We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Good Food, Excellent service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockford Restaurant

Rockford Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 102 Restaurants in Owen Sound
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
“Very Good Food, Excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I go out to eat about twice a month. About every third time we go to to the Rockford. The menu is has quite a range of choices, though a little heavy on the pork side. Everything is always cooked to perfection, and the sauces delicious (perhaps a bit generous). One of our tests for a well cooked meal is when the second and third bite are better then the first (how do chiefs do that?), this restaurant passes that test with flying colours. You have to love the owner/operator.

jim

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best service and value in Owen Sound area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The outside of this restaurant and the indoor decor, do not represent the amazing menu.
My husband do not go out for dinner very often as we cook great meals at home The Rockford menu has a wide variety of food including lamb, curry, schnitzel and stir fry. The dessert menu is heavenly and the service is exceptional.

We have been many times and never experienced bad service as described by one other.
Bring your appetite the portions are HUGE!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not Fancy But Truly a Superior Taste Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have eaten here a few times and we are never disappointed. From the outside this restaurant looks like it should be a gas bar with a gas bar restaurant inside but what a surprise when you taste the food. The first thing you will notice as you enter is that "fancy" it is not. Once you get over the very plain look of this restaurant it will not take you very long to feel relaxed and comfortable as the servers and the owner are very hospitable and attentive.
There is lots of schnitzel on the menu but also many other items such as stir frys, rack of lamb, many chicken dishes and other than soup of the day, they also have two other choices of soups. I have had their garlic soup and it is to die for ... so good.
On this evening I ordered the half rack of lamb. It was done perfectly, not overcooked and was crusted with herbs and pepper. It came with a rositto which was also delicious, fresh brocolli and cauliflower and a side caesar. Some of the people we were there with had ordered the schnitzel, all different types and they all loved their meal. One person had the chicken stir fry and not only was it very tasty but it looked so nice with all of the colours in the stir fry. Everyone did their best to eat as much as they could but the servings are very large and we ended up taking some of the meal home.
The desserts were also very yummy. I had a chocolate pudding type of cake which melted in my mouth. Other people tried dessert and no one was disappointed.
This is definetally a place you should be going out to. The food experience is totally over the top and you would never guess it by driving by ... so stop in and have a meal. They are only open Wednesday through Sunday evening and are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays ... a well deserved break as they always seem to be quite busy.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Summerpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“schnitzel to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

If you are a schnitzel lover you have to try the Rockford restaurant. It has many different types of schnetzel---all yummy
I haven' t had their seafood crepe but I heard it is great as well. Very reasonably priced

If you are on your way to Sauble Beach or Tobermory it is on the four corners at
Rockford

WELL WORTH THE STOP

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

The restaurant is cool during the winter months. The food is excellent. The price is fair. We asked for separate bills, but the waiter just split the total bill in half. It did not represent what each couple ordered.

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockford Restaurant also viewed

 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Rockford Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing