We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you ever wanted in a restaurant.....”
Review of R&L Bistro - CLOSED

R&L Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 26
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: R&L Bistro is a small quaint Bistro on Manitoba Street in the heart of downtown Bracebridge. We seat a maximum of 32 covers for lunch and dinner at one time. We do recommend reservations either by phone or online through our booking interface.Inside you will find a casual, yet sophisticated atmosphere, with white linen table cloths. In the evening the atmosphere is decidedly romantic.A local artist provides the stunning artwork.Our food although simple and delicious, covers a wide array of cuisine styles from traditional French, to Asian and Italian dishes, all presented with flair.Our service is second to none, and in the evening is modeled on the service found at Michelin starred establishments.We look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends to R&L Bistro.
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything you ever wanted in a restaurant.....”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Everything...Excellent cuisine, attractive prsentation,reasonable prices,attentive staff.
Our favorite place for special occasions and "lets go out for dinner"!!!evening.
Portions are not huge so you are able to eat every last bite

Helpful?
1 Thank brigadoon214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    44
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bracebridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service and fine food”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

R&L's has a rather unpretentious street presentation so we were very happy to find a comfortable and rather elegantly decorated interior. We were met as we arrived, our winter coats were taken to be hung and we were shown to our table. The menu is limited but offers an excellent variety as does the wine list. A selection of breads accompanied by olive oil and balsamic vinegar arrived along with a complimentary warm squash and mushroom reduction. Our waiter was knowledgeable, charming and attentive. The food arrived in a timely manner and was excellent. The prices were reasonable and in fact less than what might be expected. We will certainly return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We are vacation home residents in the Bracebridge area and have read all the stellar reviews on the R&L Bistro for the past couple of years. Honestly, we thought they could not possibly be as good as the reviews say they are!

We finally had dinner there on Saturday February 18th. The service and the food was excellent. The owners / chef make the time to come to your table and without being too invasive and make you feel like you are a valued customer!

The place was sold out and this on a Saturday in Muskoka in February! Good thing we made a reservation a couple of weeks in advance.

Without going into all the dinner details we can state that we had a great restaurant dinner experience. We requested the courses be presented without any haste as we were there for the evening and wanted to take our time .... it was perfect!

The quality of the food and the resonable pricing support the five star ratings. They accommodated a couple of special "tweaks" to our appeitizers and we left with the impression that whatever we had ordered would have been as excellent as the meals we had.

We will return again and we are confident from our first experience that we will return over and over again.

PS: The ceasar Salad (if you like them with lots of flavour) was excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gordster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great night, great staff, great food!”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

First of all I would like to commend Adam and the staff for being such great hosts. It was an excellent atmosphere. Myhusband had booked our family dinner there to celebrate my 50th birthday and I could not have been more pleased. We had a party of 8 and they were very accomadating. The appetizers, the entrees and the special cake was excellent. No one was dissappointed. We never felt rushed at any point during our time there and shared many laughs with Adam, Pat, and the chef. It was also nice that we were able to interact with the chef as he came to our table. We would not hesitate to recommend this spot to anyone and will return anytime we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracbridge, ON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

A lovely place for a special evening out. Pleasant staff, nice atmosphere and the food is awesome. Very popular so make reservations if going for dinner or you maybe disappointed. Prices are quite reasonable for the quality of food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2BeeHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed R&L Bistro also viewed

Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
Bracebridge, Muskoka District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing