We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveller rating
543
457
252
125
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
457
252
125
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews april point the pub fish water taxi sister resort marine center dining room wildlife tour beautiful location whale watching tennis courts main building quadra island bald eagles discovery passage bit dated painters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived late and had not eaten dinner. Max the chef took excellent care of us and went out of his way to prepare a delicious meal. What a beautiful place! We really enjoyed our visit and the exhibit from local artists. THANK YOU!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank MelanieHennessey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

This hotel is a few miles north of Campbell River and is set on the banks of the sea overlooking the islands. they have a jetty were boats can be hired also other water based activities are available.
There is an excellent bar which serves food ,there is also another restaurant, we did't try that.The rooms are tastefully decorated. we had a balcony overlooking the sea scape

Room Tip: request a room in the main house ,overlooking the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulnotthewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Good standard hotel in lovely grounds and on the waterfront. Good amenities (fitness room and outdoor heated pool). Very clean and welcoming. Rooms good, bed comfortable and only downside was that they were in need of a little updating - all 90's decor throughout the hotel, plus the fridge had an annoying hum. Great food from the restaurant and a very adequate cooked buffet breakfast. Very pleasant stay and views to die for from our waterfront suite (with a little veranda to sit out on!)

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cscanl881676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulC7931, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

The main building is beautiful and very well kept. the service was friendly and excellent. We had a great experience in the bar which was friendly and the conversation flowed and was fun. Kaitlin the bartender was very helpful both the drink deal we had and the buffet, and she was part of the fun without being obtrusive. For this promotion the buffet was all that was offered. I generally avoid buffets as the quality vs quantity equations always a losing proposition. But the "high end" buffet, Pub buffet and the breakfast buffet was far more than disappointing. The food was luke-warm and stale. The buffet offerings were delusional for the price. Top dollar for stale mediocrity. The only thing I really enjoyed was the deep fried pickles. Based on our experience a great place to stay, but I wouldn't eat here if a buffet is all that is offered. I cannot speak to the menu items as they were not offered..

Room Tip: The main building and the satellite buildings closest to the water have the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulC7931, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the property and the service. We have now reverted back to a full menu service in both Legends Dining Room and the Tyee Pub - I regret that you were unable to enjoy this at the time of your visit but I hope that you are able to visit us again in the future and enjoy the full menu service.

Kind regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

First visit since ownership changed two years ago. How sad. What was once a place for great food is now a disaster. The clams were off. The pasta had 8 whole cloves of boiled garlic in it. The coffee was third rate at best and the service sloppy. We paid our bill and got out as quickly as we could never to return.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ramsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulC7931, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I regret to hear that the pasta and coffee did not meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly and we'll do what we can to put things right.

Best regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews