We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du Grand Lac
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Terrible environment”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed Sep/25, 2010. The breakfast is good and the staff is nice, but one thing happened and that scared us.
At 4:00am in the morning, somebody knocked the door of my room. I saw there two men in the hall way through the hole, one standing and the other one lying on the floor. Obviously, they were drunk. A man kept knocking the door and the other one were shouting. They speak Franch and I can speak English only. So I was not able to let him know he was doing something wrong. I had to call the front desk for help to stop this. The drunk man lying on the floor until 5:00am. This made my wife and my daughter scared and we could not sleep again since then. Horrible night !. Although the front desk staff said sorry to us after we complained this when checking out, it's not worth stay a night at cost $178 + tax with very pooooooor sleep quality.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taaaoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    13
    3
    10
See reviews for
20
29
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brossard
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2010

We stayed 2 nights during the New Year holidays. We are satisfied of this excellent location: Every thing including Magog's famous shopping street is just a couple of minutes away. The room was big and clean. The staff were warm and friendly. The breakfast was delicious. Great experience!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_Brossard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MONTREAL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Came to Magog for a week of relaxation and I found this hotel was perfect for that. First of all, its location is very suitable for seniors like us. The park is just in front of the hotel. We enjoyed the breakfast and the small chats we had with the hotel staff. For sure, it is not very luxurous hotel, but for us, the value is reasonable and worthy.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELAMONTREAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We felt very comfortable when we checked in after a nine-hours driving from Toronto. The good service and the clean room made us have a relax sleep. The rich breakfast would make you unforgetable.
We also found that this hotel locates in downtown of Magog, the municipal beach can go by walk.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoJeff2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This was possibly the most all round dissapointing experience I have ever had in a hotel, The only redeming factor was one of the receptionists. We decided not to stay for the 3rd night we'd booked and rang the hotel as instructed in booking conditions to canel, upon arrival we were told that we also had to call expedia, who we'd booked via other wise we would be charged for the 3rd night, We had to call expedia UK costing us £11 to request that they called the hotel to confirm we weren't staying the 3rd night! Why could the hotel not do this?
The excellent breakfast mentioned was a toasted bagel and some dried up melon slices or 2 eggs cooked in various manners!
The room was clean but very basic and certainly not worth the price we paid for it.
Magog was very pretty though and has other much better accomodation available there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magog hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magog hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
6.5 km away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
184 reviews
4.7 km away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orford
224 reviews
5.6 km away
Manoir Des Sables
Manoir Des Sables
#5 of 7 in Orford
291 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Chateau du Lac
Le Chateau du Lac
#11 of 18 in Magog
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Grand Lac? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Grand Lac

Property: Auberge du Grand Lac
Address: 40 rue Merry Sud, Magog, Quebec J1X 3L1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,515 - ₹ 10,979
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Grand Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended Hotel....Begin your journey into the Eastern Townships at hotel Auberge du Grand Lac. It is positioned at the hub of the Eastern Townships in the charming town of Magog. Guests benefit from its unique downtown location steps from the beach of Lake Memphremagog, marinas and from the main street where sophisticated boutiques and restaurants abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Auberge du Grand Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Grand Lac Hotel Magog
Auberge Hotel Magog
Auberge Du Grand Lac Magog, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing