We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

When I travel to Port Alberni for work I stay at the Best Western Barclay. The rooms are clean, the staff are polite, and the food is good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 404 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

My daughter and I spend a few weekends a year travelling for skating competitions. Each one involves a stay in a hotel (hopefully near the rink!). The first thing my dd said when we arrived at the Barclay was, "This is way nicer than the last place we stayed!". Everyone was so friendly, and helpful (including lending us a pair of scissors to cut "skate tape" as we had left ours at home). Competitors need to be at their best for competition and staying away from home is just part of the game, so finding a place you can relax and feel at home is a high priority. The Barclay did a great job hosting many skaters, families, coaches and officials the weekend we were there. Thank you so much! We will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My husband and I made a two night trip to Port Alberni in order to go to the McLean Heritage Mill and to sail on the Frances Barclay to Ucluelet at the end of August 2011. We chose this hotel because it was close to the Harbour Quay. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was spotless, the room comfortable, the staff were very friendly and our meals in the restaurant were great.

Room Tip: Check out the Online Specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have stayed at this great hotel many times, and had several different rooms and have never had a room that was not comfortable and clean. The meals in the restaurant and pub were very good and reasonable. The hotel is not to far from the casino, which is nice for those that like to play the slots.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

An except of a letter I sent to the GM: I was recently in Port Alberni and had occasion to make use of the facilities of your hotel. While camping at Sproat Lake, I needed to make a conference call with the Executive Committee of the organisation I run in Hong Kong. Your staff were friendly, outgoing and efficient! They facilitated my making my call and I was also the recipient of your hospitality at your restaurant. The quesidillas were first class!

Your director of sales and the front desk staff were wonderful in accommodating me. Unfortunately, I don't get by Port Alberni too often. However, my parents live in Sidney and had occasion to visit after I forgot my Blackberry charger and your team once again came to the rescue.

[Since returning home], I have been talking up my visit and that your hotel was great in helping me get business done halfway around the world.

Room Tip: Did make use of the rooms on this visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
1.4 km away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
320 reviews
80.8 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
64.0 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
49.8 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
959 reviews
0.3 km away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel

Address: 4277 Stamp Avenue, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Port Alberni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Port Alberni
Price Range: ₹ 6,381 - ₹ 9,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western
Best Western Plus Barclay Hotel Port Alberni, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing