We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Absolutely an unexpected thrill to see and hear!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Revelstoke Nickelodeon Museum - CLOSED

Revelstoke Nickelodeon Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada's only mechanical music museum. The collection illustrates and demonstrates the development of automatic music machines from 18th century barrel organs to 1950s juke boxes via musical boxes, street and barrel pianos, residence and dance hall organs, player pianos, phonographs, gramophones and vintage radios. The museum offers tours taking approximately 1 hour and demonstrations of the genuine antique instruments include about 20 examples.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely an unexpected thrill to see and hear!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

This wonderful museum is full of instruments of music from a long time ago up to this century.
This is especially true to those of us that are enamoured of the music box/player piano music. The only other place visited was the Cliff House Nickelodeon in San Francisco; which is, sadly, depleted or gone. We are returning to visit again this summer and a big portion of that visit is to once again enjoy Revelstoke's best attraction! There are few loves that can be enjoyed, these days, but this visit is one of our best.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank missmccoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    5
    0
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Brings music alive in your heart and soul.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

My 14 yr old daughter says it was 'cool' even though she was a little sunburnt and uncomfortable she liked it had so much variety - Sunday morning music to Saturday night rock n roll. Definately go is all I can say.

Helpful?
Thank TerriGramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating and quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

I went with my wife and her best friend, we were just stopping overnight and found the Nickelodeon museum while wandering around. It was fabulous, so interesting, so quirky. The tour was well worth while, it was run by a lovely man and his wife who moved from Hampshire in the UK to Revelstoke some years ago and do this as a retirement project. It is well worth a visit.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank saskatoondave1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This museum comes alive for the entire family thanks to the great tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

The Nickelodeon Museum gives visitors a one hour guided demonstration tour of mechanical musical instruments. It might sound dry, but it isn't. We were 3 adults and 3 kids aged 9, 12, and 13 and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The kids got to try out many of the instruments and many others were demonstrated for us. We were the only ones on the tour - it's not a busy place - and I would go back. It is entirely inside so it doesn't matter what the weather is like outside. We saw instruments being played that we have never seen before. The tour guide was one of the owners and it was a delight to hear her tell us about the instruments that she is so passionate about.

Visited July 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox Valley
Level Contributor
1 review
“This is a unique experience that you wouldn't get in any big city. Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Who would expect to find such an incredible museum in a small town? This museum could flourish in Vancouver, Toronto, even, I suspect New York. Obviously the owners have a passion for collecting mechanical musical instruments and are willing to share with the general public.
The background is a family that collected mechanized musical instruments like barrel organs, player pianos and organs, mechanized bands, and juke boxes. They had every space in their English home filled and decided to move to Canada They chose Revelstoke and found a great space to house their collection.

We had a tour for 5 of us that lasted over an hour and half at an extremely affordable price..
If you go, try to have a tour because seeing the instruments is impressive, but hearing them makes the experience complete.
This museum will appeal to musicians, anyone interested in mechanics, anyone interested in history, in fact I would think it would appeal to most people.
If you are in Revelstoke, don't miss the opportunity to see something totally unique!

Helpful?
Thank Pauja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Revelstoke Nickelodeon Museum also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing