We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service. Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge du Grand Lac
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Magog
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service. Great location”
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Ww were passing by the town and decided to spend a day in Magog. The price was not as low as what we would've liked but after looking at the prices of the nearby hotels (which weren't any better) we had decided to stay here due to its proximity to the main street and would probably make our money's worth. Fortunately we were right. There were many small local gift shops and gormet restaurants within walking distance. The fixtures in the hotel was a bit old-fashioned but it was comfortable and suited the ambiance. Their staff members were incredibly friendly and helpful in providing tourism tips and guides about the town and area. Overall, I think it is a place worth considering going back to.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvySmasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    13
    3
    10
See reviews for
20
29
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I was given initially a room with a damaged carpet that was also way too small for the price tag of a bit over 100 dollars. I was allowed to change my room and got another larger and cleaner room that was the approximate value of the money I was charged. Paper walls made conversations in nearby units clearly audible in my room which is not so wonderful. I had several conversations with several friendly staff members at this Motel which makes me like them more as a place to stay. A good restaurant in the Motel offers free cooked breakfast which is a first for me. They also made some very good Chinese food which is kind of rare to find in a smaller town in French Quebec. Despite the friendliness of staff members I would not really recommend this place, as I thought the rooms were too small for what they were charging for them. The town has many good places to eat and many good stores that sell everything from gourmet food items to fine silk scarves made in Laos.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank footloose888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Close proximity to the main street, but not on the lake. The lobby, elevator and hallways are in need of renovation. The room was updated and nice with comfortable beds. The bathroom reasonable and clean. I had a very restless night with the turning on of a number of 'systems' we could not work out what it was - possibly central air, but there were two distinctly different sounds which came on at times that made it impossible to habituate to the noise. The breakfast was included in the room rate - and was good. The service was good also.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalieF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The hotel is rated 3 suns, which is average, and the rating is accurate for that property. Our room had old carpeting and fixtures, but the furniture was a bit newer and the bed was comfortable. We were given coupons for breakfast but we did not used them. There are much better properties in Magog for the price, moreover during low season.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyboycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossard, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Last weekend, came to Magog with my family for relaxation and I found this hotel was perfect for that. First of all, its location is very suitable for family like us. A park by the lake is just in front of the hotel with many seats and tables for seniors taking a rest, people can fish on the deck, and kids enjoy their play ground. Good western breakfast and having delicious Chinese cuisine for lunch and dinner. Chatted with the hotel staff, they can provide some suggestions on the food and good places to go.
There a very clean McDonald and a boat club just in front of the hotel and many other restaurants nearby.
Five minutes driving, we reached The Cherry River Marsh, the most important wetland. It is also a site that is growing in popularity as a place to walk and to appreciate the beauties of nature. After September 16th, some leave tuning to brown, yellow, and red. We reached there around 11:00AM, no single mosquito was found. We had a bad experience of driving by a bunch of mosquitoes in a national park.
It is not very luxury hotels, but it is reasonable and worthy to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magog hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
6.5 km away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
187 reviews
4.7 km away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Cheribourg Hotel
Cheribourg Hotel
#3 of 7 in Orford
224 reviews
5.6 km away
Manoir Des Sables
Manoir Des Sables
#5 of 7 in Orford
291 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Chateau du Lac
Le Chateau du Lac
#12 of 18 in Magog
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Grand Lac? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Grand Lac

Property: Auberge du Grand Lac
Address: 40 rue Merry Sud, Magog, Quebec J1X 3L1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Magog
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Magog
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,548 - ₹ 10,908
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Grand Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended Hotel....Begin your journey into the Eastern Townships at hotel Auberge du Grand Lac. It is positioned at the hub of the Eastern Townships in the charming town of Magog. Guests benefit from its unique downtown location steps from the beach of Lake Memphremagog, marinas and from the main street where sophisticated boutiques and restaurants abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Auberge du Grand Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Grand Lac Hotel Magog
Auberge Hotel Magog
Auberge Du Grand Lac Magog, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing