We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place to stay in Canmore!”
Review of Paintbox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paintbox Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Canmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay in Canmore!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Paintbox Lodge is a small and cosy hotel,but the rooms are big and the beds are awsome:-) The owners and the rest of the staff do an excellent job on making you feel welcome. Great breakfast served in the combined citchen and lounge. If you like Tapas,there is a very good restaurant just next door. We will be back!

Room Tip: It is in a quiet area,so my guess would be that every room is a good one:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SiriSandnes_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. For those looking for excellent dining, Tapas is right next door to the Paintbox Lodge and has been voted the most romantic place to eat in Canmore a few years running.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
122
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in February at my brother's recommendation (who lives in Canmore). We were not disappointed! The bed was wonderfully soft and cozy, without hurting my back, the tub was a wonderful, deep soaker tub and in the Studio Suite we had a view of my favorite mountains, The Three Sisters (although partially blocked by the building across the street - but no big deal).
The owner, Tom, was nice, gracious and friendly, putting out wonderful homemade breakfast fare for the guests each day. I'm gluten intolerant, but had zero problem with the granola, homemade yogurt and bacon from the local butcher. We had a great weekend, and we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Studio Suite is small. Fine for two people, but not a lot of room for storing clothes. We were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontrealtoCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the studio suite and the granola! The studio suite is our smallest suite and we appreciate the feedback on storage space. We will see if we can make some improvements. We look forward to you visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

What a jewel this boutique bed and breakfast is! Our stay was perfection from beginning to end! The rooms were lovely, spotless, comfortable and indescribably charming. We had a romantic birthday couples weekend here and stayed in The Loft suite which was perfect for just such an occasion; I would highly recommend it! The location is second to none in Canmore, tucked away privately in the heart of the downtown if that's even possible to imagine! We were within walking distance of everything we came to enjoy: shops, restaurants, nightlife, dogsled tours etc. etc. Mallory was simply wonderful, so friendly and accommodating, we absolutely loved her! Especially after I had inadvertently caused the coffee machine to go into its descale cycle :( requiring her to follow it through for me for half an hour just so I might enjoy my morning coffee! Thomas and Sara were very gracious, friendly and so very flexible in making us comfortable. We instantly felt at home, yet pampered as well. I must admit though, I was not just a little star struck by each of them and their elite athletic/Olympic/World Cup status. To tie the whole weekend up with a bow, we just happened to be staying at The Paintbox Lodge the very weekend of the Canmore Winter Festival; what a coup that was! Thomas was MC for the children's cross country skiing races down main street, which we watched from the sunny deck of a local watering hole while enjoying a draft in the bright winter afternoon sunshine. However, I digress! Long story short, you must experience these lovely lodgings firsthand. The homemade, gourmet breakfast food offerings were scrumptious right from the homemade yogurt to the mouth watering fritattas and back bacon, homemade preserves, muffins, granola and bread. You simply must enjoy "The Box" - as it is affectionately known to locals! We shall definitely be back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astutemarquise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for your kind and heartfelt words and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. This is our second year as "hoteliers" since retiring from Olympic Sport. We aspire to make the Paintbox Lodge feel like our favorite hotels we stayed in while we were ski racing in Europe.

Canmore is amazing in the place to be in for the winter carnival. Where else do they put snow on the main street so people can cross country ski?

Hope to see you again.

Sincerely,

Sara Renner. Thomas Grandi and Mallory Deyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Talking to two-time World Cup Champion skier Thomas Grandi made the experience for me. So interesting and so accomplished and so humble. Plus a terrific cook. I learned a lot about the psychology of winning -- you have to be willing to take risks and be scared! And when you have a bad run, be professional! Instead of shaking it off, analyze what you did wrong and what you need to do differently next time. Recommit, refocus, and bring yourself to a whole new level.
All that world class inspiration on top of a lovely place to stay! How unique is that!

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryCandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Glad you enjoyed some tips on ski racing with your morning frittata. It was a pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Myself and two girlfriends stayed in the Cabin Suite on the main floor for the August long weekend in 2011. It was a wonderful, unique accommodation, so close to downtown we could pop in and stow our shopping bags and go out again. We were spoiled by our breakfast chef, who made apple cinnamon French toast and eggs benedict. We were addicted to the European coffee machine! An intimate, relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanmorePaintboxLodge, Owner at Paintbox Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Glad you enjoyed the girls weekend, breakfast, the cabin suite and of course, that Miele Coffee Station. Hope to see the crew again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
1.5 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
1.4 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
0.6 km away
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#9 of 29 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
8.7 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.9 km away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paintbox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paintbox Lodge

Property: Paintbox Lodge
Address: 629 10 St, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,780 - ₹ 17,084
Hotel Class:3 star — Paintbox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paintbox Lodge is an intimate boutique hotel nestled in the heart of downtown Canmore owned by Olympic medalist, Sara Renner and World Cup Champion, Thomas Grandi. The Paintbox Lodge is a reflection of the local champions - relaxed, welcoming and professional. Experience one of our five unique, comfortable suites and rooms. Conversations flow easily around the harvest table while guests enjoy a complimentary mountain breakfast with a latte. Sign up for a scheduled cooking class, or book a private cooking class, harvest table dinner or tapas party for you and your friends and family. Come play, (or simply relax) in our backyard paradise. Gift certificates available for hotel stays and cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paintbox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paintbox Hotel Canmore
Paintbox Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing