We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveller rating
495
207
53
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
207
53
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews library lounge the pub general store fourth floor mike's place spirit bar historic hotel live jazz juliet suite breakfast was included modern amenities hot breakfast liquor store limited parking beautiful room wonderful hotel room rate
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 789 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The Hume is one of the best Hotels that we have ever had the pleasure of staying at. It is superior, in many ways, to most 5 star establishments. The Staff were a delight to deal with and the management and property owners should be complimented on their efforts, hospitality and attention to detail.

We had a room on the fourth floor which overlooked the historic Court House and had views of the Lake as well. The room was absolutely spotless and was the cleanest Hotel that we have visited whilst touring through Canada by a country mile (some have left a lot to be desired). It was also very quiet and had great beds and pillows.

We enjoyed afternoon drinks and dinner at the Library Lounge. The food and service here was also excellent (great Sangria). The Seafood Fettuccini was outstanding and the Lamb and Beef dishes were cooked to perfection. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast the next morning immensely.

I have never stayed at a Hotel before that makes you feel happy as soon as you walk in the door. Perhaps it is the extensive history of the place. Maybe it is the energy of the staff, or, the layout and decor of the rooms. Maybe it is a combination of all of these things. All in all it was wonderful experience and we do hope to come back one day to Nelson and visit again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank donnaa106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

My partner and I( he works once every few months in Nelson and Trail) stay here when in the Kootneys. Great hotel with fantastic amenities and right in the centre of what this cute charming town has to offer! As many people describe, the hotel has TONNES of charachter and the owners have done extensive renovations, and it's refelcted in the details! The rooms are large and have very nice bathrooms.
The greatest thing I think, is you have many different options to dine: the pub(the best), the library bar and the main dining room(forget the name). The food is amazing! It's elevated pub food, but it's seriously good, with big portions! Great beer offerings and surprising wine list!! Stay here for sure! Nelson is such a funky, charming, fun place! Love it!

Room Tip: Not above the pub, other than that, the hotel doesnt have any bad rooms!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coreyz730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at the Hume a few times when travelling through this region of the interior. I love the heritage and the ambiance. It's downtown and walking distance to everything Nelson's downtown has to offer.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank WalterW1476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thanks for being our 700th review and saying such great things. We truly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel is at the end of a 12 year renovation and the results are simply magnificent! There isn't anything about the building or rooms that doesn't feel new, spotless, and upscale while still presenting as authentic; the hotel managed to stay true to its roots. The food is wonderful with a varied enough menu to make decisions a challenge and the spa is absolutely lovely. Staff is excellent, genuinely friendly and the atmosphere is warm and inviting. Booking directly with the hotel instead of online will possibly save you some money - call first! The only thing that is a slight issue is the shortage of parking spaces making it potentially necessary to park in the next block and feed a 2 hour meter during city business hours (9 am - 5 pm). That being said, parking is an issue for all establishments in this downtown area, particularly when the Baker St. Market is happening, and this slight inconvenience would not be a factor that would prevent me from staying at the hotel on a next visit to Nelson.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Thunderbaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel this is! The location is perfect being close to everything but not in the middle of everything. It can get a bit loud at nite bc it's close to a main road and there's a bar on the main floor so bring your ear plugs if that will keep you up. The hotel itself has a rich history having been there for about 100 yrs and all over the hotel are little plaques providing historical details. We stayed in the Barrister suite which is stately, elegant, spacious and romantic. Your room includes hot breakfast in their restaurant which is delicious and in Sundays brunch is offered until 2pm which a wide range of breakfast and lunch offerings. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cerise64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

We are happy to hear that you loved everything. We are nearing the end of a twelve year renovation project and are really happy with how everything has turned out. It is, without a doubt, a character property and a unique stay. Thanks for choosing the Hume.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews