We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Canadian adventure ”
Review of Mistaya Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mistaya Lodge
Ranked #13 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Amazing experience even for non-hikers! The location is breathtaking and the lodge is heavenly. Amazed at the super friendly staff and the seamless operation they're running. Food was incredible and the guides accommodated my city-girl lack of experience with nature and ensured a great experience. Visit if you can!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Judy2439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy G, Owner at Mistaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi city-girl :) thank you for posting! I am so glad that you came on an adventure with us. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to make you comfortable outside of your comfort zone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2017

This was my first back country ski trip. My husband is a seasoned back country skiier and chose this lodge for me...and him (he had been to Mistaya before). From the staging area at the airport where we were greeted by Cindy and two of our guides (Lisa and Christian) to our last day, I couldn't have had a better experience. Upon arrival to the lodge via helicopter we were greeted by the owner and guide Dave. As well, the cook Grant who had some fresh cinnabon buns and coffee waiting for us. After a brief orientation, we were off touring where we had an Avalanche transceiver introduction. Everything was explained very well and I found the excercises we did with transceivers, shovels and probes very beneficial. The touring throughout the trip was tailor made for the guests. We had an 80 year old man who was able to go at his own pace with one of the guides ! If you would like to do half days of skiing, there is no pressure to be out all day. I appreciated this as I had sore feet/blisters from some ill fitted boots. The food was wonderful and the company of the other guests was great. If its your first trip touring or you are a seasoned back country skiier, I highly recommend Mistaya. Our guides were very safe (always checking snow pack and weather conditions) and our comfort and safety were a priority !

Room Tip: The rooms are very similar. We had a double bed plus single bunk in the Mistaya room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Just returned from Mistaya Lodge and my father and I had a wonderful experience. Dave, Cindy, Grant, Lisa and Christian took great care of us and the guests were fantastic. I felt that we came as guests and left as friends with some of us setting up future gatherings together. Meal conversations were lively and spirited. Most of us were sharing our favorite beverage just before dinner. A real esprit de corps was formed. But, we came to ski, right?! The skiing was spectacular. Tons of various terrain from big bowls to trees to chutes. Dave broke trail almost everyday and never seemed fatigue despite the 24" of new snow. The scenery is so majestic that photos cannot capture the awesomeness. If you ski or hike in the backcountry, then Mistaya Lodge must be added to your bucket list. It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We spent 6 days over Christmas at Mistaya Lodge and had a fantastic experience. From the skiing, lodging and food, to the expert guiding, hospitality and end of day saunas, everything exceeded expectations. The remote location, accessed by helicopter only, added to the magic.

The guides lead us to new areas every day. We climbed through beautiful terrain and skied pillows of powder on open slopes, glades and even through rockfall. Thanks to our enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable guides Dave and Kenton, who lead the older gen back to the lodge when they were ready for tea, naps and saunas, and headed back out with the uni students and keeners, returning to the lodge at dusk with stories to tell.....

Chef Grant prepared delicious homestyle meals and apres ski snacks with a gourmet flare. Christmas dinner with all the trimmings, barbecued chicken and pork, salmon, delicious sauces, homemade bread and cinnamon buns, the list goes on..... all fantastic.

The owners, Dave and Cindy, are truly experts when it comes to managing a back country lodge. They shared their beautiful family and Christmas morning celebration with all of us, including a small gift for each guest. The logistics aren't simple, but to the guests it is all seamless and just wonderful. Thanks from all of us.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy G, Owner at Mistaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

It was so fun having your family join us for Christmas this year! Three families coming together sharing traditions and new experiences was so special. All the best in 2017!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This was my first visit to any back country lodge. As a rookie, the staff and other guests were very helpful with practical tips and instruction.
All aspects of the lodge related activities are very well organized, so adjustments for guest preferences and abilities are easily accommodated.
Although Mistaya Lodge is considered mostly for seasonal hiking and skiing - do not rule out relaxing! I chose not to go on a hike one of the days there and spent the day strolling on trails close to the lodge looking for photo ops. The trails are well marked.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2SpryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
49.1 km away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
48.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
48.9 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#9 of 17 in Golden
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
52.9 km away
Winston Lodge & Spa
Winston Lodge & Spa
#6 of 17 in Golden
118 reviews
49.5 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 17 in Golden
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mistaya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mistaya Lodge

Address: Wildcat Creek, Rocky Mountains, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Golden
Price Range: ₹ 7,685 - ₹ 12,808 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury in the backcountry! A retreat with helicopter access only! Fully catered and guided skiing, snowshoeing, mountaineering, hiking and relaxation.HistoryEstablished in 1988 as a Backcountry lodge to enable everyone access to a truely secluded piece of the rocky mountains in a safe manor.Meet the Business Owner: David B.An ACMG certified ski guide for the last 20 years.  The mountains are truly his passion.  Guiding in many industries such as Ski touring, Heli and Cat skiing in a few different country's .  He has made his home with his family in Golden BC and at Mistaya Lodge.  David was working at Mistaya from day one and took over ownership in 2003.New and ready for summer 2013! The WildCat Cabin is a 3 bedroom cabin near the main lodge that can be rented self catered with optional guiding. Geat for families, small groups of friends, special occasions like honeymoons, anniversaries......... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mistaya Lodge Golden, British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing