We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated Rustic Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heather Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The Heather Mountain Lodge is located 55 kilometers west of Golden just off of Canada highway #1. There is very little else along the road for miles so there is a feeling of isolation, but since the rooms are about 100 feet from the road, the sound of trucks going by all hours of the day and night dispels that feeling. The main lodge building is a beautiful post and beam structure and is in good repair. The loft bar is cute, the main floor dining area very nice and the basement ski room adequate. The food was excellent and the staff freindly and helpful. Rooms were the weak spot. They are in a separate building only a few feet from the main building. They are motel style and very basic. The heat was a problem. Other guests complained about the same problem I had, that it took all day to warm up the room and the convectors seemed to make noise but not produce much heat. The lock to my room seemed not to work so I asked the front desk to help. They came out and showed me how to jiggle the key to make it work. Took about 20 seconds on average. Lamps in the room are cheap so you turn them on and they flicker or the switch clicks off on its own. I didn't use the ironing board since there was no iron and the ironing board was broken. Bathrooms were nicely upgraded and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is a wedding venue and the base for a hell ski operation so if the rooms don't need to be anything special, go ahead and book it. It is these little detail items that they fell short on.

Room Tip: Ask for one as far from the highway as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

My review of the Lodge cannot be separated from my rating of the heli-ski operation, since not sure why anyone would stay here who was not heli-skiing. The Lodge is totally fine- not luxury-the rooms are upgraded motel in character, but clean, spacious and totally fine. Main lodge has everything one would want. Charming, good food, a bar, etc. It is small, but so what. The heli-ski operation was great. Small groups, excellent guides, and very good service from all the staff. They take safety very seriously and do their best to make sure you are having a great experience without babying you. Their repeat business speaks to that. I really havd a good experience and would do it again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

My husband thought it would be adventurous to drive a bit further west, past the hotels in Golden, to try the Heather Mountain Lodge. Great idea! The restaurant is FANTASTIC - both food and service, both breakfast and dinner. And our room was very comfortable. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ColoradoReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

To say that our experience with Heather Mountain Lodge was disappointing would be an understatement. We found the lodge in our search for a wedding venue. We loved the idea of the lodge, so wanted to stay for a night to check it out in person. We had limited time, so we had planned a very quick trip from Calgary (a good three hour drive). I had emailed the Lodge and received an email from Alexis, their 'event planner'. We inquired whether it would be possible to meet with someone in person to discuss the details of hosting our wedding there and scheduled a time to meet the day we arrived. Needless to say, Alexis didn't bother to show up at all. When we arrived we were advised that Alexis was not in that day, no one knew anything about our meeting, the hot tub was "out of order", and they had lost our dinner reservation. Not a great first impression when you are considering spending thousands of dollars at their lodge for your wedding, when their event planner can't even make a half an hour meeting. The staff looked generally confused, so they text Alexis who advised them our meeting was the following day. I had several emails confirming the date and time, so I am not sure how the date could have been confused. The staff then assured us that the General Manager would be in half an hour later, and she would be able to answer all of our questions. We returned half an hour later and met the General Manager, who was apologetic, however, couldn't in fact answer our questions. We were told Alexis was the person to talk to. We drove 3 hours from Calgary specifically to get answers to the questions we had. It was a complete and total waste of time. The only positive note was our service at dinner was great. The food however resulted in me being up sick all night. After a very terrible sleep, we wanted to wake up early, have a cup of coffee and get back on the highway. Unfortunately, they had failed to actually leave any coffee in the room, so we had to call the front desk to inquire where we might get a cup of coffee. We rang several times and no one bothered to answer the front desk phone, so my fiancé ended up going to the front desk to retrieve a cup of coffee. They advised that the phones don't actually work, and you have to call the Lodge number instead. That would have been great information to have received upon check-in. Despite Alexis failing to show up for our meeting, we are yet to hear anything from her. An email apologizing for the mix up would have sufficed. No communication at all is disappointing. Overall, the experience was a complete and total waste of time and we would never trust them to host our wedding when the most basic details are overlooked. We wouldn't recommend it for a weekend stay, let alone a wedding.

Stayed: September 2016
2  Thank careyleishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis A, Manager at Heather Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Hi Carey,

I understand your frustration and disappointment but it was truly a date misunderstanding as I have never missed a Wedding appointment.
I will investigate further about your dinner as we take food poisoning very seriously. We have very high hygiene standards in our kitchen and food is prepared with the outmost care and following food safe regulations.
I will contact you today for any further matters directly.

Thank you and I hope you have a nice day,

Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This is a lovely hotel in a stunningly beautiful location. Our room was very comfortable and well-appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Canada's Glacier National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexFromJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis A, Manager at Heather Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Hi Alex,

Thank you for your feedback and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area.
We hope to you and your wife come and visit us soon.
Have a great day,

Alexis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
40.0 km away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
39.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
36.3 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.9 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 18 in Golden
475 reviews
46.3 km away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
26.9 km away
Mountain View Cabins
Mountain View Cabins
#9 of 43 in Golden
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heather Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather Mountain Lodge

Address: Box 401 | Rogers Pass, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range: ₹ 11,804 - ₹ 13,632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Heather Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heather Mountain Lodge is located on the Trans-Canada Highway halfway between Golden and Revelstoke British Columbia. Nestled in the mountains at the East Gate of Canada's Glacier National Park, this classic Canadian timber frame lodge will be a highlight of your holiday. Our restaraunt offers an outstanding dining experience, seasoned with memorable mountain views. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Heather Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heather Mountain Lodge Golden, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing