We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best battered fish in Victoria”
Review of Fish O Chips

Fish O Chips
Ranked #10 of 85 Restaurants in Sidney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Description: Outdoor patio. Summer Time Live Music Sat & Sun 4:30-8 Local Talent.Warm friendly atmosphere. Thursday is Senior's Day Special Menu for Seniors. Fully Licensed .Wed & Sun All you can Eat Cod Special. Kitchen closes half hour before closure.
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We really enjoyed our cod and chips. Batter was light and crispy. Fish was white and flaky. Prices and portion sizes quite reasonable. We will certainly be back. Lots of choices on the menu prawns, cod, halibut even burgers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anthiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Fish O Chips
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

This evening just before 6:00 pm I went in and ordered 2 pieces of fish and chips, a 3 piece chicken dinner and mushy peas, to go. The staff were not busy and the order came quickly. That's as far as the good review goes. When I got the meals home ( a simple 10 minute drive) and unwrapped them I was faced with inedible fish cloaked in a soft mushy batter, congealed mushy peas and grease soaked cold chips. All was not lost - the chicken was delicious! We split the 3 pieces of chicken and put all of the rest in the garbage can. What a disappointment and an expensive lesson to learn. I will definitely not go back.

Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 August 2017

HI LYNN
Thank you for your review - However you contacted us the following day after your meal experience to let us know how disappointed you were with the fish and chip order which you had received and stated that it was not up to standard. We then apologised to you and as a gesture of good will we offered you a free meal on us all included. which you graciously accepted. It was then very unfortunate that the following day we received a 1 star review from you on this site, explaining to one and all how disastrous your meal was.

I then gave you a call on even date to enquire as to the your acceptance of the free offer from us after knowing that you had placed this review and wanted to get clarification on this situation. I was told that you consider my call "harassment" and that I should tread very carefully as you will be taking it up with Trip Advisor Again.

I would just like to let you know that the manner in which things are normally done is to let the establishment know that there was a problem. The establishment then has the opportunity to rectify the situation, which is what we did and you accepted the offer.

You first placed a review expressing your dissatisfaction and then called to let us know about the situation (you however failed to let us know that you had placed a bad review on line BUT still accepted our offer to compensate you?). (Even after knowing that in your review you say you will never go back! - You accept our offer to "COME BACK" and enjoy a free Meal? (a Different way of doing things I suppose.)

I would just like to let you know that we are RETRACTING our offer of compensation for a free meal (which you accepted), as you categorically stated in your review that you will not be back. This is not harassment it is just plain ethics. There is a right way of doing things and a wrong way of doing things, I will let you and other guests decide to choose which way this situation should have been resolved.

The FOC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The new owners have revamped our Fish N Chip SHOP to a spot where dining is more than a hurried event, or a take out spot. New décor greets you, and friendly staff. An updated menu awaits your pleasure and it's a great dining experience. Menu features are COD, Haddock, Halibut, shrimp and scallops. plus coleslaw with a new twist! A new feature is delivery service within the local area, and we love this option!

Thank C2949EAanneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

i quite enjoyed the cod with the tenderest batter i have ever had
-nice sized pieces of fish
-next time i will try the halibut
we had the onion rings as well as fries -both really good
sunny day on the outside patio helped too

2  Thank pvexperttoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We found this place by accident and so glad we did!! The service, price, and food was fantastic!!! Best Fish and Chips I have had in a LONG time! They were very accommodating too as we had to little kids with us, and they also prepared another plate of fish for a family member that was joining us later.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Erstange999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish O Chips also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Fish O Chips? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing