We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
26
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsweather conditionshelicopter rideremote locationgrantdavebackcountrycompostingalpinehikerssaunashowerguestsrockieshostswoodcomfortdeck
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2017

This was my first back country ski trip. My husband is a seasoned back country skiier and chose this lodge for me...and him (he had been to Mistaya before). From the staging area at the airport where we were greeted by Cindy and two of our guides (Lisa and Christian) to our last day, I couldn't have had a better experience. Upon arrival to the lodge via helicopter we were greeted by the owner and guide Dave. As well, the cook Grant who had some fresh cinnabon buns and coffee waiting for us. After a brief orientation, we were off touring where we had an Avalanche transceiver introduction. Everything was explained very well and I found the excercises we did with transceivers, shovels and probes very beneficial. The touring throughout the trip was tailor made for the guests. We had an 80 year old man who was able to go at his own pace with one of the guides ! If you would like to do half days of skiing, there is no pressure to be out all day. I appreciated this as I had sore feet/blisters from some ill fitted boots. The food was wonderful and the company of the other guests was great. If its your first trip touring or you are a seasoned back country skiier, I highly recommend Mistaya. Our guides were very safe (always checking snow pack and weather conditions) and our comfort and safety were a priority !

Room Tip: The rooms are very similar. We had a double bed plus single bunk in the Mistaya room.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Terry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Just returned from Mistaya Lodge and my father and I had a wonderful experience. Dave, Cindy, Grant, Lisa and Christian took great care of us and the guests were fantastic. I felt that we came as guests and left as friends with some of us setting up future gatherings together. Meal conversations were lively and spirited. Most of us were sharing our favorite beverage just before dinner. A real esprit de corps was formed. But, we came to ski, right?! The skiing was spectacular. Tons of various terrain from big bowls to trees to chutes. Dave broke trail almost everyday and never seemed fatigue despite the 24" of new snow. The scenery is so majestic that photos cannot capture the awesomeness. If you ski or hike in the backcountry, then Mistaya Lodge must be added to your bucket list. It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We spent 6 days over Christmas at Mistaya Lodge and had a fantastic experience. From the skiing, lodging and food, to the expert guiding, hospitality and end of day saunas, everything exceeded expectations. The remote location, accessed by helicopter only, added to the magic.

The guides lead us to new areas every day. We climbed through beautiful terrain and skied pillows of powder on open slopes, glades and even through rockfall. Thanks to our enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable guides Dave and Kenton, who lead the older gen back to the lodge when they were ready for tea, naps and saunas, and headed back out with the uni students and keeners, returning to the lodge at dusk with stories to tell.....

Chef Grant prepared delicious homestyle meals and apres ski snacks with a gourmet flare. Christmas dinner with all the trimmings, barbecued chicken and pork, salmon, delicious sauces, homemade bread and cinnamon buns, the list goes on..... all fantastic.

The owners, Dave and Cindy, are truly experts when it comes to managing a back country lodge. They shared their beautiful family and Christmas morning celebration with all of us, including a small gift for each guest. The logistics aren't simple, but to the guests it is all seamless and just wonderful. Thanks from all of us.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy G, Owner at Mistaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

It was so fun having your family join us for Christmas this year! Three families coming together sharing traditions and new experiences was so special. All the best in 2017!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This was my first visit to any back country lodge. As a rookie, the staff and other guests were very helpful with practical tips and instruction.
All aspects of the lodge related activities are very well organized, so adjustments for guest preferences and abilities are easily accommodated.
Although Mistaya Lodge is considered mostly for seasonal hiking and skiing - do not rule out relaxing! I chose not to go on a hike one of the days there and spent the day strolling on trails close to the lodge looking for photo ops. The trails are well marked.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2SpryGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We have stayed at many back-country lodges in the past 35 years and this is one of the best.

The hiking is varied, from easy to challenging. The guides were amazing and seemed to know how to satisfy everyone's capabilities.

Free wi-fi is available but only for email use. There is no cell phone service.

This is a back-country lodge with no locks on the rooms and thin walls, so difficult to answer the question about being romantic. Having to go to a separate building to have a shower and mixing the shower water in a pail, may not describe this as charming to some.

There is no restaurant, per se Food is provided in the price but there is no menu providing options. Everyone receives the same meal, and if there is a dairy intolerance in the group, then it seems that everyone must be mostly non-dairy for the duration!

The food was pretty good, but not as stunningly-excellent as we have had at other back-country lodges in the past, which has resulted in our "very good" vs "excellent" rating.

Room Tip: The Trapper room is the best!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Intrepid_Hikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews