We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“FABULOUS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palliser Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palliser Lodge
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Golden
avalon nsw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed 10 nights at the Palliser. Loved every minute! We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a hot tub. The rooms were furnished beautifully and had fabulous views over the mountains. The photos do not do the apartments justice at all. The apartment was impeccably clean and well stocked. The reception staff were extremely courteous, helpful and friendly and the service was fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble for them! The lodge is ski in and ski out. The ski locker room is a few steps from the back door of the lodge and key locks are available from reception to lock your skis up. There are boot dryers in the laundry cupboard in the apartments which dry 2 sets of boots at a time. It is a bonus having a washer and a large dryer and dishwasher in the apartments and they provide laundry powder and dishwasher tablets for you. The hot tub is fabulously hot and great after skiing all day. We did have a day or so without hotwater but this was because of the unusually cold -30C temps. The staff were very apologetic and maintenance were doing all they could to remedy the situation. We found using an ethernet cable gave us a better internet connection and these cables were feely available through reception. The lodge is an easy 5 min walk (if that) from the main Gondola village area and shops/bars. We liked being away from the main area at night. We cooked a couple of bbqs in the snow which was fun. The bbq area is just outside the back door of the Lodge beside a big outdoor spa.
It is well worth the trip to the Winston for dinner and a game of their large jenga blocks. The food there and the service was great. Also a must is to have a Polar Bear at Peaks Grill (a hot chocolate with baileys and peppermint schapps). Also their large nachos and yam fries will feed 6 hungry skiiers at lunchtime - great food and service there too!! My only complaint is that I had to leave. I can't wait to come back. Also the skiing was awesome!!

Room Tip: Get one with a hot tub. Really worthwhile after skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha1AvalonNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your great review from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. Kicking Horse has plenty of great amenities to enjoy when you’re not carving some new memories on the hill. I'm glad you enjoyed your suite, not to mention the added treat of your personal hot tub. Many thanks for the wonderful review and we hope you can make it back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    33
    19
    21
    7
See reviews for
38
42
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

just off to the side of the hill, and very close to the main action. However, unless you really want your own hot tub, the Glacier Lodge is closer to everything. The closeness matters at night when you ned to get to the store for wine and beer! In the snow...

Room Tip: better option is the Glacier Lodge if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your review from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I'm glad you were able to enjoy one of our Hot Tub Suites. It's defiantly a nice amenity to enjoy after a day on the slopes. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a room of the Palliser hotel because of the great location for skiing.
We were really disappointed by the Palliser hotel.

The staff at the Glacier Lodge (nobody at the front desk of the Palliser hotel) is polite but
doesn't have a clue on how to solve a problem, so even though if they tried to help (or gave us this
impression) they didn't deliver.

When we checked in we asked for the wireless connection information as it was important for us for work purposes,
they told about an open network in the hotel not password protected, it didn't work.
The booklet in the room was specifying a different network password protected that didn't work too.
I phoned the front desk and they told me to try with an eternet cable that I could get at the Glacier lodge, well
it's a strange definition for "wireless internet access" to have an ethernet cable and anyway tablets don't
have an ethernet port.
I also left a note at the Palliser hotel desk thinking there would be people checking them at least once a day,
and the note was still in the same place 36 hours later, makes you wonder how they take care of this place !
The next day we stopped at the Glacier lodge to tell them about the wireless issue and they said they will send
someone the same day to take care of it, the wireless issue wasn't fixed and no idea if someone really came or not.
Pretty problematic as the phone network is pretty in this part of the resort (not Palliser fault) so think twice if
you need to be connected.

Also my friend couldn't take a warm shower as the water was cool, really bad surprise in the winter.
Advice of the day: Be first to take a shower after a ski day if you want warm water in this hotel !!!

At the checkout they ask us if everything went well, I replied "not really".
They asked us if the snow wasn't good and I say about the wireless issues and the cold water, the woman at the front
desk absolutely didn't even listen or care and just say we could go as

Fantastic ski hill wit awesome snow conditions that deserves way better service in this hotel, I won't stay again in
this hotel.

So if you still plan to go there be aware that if anything is not working properly chances are that they won't get
it fixed so good luck !!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your comments from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge. I would like to apologise for the points you brought forward with the hot water and internet connection. We have had some problems with the hot water and keeping up with the demand during high occupancies. I am happy to report that the Property Manager of Palliser Lodge has taken the necessary steps to correct the issue and that will prevent further inconveniences. With regards to the internet we offer both wireless and hardwire. I will follow up with our systems team and be sure to diagnose any problems with the connection. With respect to the Front Desk our Central Check-In is located at Glacier Lodge and is the main hub for all our managed accommodations on hill. Lastly, I would express my regrets for how your check out went and the in-direct approach our Guest Services personal took. I will personally be following up with the entire team by addressing this situation and how we can grow and improve out customer service relations. Though this wasn't the most pleasant visit for you I hope we can instil your trust and host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Golden hotels

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was the worst hillside mountain resort I have stayed at. Of our 5 days there we had one with bearable warm water for a shower, the rest were cold showers, like jumping into a lake cold. Not exactly what you want after a day of snowboarding. When we went to ask to change buildings or at least get a discount, the customer service was terrible. They couldn't move us and wouldn't give any discount for cold water. They just said "thats too bad." and thats it. If that wasn't bad enough. Our room was meant to sleep 8 people, the hottub fits 4 people shoulder to shoulder. And to top it off it quict working on our last day. So lets recap, Cold showers, Small Cold hottub, Terrible customer service. For the price, they really need to step it up. The only plus is the location, but there are other places on the hill I would choose next time.

Room Tip: Choose a different lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for your candid review from your stay at Palliser Lodge. I would like to apologise for both the concerns you raised with the hot water as well as the unpleasant response you received from our Guest Services. We have unfortunately been having some issues with our hot water and keeping up with the demand during high occupancies. I would however like to report that it has since been resolved as of this week. With respect to the feedback you received from our Guest Services, that is 100% unacceptable and I'm glad you brought that to our attention. I can assure you the proper measures will be taken to further prevent these sort of situations as we strive on delivering exceptional customer service and we unfortunately failed on that front. I hope we can regain your trust and host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spokane, washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We were quite pleased with our room and it's location. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Nice unit with comfortable beds and a great kitchen. We felt it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1witchywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDM_Bellstar, Rooms Division Manager at Palliser Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thank you for the nice review from your stay with us at Palliser Lodge at Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. I’m very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room along with the amenities. We hope you can make it back this winter and be sure to ask about our Return Guest Rate for additional savings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.3 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.7 km away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#6 of 19 in Golden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
5.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Mountainview Inn
6.7 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
5.3 km away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palliser Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palliser Lodge

Property: Palliser Lodge
Address: 1420 Palliser Lodge Trail, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Golden
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,504 - ₹ 15,661
Hotel Class:3 star — Palliser Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2006, the Palliser Lodge is well situated in one of the area’s premier locations, boasting spectacular views of the Rocky Mountains and ski slope activities. The Lodge, just walking distance to the Gondola base at Kicking Horse Mountain, ensures quiet enjoyment while maintaining the convenience of ski-in/ski-out access to the mountain. Other features include: private hot tubs, full kitchens, exercise room and underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Palliser Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palliser Hotel Golden
Palliser Lodge Golden, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing