Overall, it was a perfect week-end.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Missclairol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel bathroom was new with a jacuzzi tub. The view of the lake was great. The kids loved the ice skating out back. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. We can't wait to go back. It was very close to Mt. Orford ski area too!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank JTobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews