We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
9
26
11
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
26
11
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifikitchenetteconestogaaccommodationamenitiesrateslamphighwayhilton
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Stayed here for the OACS conference from June 8-11, 2017. Check-in was a nightmare as they initially assigned a room that was dirty, full of garbage and had obviously not been cleaned by housekeeping. We were finally given a room. Frankly, rooms were poorly maintained. Exposed electric wires in the bathroom were covered by duct tape. There was supposed to be light housekeeping but no one showed on the second day of our stay.There was little evidence that the residence had been maintained.

I wonder if this had anything to do with the large contingent of international students who attend this campus of Conestoga. They may not have any other experience to compare with and so accept the poor conditions.

Room Tip: I doubt if there is a "good room"
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holli d, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding recent stay. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We are sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to ours, or your, expectations. We are always working on improving all aspects of our business and your feedback is important to us.

I will bring this feedback to our director to review with our housekeeping company and maintenance staff.

If you'd like the opportunity to further discuss your experience with you, I can be reached directly at (519) 895 2272 x 102 or can be reached by e-mail hdelange@stayrcc.com.

I do hope you will give us a second chance and stay with us again. I know your next visit will be much more comfortable & enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

This gets a three only because the staff was so very nice and because the bed was very comfortable.

Apart from that....

Well, this place is getting old and has seen some very hard usage by university students.

Cigarette burns and other mars or tears on floors, rugs and furniture. Vertical blinds that have been damaged and don't close properly.

Calcium deposits on faucets and bathroom shower controls.

Loud party noises in the room(s) next door and out in the hallwsy.

All of which are only to be expected in a student residence.

I will not go into the details of the first room we were given, apart from that we had to change after being in it for now more than half an hour.

As my friend said, for what we paid we could have got a really nice room at the Hilton on our corporate/government rate.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JLicharson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holli d, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review regarding your recent stay. We welcome all feedback both positive and negative we receive as they only help us improve in areas needed.

We are happy to hear you found the staff helpful and the beds comfortable.

We recently renovated over 100 of traditional style rooms, if you’re willing to give us a second chance I think you would be happy with our newly renovated traditional hotel rooms. We hope to renovate our private two bedroom style rooms in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Went as a couple to be on hand for a Guelph family reunion and Mothers' Day. 401 convenient but not noisy ! Friendly 24-hour attendant, commodious, more than ample towels, bedding, free WiFi, Rogers channels, well-lit bathroom, nicely appointed, and VERY economical (two queen beds for way under $100 / night, and available in semi-private apartment format; i.e. a bed per room, shared bath, kitchenette). Only 34 minutes to Guelph along nice country roads if you take the 401 back to 278 and keep jogging north-east). Only drawback: overhead lighting only - take a USB lamp or something. Bottom line: why spend all your money on swank when this is clean, tidy, and you sleep as well or better than in a four-star hotel?

Room Tip: South-west rooms are likely somewhat quieter. For privacy just be conscious of the window-blind if you choose a ground-floor room.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holli d, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello Gary,

Thank you very much for writing such an informative review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our free amenities and services. We aim to make our guest experience as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and appreciate the time you taken to notice.

Thank you for your suggestion of having a night side lamp. We will certainly take note of this.

We hope to welcome you back again! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We enjoyed the staff very much especially our shuttle driver. He took us even though we were not business people. If he was not busy he showed us around and took us to places we wanted to go no charge. We tipped him. The breakfast was like all places but the ladies working it made It special. The downside was the beds had adjustable thing that was noisy and for some reason I could not adjust it back.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holli d, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello Cynthia

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon! I am sorry to hear you had trouble with you bed, we will look into this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Feel like a student again, but not really convenient when travel with children and you're in need of a good sleep after a long trip / airplane flight.
Sooo dated, so basic, cheaper than anything around and nothing else to say.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HariSeldon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holli d, Manager at Residence & Conference Centre - Kitchener-Waterloo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your comments and feedback do not go unnoticed.

I am delighted to inform you that we have just finished renovating over 100 of our traditional hotel suites - these rooms are much more modern with new furniture & beds.

We also renovated our games room which has free pool & foosball tables and our movie lounge which features a real movie theatre screen & seats! Families with children have been loving this new space!

We hope you will consider us again, in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews