We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Village Lodge
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The floor is dusty and and sandy . Front desk service is the worst. They don't even fix or supply hair blow dryer. Don't even apologize nor teying to help and replace it. Just say next time :( ... It smells from the front desk..

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shapavalav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We do not have a sandy beach on our property. All 4 of the front desk staff that I have are the kindest and sweetest people I have ever met. They always go above and beyond expectactions as many of the previous reviews have stated. All rooms have hair dryers. If you like I can send you a recent receipt of the purchase of 80 units from our supplier. The smell that bothered you at the front desk was the smell of "clean". I guess you are not used to that.


Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

A person has to realize that old buildings still get used BUT, be aware this motel is not in keeping with today. We arrived in Golden only to find other hotels not available so in panic and tired we thought it would suffice. The owners have tried to spruce the rooms up but only to have it resemble a do-it-yourself unprofessional project. It just has a sence of being not very clean. A positive is that they tried and the bedding appeared new and comfortable. Everything else in the room was old and very well used. We had to actually shut the fridge off do to the noise to get some sleep. With every thing else the room was priced as high as many of the large chain hotels and there was no breakfast included. Next time we will reserve ahead - our fault.

Room Tip: Stick with newer units and reserve ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. As of July 2016 we have remodelled every aspect of our rooms. This includes new LG flat screen televisions, new queen size beds, new linens, new fridges, new microwaves, new flooring, and much much more. This 2017 we will be completing the remodel with updating all the bathrooms with new countertops and new fixtures and floors. After being in the industry for over 30 years I have learned that you can never make everyone happy. We hired professional contractors to complete all the work in the rooms. I sense because you arrived in a tried, panicked state, there is not much that my property could have done to change your personal status and opinion of our rooms. I suggest in the future when you review a property enter the review with a clean mind and hold your judgment if you are having a pad day or feel panicked. At the end of the day I work hard to provide for my family and we are a small property that cares about our guests.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

For $225 it was not worth it.

Room 214

The plus:

Easy access from highway. Wifi worked well, room was clean. Had new mini fridge with separate freezer component. Water kettle, microwave, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, flat screen TV. Mattresses were comfortable.

The bad:

The three queen size beds were on custom made platforms, and although the concept was good, the mattresses kept shifting, and all of us hit the platforms at least once. Bathroom seemed unfinished, lacked hanging rack/hanger. Also, fan fixture in bathroom was uncovered, wiring exposed. The kettle was on the table, but where to plug it in, as there were no AC plugs near the table. AC was old, but worked. Cigarette tray was right outside our window. Back window faces a hill that seems like it's going to swallow the whole building, it is very close. Not enough AC plugs. Towels felt like sandpaper, and not enough, knowing there were 4 of us.

The in-between:

Not a bad stay, but for the price, it should have been much better. If staying in area again, will try another motel, there are several choices nearby.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank hawag z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate all the positive and negative feedback that you provided.
As for the mattresses shifting back and forth we will look into a stabilizer around the perimeter of the area so this problem can be avoided. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. With our entire property going through a remodel, there are a few items that are still being worked on. There will be a towel rack and clothing hook installed on the back of the bathroom door. The fan issue will also be looked into.

The kettle was not plugged in, however there are several plugs throughout the room for guest use. I do understand our AC unit is a older model. At this point I don't see the need to contribute to the landfill when things work perfectly fine. The reason why the cigarette tray was outside the window is because all rooms are non smoking and we do have sections were guests can smoke outside their rooms. As for the hill behind the window, well that one is on mother nature and how she formed the land and the property we sit on. I will see if I can do something about it. In all rooms there are 4 sets of towels, if you needed any extra my staff and I would have been more than happy to provide you with extra towels. I don't know why they felt like sandpaper especially considering they are all newly ordered. For some guests with delicate skin, I understand the feel of cotton can be bothersome. We have ordered new towels that address the needs of guests with this issue. The new towels will be a combination of 3 different materials.

I do hope you reconsider and give us a second chance. Our new Indian Kitchen restaurant will be opening soon and we will be completing the full remodel of all rooms in October.

Once again thanks for your feedback positive and negative. We will work hard to fix all the issues you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We rate hotel poor to average. Renovation done, but cheaply. If you want to compete in today's field , you will have to do better. Had the water run 10 minutes before water temperature was warm enough for shower. Floor is very cold, beds are strange, sheet of plywood under mattress?

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 963marilynw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Its not plywood. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pavi K, Owner at Golden Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.2 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 18 in Golden
475 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
1.8 km away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
6.7 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.8 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#8 of 18 in Golden
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Village Lodge

Address: 1439 Lafontaine Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H3, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Golden)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Golden
Price Range: ₹ 6,516 - ₹ 74,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Village Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Village Hotel
Golden Village Lodge British Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing