We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag: nice staff but strong smell of cigarette smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldergrove
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A mixed bag: nice staff but strong smell of cigarette smoke”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This was a mixed bag: the lady at the front desk was so nice that I feel bad about writing something negative here... We occupied two adjoining rooms for two nights. I noticed the smell of stale cigarette smoke from the outside of the second floor room, and inside it was very strong. The adjoining room was somewhat better, but still unacceptable, and I do not think I am particularly sensitive. Apparently, these were smoking rooms that had been converted to non-smoking years ago, but if this is the case, they would need to be completely gutted. So, without having to insist, we were given adjoining rooms on the main floor. The smell of smoke was even here perceptible but not overwhelming, however, the strong smell of cleaner in one of the two rooms was quite unpleasant. We opened the windows and brought the luggage in. The rooms were otherwise clean, and one had a sort of a kitchenette: a counter-top hosting a full-size cooking top, a fridge and a sink, two feet away from one of the beds. I travel with family and do see the practicality of a cooking top, but the fact that I could fry fish on the stove without leaving the bed indicated an excessively crammed and quite unusual design to me. Anyway, speaking of cooking, the continental breakfast did not break any records but was acceptable. The location, well, if you intend to visit Vancouver, you should plan more than one hour travel time one way, given the distance and the construction on the Trans Canada highway. The one objective that is very close to here, needs to be said, is the Vancouver Zoo, and the Trans Canada is not far, either.
Would I stop here again? Unlikely. The strong smells made a lasting impression on me, and there are many other options closer to Vancouver. I expected more from the "Plus" in "Best Western Plus".

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    79
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
108
49
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rouleau, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Great service at the front desk and the breakfast, we only stayed for one night but could see staying more. Free DVDs at the front desk and comfortable beds. Quite nice to stay at. The plus side is the breakfast has a make your own waffle station.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrysweetdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamond h, operations Manager at Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you and we appreciate for your survey.

We thank you for your support and loyalty to Best Western Plus Country Meadows.

We at BestWestern Plus country meadows strive for excellence in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athabasca, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here for one night. Staff was very helpful and considerate and cheerfully provided a 'no cost upgrade' when asked. Room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices. Hotel not busy when we were there mid February. Did not access pool. Price was decent. Only complaint is that hotel is difficult to access southbound off 264th in heavy traffic times and it has only one entrance. Tried to book with Expedia and although hotel was listed with a great rate was unable to book through Expedia. Front desk confirmed that they were having problems with Expedia website but did not offer to reduce rate to Expedia rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshells2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamond h, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Good day!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Your valuable feedback is appreciated as it allows us to continually improve our guests' experience.

I have to agree with you, the entrance off 264th can be somewhat tricky during heavy traffic. We're currently investigating the possibility of having a dedicated turn lane created. With any luck the municipality will be able to create a much easier access for our guests. I am also pleased to report that all issues with Expedia have been resolved and guests may now book with them. Unfortunately due to contractual issues with Expedia we are unable to match their rate.

Again I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff and property and equally for your your other feedback. I hope you'll come see us again if you're in the Aldergrove area. Please feel free to contact me with any questions you may have and I would be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,

Cody Torgerson
Front Office Manager
Best Western PLUS Country Meadows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armstrong, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

staff was very friendly and provided quick service. hotel was quite full so we ended up with a small suite whcih we really did not need. made the price a bit high. beds were very comfy. complimentary breakfast was very good even though it was quite busy

Room Tip: avoid bottom floor roms to avoid early morning cars starting up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bullpasture5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamond h, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our property. We endeavour to provide excellent customer service to all our guests. By telling us what you liked and didn't like about your stay, it enables us to continually improve guest satisfaction. Please don't hesitate to contact me if there's anything I can do to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Upon entering our room, surprised to see a kitchenette, nice. Opened the fridge to turn on and put food in, and was hit by an overwhelming stench of dead fish, and soon the whole room stunk. Asked front desk to change the fridge and they said they would see what they could do. Went out for an hour, came back, and nothing had been done. Asked front desk what happened, and they said they had no spare fridges. I asked them to swap the fridge with another room, they said they couldn't do that, but they could get us to switch rooms. No offer to help move our stuff, and worst of all, too lazy to do anything else. They treated us as if WE were the problem, and not their stinking dead fish fridge. LAZY LAZY LAZY! Never stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, lazy front desk 'help'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamond h, General Manager at Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

Please consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with superior service. You can reach me directly at 604-856-9880 or 1-800-834-0833.


Sincerely,

Diamond Hassanali
Operations Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Meadows Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldergrove
12.6 km away
Best Western Plus Langley Inn
Best Western Plus Langley Inn
#2 of 11 in Langley City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
13.6 km away
Days Inn & Suites - Langley
Days Inn & Suites - Langley
#1 of 11 in Langley City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
4.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 11 in Langley City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Langley
10.5 km away
Travelodge Langley City
Travelodge Langley City
#5 of 11 in Langley City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
11.7 km away
Best Western Plus Regency Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn
Address: 3070-264th Street, Aldergrove, British Columbia V4W 3E1, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Meadows Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Langley > Aldergrove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldergrove
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,913 - ₹ 8,727
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fully Upgraded Best Western PLUS Country Meadows in Aldergrove/Abbotsford area. Enjoy our complimentary Hot breakfast buffet featuring over 24 items like scrambelled eggs, hash browns, sausages, French toasts, waffles, and much more while staying with us. All our rooms are fully upgraded with simmons Double pillow top mattress, signature brand pillow for your comfort. Our guest rooms are fully styled for your convenience with free wi-fi access, fridge & microwaves, DVD players and Free In room movies. Relax in our completely redesigned indoor pool and hot tub and stay fit with our state of the art fitness center. Come and stay with us and let our professional staff make your stay comfortable and memorable.Cherish your memories you take with you after staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Country Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Aldergrove
Aldergrove Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing