We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Domaine De Manville(Les Baux de Provence)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 444
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 493/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Fabian des Baux(Les Baux de Provence)(Great Value!)
US$ 177
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mas de l'Oulivie(Les Baux de Provence)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 228
US$ 223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Le Mas d'Aigret(Les Baux de Provence)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 156
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baumaniere les Baux-de-Provence(Les Baux de Provence)
US$ 498
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 375
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 415/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 295
US$ 289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 471
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castillon des Baux(Maussane-les-Alpilles)
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
171
76
26
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
76
26
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscote jardinoverlooking the gardenan absoluteupgraded roomcomfortable bedsexcellent hotellovely poolpool areaolive grovesmain buildingpropertygroundstresprovencelesperfectionrelaxation
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed three nights here. The pool is Cystal clear and a wonderful backdrop to their 5 star restaurant in the evening. Our room was comfortable and clean with complete kitchen...we enjoyed our stay immensely and will be looking forward to returning someday soon!!!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank portacurlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

We booked here after reading a rave review in a magazine and were somewhat disappointed. The hotel sets itself up as a good 4star (French ratings can be idiosyncratic!). It's not really that level. The suites are new, clean, reasonable in size and well appointed but very basic.

The staffing levels are minimal, which is the main cause of most of our gripes.

They don't work well as a team and no one wears any sort of uniform so it's unclear who is a guest or staff.

There is a tiny reception area which creaks under the strain when several people are checking in/out or guests have questions.

The wifi is very patchy and unreliable. I had to use my UK data allowance to download emails because the hotel wifi went down for most of our 4 day stay. Even the reception area had snail-pace broadband and was unusable. The staff were totally unable to help/explain.

The bed and bed linen was disappointing. The duvet and pillows were synthetic and very hot in a 34 degree heatwave. We removed the bedcover which was left in a heap for 2 days by housekeeping.

There are no hooks on the doors so my husband had to leave his bathrobe on the floor where housekeeping left it for 36 hours.

No one replaced either the shower cap in the (minuscule) bathroom during our whole stay, which didn't have the two basins, as promised, or replace the used coffee pods on our last day, or the (tiny) bottle of water in the minibar on one day.

I fully accept theses are all First World problems but which a well run hotel wouldn't fall down on.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Surreyhotelguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2016

To call this a 4-Star Hotel is ludicrous. To rate it a 3-Star property is even stretching it. The "minibar" consisted of a refrigerator with one small bottle of Evian and one small bottle of sparkling water. The "coffee and tea making facility" was a hot water pot.

All other balconies and patios had a table and two chairs. Ours had no table. They are wicker and lightweight, so my husband and I requested a table, for our drinks, phones, newspapers, etc. The answer we got was NO, with no explanation. We then asked for a Nespresso machine, after we learned that other rooms had them. We enjoy having our coffee early, before breakfast, which is served between 8:00 and 10:30. Again, the answer was NO with no explanation. Nor could we go down and get a pot of coffee before 8:00 a.m. When we did go down to breakfast, the coffee was weak and certainly not worth the wait.

Our room was a Cote Jardin, one of the "nicer" single rooms. It was OK, perhaps on par with a Best Western or Holiday Inn. The towels are stiff and small. The housekeeping staff didn't empty our overflowing wastebasket and left one of our pillows on a chair, with its case thrown on the floor.

Do NOT waste your money or precious vacation time on this poor excuse for a "luxury" hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sausgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

This corner of Provence is full of expensive countryside hotels offering variants of the Provençal idyll - lovely gardens, tasteful rooms, high end food, and an abundance of beautiful sights within a 30min drive radius. Nevertheless, it seems that demand still outstrips supply, based on Benvengudo's surprising lapses of judgement, whilst having prices well in the higher end of the spectrum.

For starters - and this is the only thing that can't be helped - the property is located close to the road, which, whilst just a country lane, is still busy enough to mar the peacefulness one would expect of such a place. The grounds are very beautiful, with lovely planting, terraces for eating out and a nice pool, which we didn't use as it was too cold during our visit, but wherever you sit you cannot avoid the sound of passing cars in the distance. Perhaps, however, if everything else was as charming and winsome as it should, one might find it easy to ignore this.

The rooms are set out in a couple of two-storey buildings which look fine from the front, where the balconies/gardens are, but have quite ugly access corridors/loggias at the back, where everything looks like you've accidentally wandered in the service area of the hotel when in fact that's where your front door is. I accept that this might be too particular a point, that others might not find as problematic as we did with our over-developed architectural sensibilities. But a less particular point is the total lack of privacy whilst on what is supposed to be 'your' bit of the garden, which is one continuous stretch of lawn, with very nice views to the rest of the grounds, but with nothing to shelter you from your immediate neighbours, visually or aurally (I mentioned the drone of passing cars already).

Inside the rooms are very recently refurbished, comfortable and generally tasteful, with very good beds and spacious bathrooms, but clearly no serious designer has been consulted here, as demonstrated by several misjudged details such as the miserable 'naif' landscape paintings on the walls and absolutely no lighting in the siting room (I suspect a lamp might be brought in, at some point). Again, perhaps more importantly for the less aesthetically sensitive, privacy is a bit of an issue indoors, too, as we could hear the occupants in the room next door perfectly clear (walking, opening & closing wardrobes, using the loo, etc), although, mercifully, they happened to be rather quiet people...

Breakfast was also a disappointment. We had stayed previously in the most charming B&B in Avignon (see my other reviews) which offered a small but impeccable selection of delicious breads, fruits, cakes, cheeses & hams changing daily, so we expected that Benvengudo, a four-star counrtyhouse/hotel would be at least as good... Well, not. Very similar offering in range, but of very mediocre quality, with tinned fruit salad, inedible cake of the soggy, tasteless, ready-made variety (called 'cake maison' - seriously?), similar standardised (supermarket bought?) bits of ham & cheese, and undrinkable weak filter coffee, with no option of proper espresso. Ah, yes, Nespresso machines in the rooms, but, wait for this, try asking for more pods than the standard issue of 2 + 2 decaf per day, and you are met with surliness and told that, well, maybe, but perhaps you may have to be charged extra if you want more (?!) And, to wrap up breakfast, when they say it is on until 10.30 they mean that at 10.31 on the dot (literally, every day) a smiling but brusque lady will come to ask whether they might clear up everything now (is anyone seriously thinking that, confronted like this, a guest might answer 'no, actually, don't'??) and starts banging and clanging away with great vigour, collecting plates etc.

Some might feel most of these are details. However for us, they marred what was a very expensive and should have been an immaculate, completely relaxing experience in idyllic countryside. Perhaps what is most frustrating, and why these things jarred so much, is that the place is, fundamentally, a good one, and that several of its issues - such as the service and the breakfast - are very easy to ameliorate - and they would make such a difference to the overall experience.

To end on a high, the Benvengudo restaurant is exceptionally good and worth every penny. It is of the formal, old-fashioned variety of dining, in a hushed dining room where one might perhaps feel a little self-conscious, as it is also quite small, but it is an appropriate setting for truly excellent, high end cooking (is the a Michelin star coming?) with excellent service (if only our charming gentleman waiter was there at breakfast!).

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrLexLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

the Hotel is very nice located, good place to make several tours in the whole south of France, from cote d'azure to montpellier. quiet and peacefull stay is for shure.
--> It is not, if the hotel is full with guests and the Crew at it's end of ressource. Every year the onwer put a new Crew to the Hotel - so they are not in place to do the right things at the time. this is sad, the Crew is willing, the guest pay for not existing Service (to much for the value).
But who ever will go to the Hotel - you have to eat in the Restaurant. the cook is a god! this is so genious, this is worth to pass by and stay in the Hotel! go and eat there!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews