We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kids loved it”

Northern Lights Wildlife Wolf Centre
Ranked #5 of 67 things to do in Golden
Attraction details
Hervey Bay, QUEENSLAND
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Kids loved it”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We visited in September 2011. It took a little to find but our 8 and 11 year old girls loved it, especially when we were treated to a howling session as one of the female wolves was returned to her pen. The animals are well looked after and being from Australia and not knowing much about wolves, it was very informative with a friendly guide who really enjoyed her work. We thought it would be a quick visit, which turned into over an hour. The entry price is reasonable and goes to funding the cause and running the park.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank scanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    101
    46
    26
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Lots of good information here. View the wolves, they are amazing!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmilinVamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good experience for children”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The animals in this sanctuary are well-taken care of. They have interpretive displays and staff willing to interact with young & old alike. Entry price is reasonable.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank KarmaGeddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great information on wolves”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We visited this wolf centre the first week of March, 2012. It was a cold and drizzly day and so we did not linger over the interpretive signs too much, but the guide gave us a very good informational session, and we were impressed by her passion and knowledge of wolves. Yes, the wolves are in cages, but we got over that the moment they woke up and came right over to us. It is truly awe-inspiring to see them so close up, and the young ones were very playful that day. We enjoyed our visit and would recommend it to those who are interested in finding out more about wolves. If you're looking for a fancy interpretive centre, this is not the place.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travels4Fun2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great summer stops.”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have visited here with and without kids. The speakers are great and very knowledgable, and sessions very educational.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Fraulein1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northern Lights Wildlife Wolf Centre also viewed

 
Golden, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Northern Lights Wildlife Wolf Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing