We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Courtenay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I was really disappointed with my stay at Kingfisher. I went with my family, and although it was a beautiful location, the staff treated us very poorly. I felt like I was a "bother" to the staff by being there. Unfortunately unless you have a car to drive into town, you are obliged to eat at their restaurant at the resort. I've heard reviews that raved about the sea food at their restaurant, so you could understand my disappointment when their sea food dishes left a lot to be desired. Not to mention those who served us acted like they HAD to be there and did not WANT to be there. My family and I took part in the hydrotherapy walk, and I understand that a quiet, tranquil spa environment is encouraged, but the woman leading us through the treatment would shoot us dirty looks anytime we tried to have a quiet conversation with one another. I can honestly say that I've NEVER been to a place before where I felt this unwelcome. I was thoroughly disappointed with my stay at Kingfisher, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kellilena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,112 - 1,116 of 1,234 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

My husband and I took advantage of the Kingfisher's November special and received an excellent discount on a Ocean Front room. The room was very nice. Clean, comfortable and we enjoyed the fireplace and balcony overlooking the beach. The room contains a small kitchenette, which would be nice if you were staying a few days.
We also used the Hydropath at the Spa, which I highly recommend. Very relaxing.
We had lunch at the onsite restraunt, and found it to be fine. Slightly pricey for the amount of food you get, but good all the same. Would definitely return (at the discounted prices).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My daughter was married at the Kingfisher last weekend, Nov. 5th. Considering the time of year, even the weather co-operated!
The staff at the Kingfisher went out of their way to make Mindy and Rob's experience a memory they will cherish and enjoy the rest of their lives.
We stayed Friday and Saturday nights. The rooms were clean, well appointed and the beds comfortable.
Saturday morning found us at the Hydrapath, or as I called it '101 Ways of Getting Wet'. What a fun and relaxing start to the wedding day and it set the tone for the rest of the day.
Sarah, the event co-ordinator, did a super job. She took on all the little stress makers alleviating us of any worries. What a treat!
The kitchen staff and the head chef prepared a feast for the wedding guests making a special effort to accommodate everyone's dietary needs. They succeeded, going over and above anything we expected.
The Sunday brunch was just incredible. We all agreed it was probably the best one we've seen.
I'm looking forward to booking another weekend soon, just for my husband and I.

Room Tip: I once thought the only rooms to book would be an ocean front, but having stayed this time in an oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I just got back from a 3 day trip with my sister. We make this a yearly trip and have had great experiences for the past 3 years. There has been a drastic change! Menu items have changed such as the calamari. Now they serve calarmari "steak" (never heard of such a thing). They were very greasy and tasted suspiciously like frozen fish sticks. The bread sampler plate only came with 3 small thimble sized dips. The steamer basket came with old, overcooked seafood which they tried to cover up with a very sweet sauce which overpowered the whole dish. In past years this dish was very fresh and tasted more of lemongrass and fresh vegetables. Breakfast was horrible! The huervos rancheros with mesa sauce looked like two dried up black balls on my plate. I was horrified and turned off. The sauce was obviously overcooked and the hash browns were dried up and obviously reheated over and over. My sister had the West coast hash which contained what seemed like old salmon, overcooked eggs (which they did replace) and a horrible sweet mustard sauce??!! AND the "hash" was just the very same hash browns that were on my plate. Not very inventive. Tea by the Sea was also a waste of time. It contained very heavy sandwiches that were messy. The smoked tuna polluted the whole plate. The pastries were boring and probably came from a grocery store. Tea sandwiches are suppose to be dainty not sloppy and heavy. Also the tea was just ordinary tea bag tea. This food was not spa food. There were no fresh fruits or vegetables. Thank god we rented a car so we could drive somewhere to get decent food. The spa services are still very good, however; their shelves are bare if you want to buy any products or merchandise. The rooms were still o.k. but the little touches such as bottled water being left in the room everyday are missing. This place has gone downhill. Do yourselves a favour folks, stay somewhere else and just use this as a day spa.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Madeline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

My best friend from back East came out to visit and we wanted to do something lazy and luxurious so we headed up to the Kingfisher for a day at the spa. It was awesome!! From the moment we arrived we were given the royal treatment. We started off with a relaxing massage, spent an hour luxuriating in their wonderful hydropath, soaking and scrubbing away any last bits of tension and then enjoyed a delicious lunch overlooking the ocean. How does it get any better than that!!

Room Tip: Book early so that you can get the treatments you want. They are very busy at the spa. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
7.8 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
961 reviews
7.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
179.4 km away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.3 km away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,242 reviews
55.6 km away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
59.5 km away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa

Address: 4330 Island Hwy S, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 9R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Courtenay
Price Range: ₹ 7,815 - ₹ 14,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort & Spa. Warm hospitality. Full service spa including the Pacific Mist Hydropath(R). Exceptional service. Be yourself. Be pampered. We'll take care of the rest... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Oceanside Hotel Courtenay
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort And Spa Courtenay, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing