We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
25
7
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
7
3
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2021 via mobile

It could of been a nice experience even despite the fact that many services in the hotel suspended “due to COVID”. There is no breakfast, no sauna, no hot tub. It would be easy enough to arrange breakfast for only 4 rooms. But in any case that was not a problem. A problem was zero privacy - our room windows and our bathroom (!) windows overlooked terrace that was “a nice touch for everybody’s use” except us. How nice to have people sitting at the table right next to your window? We had to hear their conversations and had to have blinds closed all the time - so every time we were at the room it was semi dark and gloomy. I would never booked this hotel had I known that this is how the room will look like.
Add to this extremely noisy A/C at night and it very quickly become “stay from hell”.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ITaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Le Château du lac, Propriétaire at Le Chateau du Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2021

Thank you for your comment . Sorry to hear that you did not appreciate your stay. We take all comments in consideration. Sadly COVID prevents us and many other places to provide with some expected services, but all of our distinguished guesses are advised prior to the booking, at the booking, in the email confirmation and by phone of these restrictions. For the room location, had known that this was causing an issue, we would have loved to hear from you at that moment and we would have made efforts to relocate you in another room.
Thanks again for the comment and we do hope to see you again in Magog

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2019 via mobile

Magog is truly a terrific place to visit in the townships - and from which to explore all the townships have to offer. The Chateau is perfectly situated next to Lake Memphrémagog and easy walking distance to the town’s Main Street and many local restaurants. A few steps to the park for a stroll along the lake, the dock from which you can board a lunch or dinner cruise, and the point of departure for a pleasant train excursion. We found the Chateau both convenient and comfortable. Once a local doctor’s home, it has history and character. Our room had beautiful hardwood floors and a quaint sitting area overlooking the street - a warm and welcoming oasis at the top of a beautifully crafted wooden staircase. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts in the lovely dining room were sufficient and just what we needed before striking out on a new adventure each day. The Chateau feels like a B&B but without a host (self service). Don’t miss the hot tub and sauna tucked away in the basement - a nice way to relax after a day of exploring. Overall a very nice experience and terrific place to stay in Magog.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sagebrush67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed at this restored gem of a B&B, on our way to Old Quebec City. Good choice!

The mansion is lovely, beautifully restored. Original wood flooring, gorgeous old staircase.

Our room was perfect, and very clean. The bed was excellent, the air conditioning was perfect (we like the A/C on, unless middle of winter).

The staff was very charming, bilingual.

The B&B is perfectly situated near the top 3 restaurants: just a short walk.

We will return, for certain.

Recommend strongly.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank F00dHunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 August 2019

The hotel is absolutely stunning! It looks like a magnigicent, Second Empire mansion. It is also very well situated in town and an under 10 minute walk to the lake, beaches and downtown. There are great indoor and outdoor spas and relaxation areas and the continental breakfast included exteeded our expectations. The staff was warm and welcoming and kindly accomodated our check-in and check-out requests. We LOVED our stay . Thank you, Château du Lac!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank margp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 August 2019

Warm greeting when we arrived. The room and bed are very confortable and very clean. Very quiet: no noise from the street or neighboring rooms. We had excellent continental breakfast. We will definitely go back again.

Room tip: Very quiet and clean room
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaCardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews