We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing Stay in Revy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay in Revy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

"AAA" Class - Amazing staff, Aweinspiring location, Awesome room & facilities. It was well beyond all expectations - WOW!

*** High end facility with unpretentious vibe, it doesn't get any better than this.***

It was my wife's first trip to beautiful B.C., and my first trip to Revelstoke: the 2-hour drive from Kelowna was absolutely spectacular; when we arrived in Revelstoke we were totally blown away by the gorgeous surroundings and then we rolled up on the Sutton Place Hotel and the experience just kept getting better. Front desk checked us in early, room was ready - nice & clean 2bedroom +2 bathroom suite, balcony, kitchen, fire-place all high-end finishes - this is a luxurious mountain resort and their management/front-desk provides the personal touch upon arrival that makes you feel good (shout-out to Peter, Keirnan & JC).
Hit the rental shop within the hotel after check-in - Kevin & crew took most excellent care of us, and we're ready to hit the slopes in minutes. Met some of the nicest, laid back folks from all over the world chatting on the lifts, just lovin' life. No lift lines even on the weekend. Ski in, Ski out, lockers, pools, hot tubs, yoga, shops, restaurants, cafe, bar, outdoor fires/patios, elegant suites, everything super clean, Sutton Place Hotel (formerly Nelson Lodge) has it all.

This mountain area makes for excellent adventures outdoors. My wife took a lesson the first day - David "I moved here when I was 18 and been here ever since" (probably 40yrs "since"), was a great ski instructor/guide - and the second day my wife and I skied down all the way from the top together - we were quite pleased to have accomplished that together, and we got awesome pics to show for it. The suite was also perfect for apres-ski with the soaker tub and glassed in showers, and sub-zero fridge for lots of "bevies in Revy"
We lucked into 3 days of sunshine. I've been back at my office now for a few hours and still have a smile on my face, and warm feeling in my soul, just thinking about the amazing stay in Revelstoke - had to give something back in return - ie. post an honest review.

*** Well worth the trip!! We'll be back soon 4sure, and will bring our kids (4 & 6) next time!***

The nearby town of Revelstoke is super cool with all convenience amenities and stoked local vibe (big props to the "Village Idiot Pub" bar staff & chefs). The Sutton Place Hotel is so nice, I'm considering buying a unit. The building is very well-built, super solid/quiet, and the location is pure beauty, and best of all, the people... the peeps in all areas of the hotel, service & retail shops, restaurant/bars, and on the slopes are truly amazing!!!

Room Tip: Smile, soak in the surroundings and feel the local vibe - loose any prententions, smile and ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    135
    33
    5
    0
See reviews for
186
198
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is year #2 that we went to Sutton Place - on contrary to the negative review below - this is one of my favorite Ski In/Out resorts.

Note that the Resort is still in its final stages of renovations - and many tiny quirks will be worked out with time.

In just a year (we went last summer) - the place has come together so nicely! Although it is almost a 3.5 hour drive from Calgary - I will definitely be back.

The rooms are all quality rooms - with huge balconies and amazing fixtures. We stayed in the two bedroom suite once again and everything from the bed to even the elevator is top notch.

I was so happy to know that the Gondola took me up to the first green hill (and many blue hills) - and savored the beginner in me, the dreadful chair lift!! The chair lifts are limited however it is because the mountain is HUGEEE! You just have to take the Gondola up and you are already an hour up and for beginners like me, 2 hours worth of boarding. I credit that with good planning!! Who wants to spend half the time on a chair lift anyways??

The staff are truly helpful, the lobby is gorgeous, the parking is spacious and the rooms are well designed with friends and family in mind. The place is well cleaned and maintained (unlike many other resorts i have been to) - and the hills are spectacular! Great for beginners and crazy boarders like my cousin.

I didn't have time to try the restaurants (although they looked fancy!!) - as we decided to buy food and take advantage of the wonderful kitchen!

Highly recommend this place for any snowboard/skiier enthuasist! Nothing better than to enjoy the view, the hills and relax and spoil yourself at the same time!

WILL BE BACK!

PS: It is also pet friendly which we loveeeee! It is great to see a pet friendly place that doesn't down their rooms for the pet lovers!!

Another great thing that many people might not notice - that the building is solid. Considering how busy it was - it was quiet and we didn't hear a peep! We were in building #2 this time (first time was building #1).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunjoyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We arrived at revelstoke much later in the day then we thought. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised by the lobby and proximity of the hotel to the hill ( I mean you can't get any closer). The ski rental shop was 20 feet to the left, and the ski ticket sales was 10 feet to the right.

I stayed with my 2 teenage boys in a 1 bedroom suite. The rooms were very nice with high end finishing, though a bit on the small side. We had a few minor issues, and I guess this is where you find out what the staff is made of. I was very impressed with the front desk staff and manager. They were able to solve any issues quickly and efficiently.

With respect to another writer complaining about kids. If you read up in any ski magazine, or on revelstoke's website close to 50% of the runs are expert. This hill is amazing, but challenging. It is not a traditional family hill, unless your kids are advanced intermediate or expert.
The only main disadvantage of the hotel is that there are only 3 restaurants at the hill. So a car was good as we drove for 10 minutes each night to go out for supper. The indoor parking was a big bonus.

Room Tip: we had 1 bedroom suite facing backside. very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank home9987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

This is the place to stay at Revelstoke. This mountain is not for the faint of heart. It is for expert skiers. The hotel is new and clean. It is ski in ski out. If you want to ski this is the place to go.You will have to make your own night time fun. Day time is epic!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oshaughnessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

ok, let me just say that im not sure whats going on at this sutton place hotel/condo but they better be thinking about changing there management because right now it sucks. im going to list just a few things that my family and i came across during our 5 day stay last month in january. bottom line is go somewhere else
-rmr/revelstoke mountain resort advertises all these things for kids but they dont even have half of them running
-this resort has 3 lifts, yes thats right 3 lifts. the mountain for skiing is great but 3 lifts. the 2 magic carpets are not lifts
-i dont know if its a conference center but almost every day the lobby was full of locals having meetings. this was not visitors, it was locals having meetings in the hotel lobby?????? dont they have a conference room???????
-we stayed in building 1 i believe and to get to the outdoor pool and the outdoor hot tub you have to walk through there underground parking for a long long ways in your rowbs and swim wear while avoiding cars that are trying to park. not good for the kids. not sure who designed this
-the outdoor hot tub was closed a few days because snow would fall off the roof of the building and come close to the hot tub. not good for the kids or anyone. who designed this anyway
-hot water in our condo didnt work on 2 different nights and the manager said he was working on it but both times it took so long we went to bed because we couldnt wait any longer
-i could go on for a long time but i wont. this last thing i feel was the most important. ive stayed at a few sutton place hotels before and this seems to be a sandman inn with the sutton name attached to it. by no way should this be compaired to a sutton place hotel. save yourself and your family the bummer and stay somewhere else or at another resort.

Room Tip: book your vacation at another resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank johnlow949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSutton, Manager at The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear johnlow949 –
Thank you for bringing your concerns with your stay at The Sutton Place Hotel at Revelstoke Mountain Resort to my attention. We value allthe feedback we receive because this allows us the opportunity to improve our resort for future guests and for upcoming seasons. I have addressed your presented concerns below:
“...Lack of operating child services/activities.” – I reviewed January’s weekly programs that are aimed at the youths on our resort and, yes, I did discover the resort’s “ROC Kid’s” (supervised youth program) was not operating. Unfortunately, when we do not have the volume of youths registered for this supervised program in advance, we temporarily place the program on ‘pause’ until we can secure the numbers to successfully operate this program. With that being said, our Mountain Child Care and Turtle Creek Tube Park, both new this season, were 100% operational throughout the month of January.
“...Resort only has three lifts.”(not including our two Magic Carpets) – This is accurate, but those three lifts access more vertical terrain than any other resort in North America. By comparison; Big White Ski Resort has 16 lifts that access 2,430 acres (985 hectares) of skiable terrain, while Revelstoke Mountain Resort has five lifts that access 3,121 acres (1,263 hectares) of skiable terrain.
“...Lobby being used as a conference centre.” – Our lobby has never been used as a conference centre. We do organize a “Wine & Cheese Welcome” gathering every night between 4pm and 7pm in our well appointed lobby/reception area. We value this opportunity as a way to greet our guests to the property with a glass of Mission Hill Wine and imported cheese samples.
“...Commuting through underground parking to reach the outdoor pools and hot tubs.”- I agree; this transit route is not perfect. The 22% (when the hotel is 100% sold out) of the guests that use this parkade route are based out of Building 1, which has it’s own private hot tub. (There is also the option of strolling through our quaint village to reach our brand new outdoor pools.)
“...Outdoor pools closed due to falling snow.” – Again, this is accurate, but please allow me to lead off by stating that guest safety is paramount to us. It is quite often in Revelstoke that Mother Nature can bless our resort with upwards of five to 10 feet of snow a week and even with all precautionary systems in place (we will be adding moresnow-clips to our roofs for 2012-13 season as a precautionary device), gravity will sometimes not cooperate, causing small, controlled drifts of snow to fall onto public spaces. When this happens we protect our guests by closing the area until the zone is again deemed safe for occupancy by our risk management team. (The longest our outdoor pool area was closed this season [2011-12] was 48 hours.)



“...Issues with the hot water in suite.” – This is the most perplexing concern because we have no records indicating any hot water interruptions during the month of January. Regardless, it is protocol that ALL maintenance concerns are responded to within 15 minutes. If our maintenance team was not in your suite within those 15 minutes then I sincerely apologize for this lapse.
Thank you, johnlow949, for these insightful comments. If you would like to further this discussion, I can always be reached at The Sutton Place Hotel at Revelstoke Mountain .
Sincerely,

Guest Services Manager; The Sutton Place Hotel at Revelstoke Mountain Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
4.1 km away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
#1 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
6.9 km away
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
Sandman Hotel Revelstoke
#13 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#9 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
5.2 km away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
6.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#7 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort

Property: The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort
Address: 2950 Camozzi Road, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada (Formerly The Nelsen Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,114 - ₹ 40,997
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort is a true ski-in, ski-out luxury condominium style hotel, consisting of 3 buildings connected by an underground heated parking facility and serviced by a beautifully appointed central lobby. This smoke-free property features 222 guest rooms and suites, premium amenities, and three on-site dining experiences: Rockford wok|bar|grill, The Mackenzie Common Tavern, and La Baguette located in the village next to the Revelation Gondola, minutes from downtown Revelstoke. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sutton Place Hotel Revelstoke Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing