We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocking R Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocking R Guest Ranch
Sechelt, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

This scenic ranch is so close to Calgary and yet is so serene and peaceful! You can see the horses grazing from your cabin. The cabins are first class in comfort and decor, you'll find everything you need and more. Delicious and beautiful breakfasts delivered, but the best thing about it all are the hosts, Terri and Marvin.
Can't wait to return

Room Tip: There are two cabin, a one bedroom and a two bedroom. The large cabin has a fully equipped kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakesideretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
70
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had decided to experience the live theatre at Rosebud, and found a delightful package at Rocking R, two nights and tickets to " Jake and the kid ". We couldn't have been more impressed with the accommodations and treatment we received.Gracious, friendly hosts, private cottage in garden like setting with view over the lake, hot tub close to your door, sumptuous breakfasts brought and served in the cottage, with enough for snacks through-out the day. Designed to have a rustic, ranch like appearance, it also had all the modern conveniences, including air-conditioning. We needed more days to experience all that was available, so hope to plan a return visit soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

My husband and I wanted to escape the city for a couple of nights and I discovered this little gem in a magazine I read at the local medicentre. It looked interesting and there was fly fishing nearby which my husband had been wanting to try so we decided to check it out. What a treat! Upon our arrival, we were shown to a lovely little cabin which provided all the amenities of a 5 star hotel (spa robes, slippers, luxurious sheets, chilled water in the frig, you name it, it was there!). The next day we enjoyed a wonderful hot breakfast on the deck and then drove to the nearby Bow River to do some fly fishing, only got a bite but it was still fun. Stopped at a fruit winery on the way home and sampled some very interesting concoctions. When we got home, our friendly host Terri brought over some fresh strawberries dipped in chocolate. Yum! We spent another evening enjoying the sunset around the firepit followed by a relaxing dip in the hot tub. It was a marvelous way to unwind while feeling completely spoiled. We will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank savarynana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

My boyfriend surprised me with a weekend escape and we joined another couple friends of ours. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin. Every little detail seemed to be thought out.

Despite the rsin all weekend, We had a fabulous time. I look forward to heading back out there again and enjoying some horseback riding, which we unfortunately couldn't do, because of the heavy rain.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzGnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

My husband and I have returned many times to the Rocking R, as it's close to our home in Calgary, but a world away where we can relax and be pampered while enjoying the laidback country lifestyle and fresh air. Our hosts are friendly and helpful, but with a separate cabin you feel all alone until the delicious breakfast shows up. Will definitely return again and again.

Room Tip: The small cabin is a romantic nest for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smcMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strathmore hotels
1.4 km away
Travelodge Strathmore
Travelodge Strathmore
#2 of 5 in Strathmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.8 km away
Days Inn & Suites Strathmore
1.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Strathmore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Sproule Heritage Bed & Breakfast
2.2 km away
No photo provided
Wheat Land Hotel
#5 of 5 in Strathmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.8 km away
Super 8 Strathmore
Super 8 Strathmore
#4 of 5 in Strathmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking R Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking R Guest Ranch

Property: Rocking R Guest Ranch
Address: Box 45, Site 14 RR1, Strathmore, Alberta T1P 1J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Strathmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Strathmore
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,216 - ₹ 16,033
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocking R Guest Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Calgary you will find luxurious cabins atop a ridge with a view of Eagle Lake and the majestic Rocky Mountains. The Hitch n' Post is a cozy cabin for two and The Bunkhouse is perfect for a family getaway. Breakfast is included in the cost of your stay. We also offer spa services in the privacy of your cabin and Equestrian Adventures for all levels of riders. Minimum Night stay at the ranch is 2 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rocking R Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocking R Guest Ranch Strathmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing