We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Economic Place to Stay Downtown”
Review of Mountain Hound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Hound Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Nelson B&B and Inns
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Economic Place to Stay Downtown”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We chose to stay at the Mountain Hound on our last couples motorcycle trip to Nelson and we are glad we did! The hotel is conveniently located downtown, within a short walk of restaurants and shopping. The room functional but very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable.
The staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Their restaurant and shopping suggestions were very accurate.
Our only complaints were minor. We had difficulty with the WiFi and there is only on street parking. However, the meters are free on the weekend and the hotel staff "plugs" the meters during the weekday. Overall a very nice, economical place to stay. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJM1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    57
    25
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
54
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The beds were super comfortable..... that's about all I have to say that was positive about the inn. They tried very hard in their renos to make the space comfortable and inviting, but the cinder block walls and size of the rooms feel more like a dorm room - or prison. They should have definitely invested in renovating the bathrooms, as they were very run down. In addition, sound carries throughout the floor with ease. I could hear people coming up the stairs all night and could hear the couple quite clearly in the next room. At one point it sounded as if someone was in my room snoring!
Anyway, if you are looking for a cheap place to stay, you aren't going to spend any time in your room and you are a sound sleeper - stay here. Otherwise - don't.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nutts2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Great place this review was after second time staying here. No better price! This place is great! Clean! Quiet! The only drawbacks would be the rooms are a little small and so are the T.V.s And they dont have parking. You have to park on the street.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We stayed at the Mountain Hound on Nov. 12th. And, in many ways it's a great deal. They really do have great beds with really nice duvets. Our room smelled super. Nice LCD TV on the wall. Room was clean and in good repair. Bathroom was dated, but also clean. And fridge and microwave. Room is smallish but very usable and well laid out. Our room did have a window for some light. But no view, as such. It was cool in Nelson (November), so I can't comment on the AC. And right downtown on Baker St. Front desk staff was very nice\helpful. As another review called it - "good basic accommodations".
Now the down side. They seem to have an issue with power outlets cause many things are unplugged or no outlest are available. Upon our arrival in the room, one of the bed lights was unplugged. To plug in the charger for my laptop I had to unplug the Microwave. Additionally, I noticed the emergency lighting in the stairwell leading from the lobby\reception to the second floor was unplugged. I'm no fire marshall, but I don't think that's the way it's supposed to be. They don't have wireless and will supply you with a network cable if you wish to have Internet access. But the cable we got had the tabs broke off on both ends and so the cable tended to fall out of either the wall or my laptop. Parking can be a pain. As I understand it, they have no reserved parking. You have to park on Baker St. which is metered parking (.50 cents and hour I think). We arrived on Friday afternoon around 3 and at that time, getting a spot in front was a royal pain. They do have two unloading spots you can stop in temporarily. If you supply the front desk with quarters, they'll plug the meter for you. A management response to another review seemed to suggest that potential guests are fully informed of the parking arrangements. We were not.
Finally, the reason that we couldn't recommend the Mountain Hound. Around 130 am the couple next door to us returned to their room. They turned on the radio fairly loud and the proceeded to have "fun" for at least the next 45 minutes. I assume the radio was meant to cover up the sounds of their fun. It didn't. Honestly, it was like they were right in our room with us. Our sleep was definitely impacted. For us, we could live with the minor inconveiences I note above. However, we want a good nights sleep and for us this experience would not allow us to stay there again.
All in all, the folks at the Mountain Hound really try hard and I believe their heart is in the right place, if you will. And their rates are very competitive. As my TELUS buddies say, they have a good value proposition. However, if you are considering the Hound, take some ear muffs or plugs, just in case.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoresALot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2010

This is a great value budget hotel. The rooms were clean modern and basic... just what I would expect and more for such an affordable rate. Even offer muffins, fruit etc in the mornings. The location was central to stroll around Nelson. If you are looking for a posh hotel, this isn't it but if you are looking for great value - great spot!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinZandJMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 km away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.8 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 km away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.9 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 km away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Hound Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Hound Inn

Property: Mountain Hound Inn
Address: 621 Baker St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4J3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,448 - ₹ 6,075
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Hound Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in Nelson's newest boutique hotel, the Mountain Hound Inn. Located right in the heart of historic baker street, we're only steps away from Nelson's finest shops, restaurants and nightlife. Flat screen LCD TVs, complimentary high-speed internet connection in each room, right down to the luxurious triple-sheeted beds at budget rates, the Mountain Hound Inn offers a stay like no other. For Years the Mountain Hound Inn has catered to travelers of all kinds. Our staff are passionate about where we live and what we do, and we love to share that passion for all that Nelson and the Kootenay Region has to offer with our guests. Hiking, Biking, Motorcycling. Fishing, Climbing, Kayaking. Skiing, Boarding, Snow-Shoeing. Nelson is a gem of outdoor activity, and we love to see you get out and enjoy it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Mountain Hound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Hound Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing