We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
38
60
82
34
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
60
82
34
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms face grizzly bear lodge patio doors breakfast was included view from the balcony overlooking the ocean comfy bed watch the cruise ships dining room renovation
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Tired throughout with dirty public areas.

Rooms all have a good view but if close to 'bottom entrance' you will hear noise as people leave. All need to be updated and some attention in bathrooms.

Front of house staff unhelpful to the point of rude and just ended up sorting issues out ourselves or through cleaners.

Room have fridge & microwave that are just dumped and free standing, fridge was old and made a good sound all night, however good for drinks & snacks that we bought for day trips.

Restaurant - average food and a high price for what was presented, would suggest you stay away if possible.

Breakfast - again limited, all self service, and depending on time you arrive will depend on whats left.

That said the staff in restaurant were very helpful about what to do or who to go with for trips out, all that was recommended over are stay we did.

Room Tip: Stay away from entrances and themed rooms, best floors are 4 through 7.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Stayed for a couple of nights before and after a trip to a lodge. Breakfast was included in the rate.

This hotel is very dated and out-moded. It occupies a fabulous position and maybe the best result is to demolish and build a new apartment complex in its place.

Inside, the layout is strange as floors move down the hillside, with the same floor number appearing lower down as you approach the restaurant (for which a map might be helpful!) There isn't any lift, so taking heavy luggage to your room requires many stairs which is not friendly to the elderly or infirm. Internet was available, but very patchy.

The lady attending the breakfast area was very pleasant and helpful, though a little overwhelmed when the place was busy.

The restaurant food was very poor on our first night, but improved for the second stay.

The room was large, but we were unable to control the heating/ventilation and the fan was very noisy. Adjacent rooms and corridor noise was an issue and disturbed sleep.

Probably was very good in its heyday.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 23,425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. The hotel has a great location with beautiful sea views and is also close to the town. The staff are exceptionally friendly, apart from lady in the breakfast dining room. The hotel itself is nice, but badly needs an upgrade. That said, everything was spotlessly clean. The room had a balcony with sea view and a very comfprtable bed. We will stay here again if we ever come back to Campbell River.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MogJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

The only gripe is that its a bit of work to get to your room from reception.Otherwise its all good news.The staff are very friendly and helpful ,the breakfast was fine and the evening meal was wonderful.Also great views from your balcony and at the restaurant

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev H, General Manager at Anchor Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you very much for submitting a review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will see you again. We are in the preliminary stages of having an additional elevator installed which will cover all floors.

Thank you for choosing Anchor Inn & Suites, we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Our room had an amazing view, looking over the water to Quadra island. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating and were able to book us taxis whenever we needed. Other than these aspects the hotel was rather average.

Overall decor was very dated, and the layout of the hotel made no sense at all. There was hardly any lifts and I would no recommend this hotel to anyone who has difficulty going up/down stairs.

The WiFi was appalling, breakfast was nice but was the same every day, and the dinner in the restaurant was incredibly overpriced (not to mention lack of vegetarian options). The amount we paid for the meal was more than even the nicest restaurants in Downtown Vancouver....

Additionally, the hotel is a 20-25 minute walk from the town and therefore having a car is essential. Campbell River is very spread out and it is hard to reach certain places.

Room Tip: Best views are on the higher floors (6-7).
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeorgeDitxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews