We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting bit of history”

Billy Bishop Home & Museum
Ranked #10 of 21 things to do in Owen Sound
Attraction details
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This museum being in the Bishop home makes it really nice. There are plenty of original items in the home and some replicas of originals (to preserve the original item, like letters). But I was disappointed when I saw little signs saying the item I was looking at wasn't actually from the home but something very much like what the family would have used.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Savytraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hero"
in 5 reviews
"wwi"
in 3 reviews
"canadian"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 5 reviews
"pilot"
in 2 reviews
"exhibits"
in 3 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2016

It always is a treat to step into the past, figuratively, and see history come alive. I know that I have a deeper appreciation for and understanding of Bishop's WWI contributions as a result of this museum - and so does my daughter. I was especially impressed by how thoroughly the museum explains Bishop's later contributions to society and the RCAF, after the war. The city of Owen Sound should financially invest in this property, given the historical signifance of Bishop to Canadian history.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank MaraInTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Great museum. It has a nice set up and good displays and information. It is nicely maintained and a great place to go if you want to learn about Canadian heritage or just want to do something interesting.

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank Laska L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Self guided tour. Stairs. There is wheelchair accessible at the back of the house. Canada is so fortunate to have such a character. We are lucky to still have his boyhood home. I would have liked to see what young Billy's bedroom would have looked liked. But, great displays for all wars and all of our military. It is nonetheless a real iconic gem to see. Beautiful area to visit is a real plus. Spread your wings and visit Canada's WWI air ace!! ✈

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank PiperGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Never mind Billy Bishop for a moment. This house appears the way it did way back in the early 1900's. It has been restored faithfully and many family belongings remain. Billy Bishop's family life and military career are detailed. He was a pioneer military aviator. Canada was a colony of Great Britain back then and many Canadians died in the first great war.

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy Bishop Home & Museum also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Billy Bishop Home & Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing