We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is in beautiful location, Ghost Town is well worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Hotel is in beautiful location, Ghost Town is well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

This category is Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town and yet they are different things and should have separate entries; the first is a hotel and the second an attraction anyone can visit without staying at the hotel, and hotel guests do not get free entry to the attraction. So I’ll do this review in two parts.

Three Valley Lake Chateau

When Mrs Pontac told me she had booked us in Three Valley Lake Chateau I thought it’d be an very posh exclusive resort hotel with a grand gourmet restaurant and when you first glimpse from Highway 1 over the lake it looks superb with its red roofs covered in gables. At places it looks like the gables have gables.

Reception is a huge wooden hall with a beautiful polished wooden staircase curving up to a library.
The hotel is built as an open square facing the lake, there are gardens with rivers, the lake has a sand beach and there are canoes to rent.

The rooms are largish basic motel rooms with all the facilities you’d expect and rooms have balconies or patios and all face the lake. I think the hotel was built in stages over time and its possible hotel rooms may vary depending when they were built. Inside it’s a warren of corridors and staircases. There’s an indoor garden with a walkway above it. There’s a room over the indoor swimming pool with two large pool (the game with cues and balls) tables, and another below the library and I don’t know what else is there if you take the time to explore. The place is huge.

There are two restaurants, a self serve cafeteria and a waitress service restaurant. But grand it ain’t and my concerns about leaving my tuxedo at home were unjustified.

Its basic diner type fare on bare wooden tables, portions are large but I think the quality of the raw materials could be improved. My chicken schnitzel seems like reconstituted meat and the steak was OK but no more. Wine came from a box but there is a wine list which – when found – consisted of one red, one white and one pink, all VQA (hurrah) all from St Hubertus and all specially labelled for the restaurant.

The location is great, we enjoyed sitting on our balcony with a glass of wine in hand looking at the lake.

There is no internet access in the room, you can get a wireless signal in the restaurant and by the front desk. (our room had line of sight to the restaurant and sometimes we got a weak signal by the window)

The hotel is built, owned, operated and maintained by the family of the man who originally bought the land it stands on. A neat fact about the hotel is that they generate their own electricity by means of a hydroelectric unit on a dam downriver.

Although Tripadvisor groups this in the Revelstoke category be aware that the hotel is fifteen minutes drive away along Highway 1 and that there are no alternative no dining places within walking distance. The hotel is closed over winter.

The Ghost Town

The Ghost Town is next to the hotel. Any one can visit and it is well worth while. It consists of around 30 historic buildings saved from destruction and re-erected here, some with original fittings as left when the building ceased its purpose. They range from a rough trappers hut to a ‘wild west’ saloon with bat-wing doors, two schools, a jail and a church still used for weddings and a row of shops.

There is a theatre and a museum of historic items from Indian arrowheads and artefacts through bottles, telegraph insulators, phonographs etc etc

There’s a fascinating display of early motor vehicles that shows how they evolved from a literally horseless carriage to a recognisable car.

There is an enormous circular railway engine shed, ‘the roundhouse’ the family have built to house a collection of steam engines and rolling stock and there’s a loop of railway track they hope to run public rides on when the legal formalities have been cleared.

Ghost Town is privately owned by the family that owns the hotel, there’s no government subsidy. They hate to see historic buildings destroyed so save them here.

We spent hours in Ghost Town and I don’t think we saw everything, indeed I know we missed out on the railway carriages you see at the front. If you’re interested in history of the area, plan your journey so you can spend a while here.

I’d award 5 stars for Ghost Town and 3 stars for the hotel so since they are both in one listing I am giving 4

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeValleyGap, Owner at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thanks for spending the time in writing this extensive review. We appreciate your comments and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    148
    86
    39
    33
See reviews for
155
135
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We traveled out to Revelstoke in August 2011 and the best way I can describe the accommodations itself was that it would be average. The room itself was pretty basic but lacked air conditioning with just a fan in the corner. We were lucky because the weekend was beautiful so we left the patio door open to get some air through the place. The rooms and hotel itself is definitely dated, so the high cost is rather disappointing.

What helped was the beautiful location and that it's very scenic. We had no difficulty zipping down the road to Revelstoke or just up the highway to the Enchanted Forest, etc.

Great location but in need of an update would be the best way I would describe it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kblack_YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeValleyGap, Owner at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your feedback – we are happy to hear you enjoyed our scenic views and convenient location. Sorry that our rooms are not air conditioned. We have always been careful to notify guests that this is the case prior to booking. Because BC Hydro does not run past our property, our only source of electricity is own hydro system. Air conditioning in all areas is not possible for us; however we find that the patio/balcony door lets in a cool breeze off the lake and the rooms are kept cool quite nicely.
As other reviewers have commented, visiting 3 Valley Gap is not a standard stay in a typical hotel. Our rooms are comfortable and clean while our surroundings are stunning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We have always driven by here to and from the coast and said "some day we have to check this out". This time we did. While the rooms were comfortable with lovely views and provided for a good night's sleep they were over priced for the finishes and furnishings. In addition, and much to my dismay, I woke up with very uncomfortable bug bites I did not have when we arrived at the hotel. I don't know if they are from bed bugs or fleas but needless to say we won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank surfpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Revelstoke hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Such a beautiful hotel in a great location with so much potential! Reception was business like and friendly enough, the hotel has a musky old museum odour. We stayed in a family suite and the lake view was beautiful but the room was functional yet dark and dingy in desperate need of updating. The pool was small but really warm - the best part of our stay!The resturant service was awful. With maybe 4 tables occupied and two waitresses we were ignored for several minutes before seating. We watched many groups wait then eventually give up and walk away. It is the only restuarant on site and the food was not good at all. We wouldn't stay here again. This family run business could be a real gem with a little customer service training, a new menu and a fresh coat of paint!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeValleyGap, Owner at Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for your comments. We have been listening to our guest’s concerns and have recently hired a new manager, who comes with many years of Restaurant experience. We are looking forward to exciting menu changes and employee training programs.

Our maintenance staff is currently renovating more rooms that will be ready by Spring!

The Bell Family appreciates your suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Everything geared towards families. Ghost town and museum incredible undertaking and hopefully appreciated by those who visit. If you want the party scene head elsewhere. Make sure to check out tree history at entrance to hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minipeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Revelstoke hotels
21.1 km away
The Coast Hillcrest Resort Hotel
20.6 km away
Glacier House Resort
Glacier House Resort
#10 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
18.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Revelstoke
#2 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#5 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
18.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
Days Inn & Suites Revelstoke
#7 of 17 in Revelstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
19.1 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 17 in Revelstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town

Property: Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Address: 8903 Trans Canada Hwy | PO Box 860, Revelstoke, British Columbia V0E 2S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Revelstoke
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Revelstoke
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,715 - ₹ 10,587
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lakefront hotel in Revelstoke nestled between stunning Three Valley Lake and the Monashee Mountains, Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town offers a unique blend of modern comforts and historical attractions. Our Revelstoke resort features 200 comfortable guest room accommodations and suites with beautiful garden or lake views, an onsite restaurant, and a heritage ghost town tour, complete with 25 historic buildings from the late 1800s, an antique auto museum and a railway roundhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Valley Lake Chateau And Ghost Town
3 Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town
Three Valley Lake Chateau & Ghost Town Hotel Revelstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing