We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Reviewed 27 June 2017

I basically had to stay here for a conference and had high hopes for the room as I told my room had been upgraded. The room felt dirty immediately as I walked in, real dirty. There was beverage splashes all over the door that had not been wiped down. The fridge had splashes inside. The floor felt dirty. I was nervous to use the bedding and towels. The bathroom felt gross. To top it all off, I used one of the towels on the very last day and a ball of dark hair was stuck inside the towel. Disgusting! This is clearly college dorm and I would not recommend every staying here. We paid $100 a night, and seriously this should be considered a hostel type hotel where you pay $20 bucks a night to stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristyG-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holli d, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding your recent stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to ours, or your, expectations. We are always working on improving all aspects of our business and your feedback is important to us.

I will bring this feedback to our director to review with our housekeeping company and maintenance staff.

If you'd like the opportunity to further discuss your experience with you, I can be reached directly at (519) 895 2272 x 102 or can be reached by e-mail hdelange@stayrcc.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017

Stayed here for the OACS conference from June 8-11, 2017. Check-in was a nightmare as they initially assigned a room that was dirty, full of garbage and had obviously not been cleaned by housekeeping. We were finally given a room. Frankly, rooms were poorly maintained. Exposed electric wires in the bathroom were covered by duct tape. There was supposed to be light housekeeping but no one showed on the second day of our stay.There was little evidence that the residence had been maintained.

I wonder if this had anything to do with the large contingent of international students who attend this campus of Conestoga. They may not have any other experience to compare with and so accept the poor conditions.

Room Tip: I doubt if there is a "good room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holli d, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding recent stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to ours, or your, expectations. We are always working on improving all aspects of our business and your feedback is important to us.

I will bring this feedback to our director to review with our housekeeping company and maintenance staff.

If you'd like the opportunity to further discuss your experience with you, I can be reached directly at (519) 895 2272 x 102 or can be reached by e-mail hdelange@stayrcc.com.

I do hope you will give us a second chance and stay with us again. I know your next visit will be much more comfortable & enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

This gets a three only because the staff was so very nice and because the bed was very comfortable.

Apart from that....

Well, this place is getting old and has seen some very hard usage by university students.

Cigarette burns and other mars or tears on floors, rugs and furniture. Vertical blinds that have been damaged and don't close properly.

Calcium deposits on faucets and bathroom shower controls.

Loud party noises in the room(s) next door and out in the hallwsy.

All of which are only to be expected in a student residence.

I will not go into the details of the first room we were given, apart from that we had to change after being in it for now more than half an hour.

As my friend said, for what we paid we could have got a really nice room at the Hilton on our corporate/government rate.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JLicharson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holli d, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding your recent stay. We welcome all feedback both positive and negative we receive as they only help us improve in areas needed.

We are happy to hear you found the staff helpful and the beds comfortable.

We recently renovated over 100 of traditional style rooms, if you’re willing to give us a second chance I think you would be happy with our newly renovated traditional hotel rooms. We hope to renovate our private two bedroom style rooms in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Went as a couple to be on hand for a Guelph family reunion and Mothers' Day. 401 convenient but not noisy ! Friendly 24-hour attendant, commodious, more than ample towels, bedding, free WiFi, Rogers channels, well-lit bathroom, nicely appointed, and VERY economical (two queen beds for way under $100 / night, and available in semi-private apartment format; i.e. a bed per room, shared bath, kitchenette). Only 34 minutes to Guelph along nice country roads if you take the 401 back to 278 and keep jogging north-east). Only drawback: overhead lighting only - take a USB lamp or something. Bottom line: why spend all your money on swank when this is clean, tidy, and you sleep as well or better than in a four-star hotel?

Room Tip: South-west rooms are likely somewhat quieter. For privacy just be conscious of the window-blind if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holli d, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello Gary,

Thank you very much for writing such an informative review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our free amenities and services. We aim to make our guest experience as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and appreciate the time you taken to notice.

Thank you for your suggestion of having a night side lamp. We will certainly take note of this.

We hope to welcome you back again! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We enjoyed the staff very much especially our shuttle driver. He took us even though we were not business people. If he was not busy he showed us around and took us to places we wanted to go no charge. We tipped him. The breakfast was like all places but the ladies working it made It special. The downside was the beds had adjustable thing that was noisy and for some reason I could not adjust it back.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holli d, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello Cynthia

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon! I am sorry to hear you had trouble with you bed, we will look into this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitchener hotels
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
772 reviews
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
741 reviews
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Knights Inn Kitchener
#10 of 14 in Kitchener
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo

Address: 99 Conestoga College Blvd, Kitchener, Ontario N2P 2N5, Canada (Formerly Conestoga Residence & Conference Centre)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range: ₹ 3,411 - ₹ 4,966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, located off of highway 401, provides you with spacious and affordable kitchenette suites. Suites are equipped with two double beds and a kitchenette complete with microwave, refrigerator, sink and counter space. Furnished suites with Wi-FI, Cable TV and local calls at very low rates. Extended stay discounted rates available! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing