We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best looking Resort in Canmore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We stayed at the Solara Resort and Spa in Canmore for 3 nights. Our unit had 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a fully equipped kitchen.

We had a problem when we first booked on the Internet We had made reservations for a 3 bedroom unit, but they had a glitch with their system and our reservation didn't go through. They said they tried to call, but no one did because we had no messages on our phones (cell and home) and by email. When we noticed the reservation didn't go through, we made a great effor to find us something else and they did.

Solara in Canmore is located outside of the village, at a 15 minute drive to Banff's National Park and a 45 minute drive to Lake Louise. You can find everything needed close by (grocery stores) and Canmore offers many activities (which we did in Banff instead of Canmore),

There was also a housekeeping service provided, but besides doing our bed, I don't know what they did.

Our only disappointment was that our balcony (which was very large) was right over the outdoors air conditionning system for the whole Resort so, since the Resort is large, the unit was large and it was very very loud. We expexted to have quietness, but instead, we had the A/C unit 24/7. We couldn't keep our windows open since it was so loud.

If you go, don't ask for a unit in the inner part of the Resort, as to be by the street. I'm pretty sure it's quieter.

Room Tip: Unit overlooking the road is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie9757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 305 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We loved staying in Canmore at the Solara Resort and Spa while touring around Banff and Lake Louise. The condo was so nice and comfortable. We enjoyed the town of Canmore also - lots of cute shops and fun restaurants.
Our condo had beautiful views of the mountains from the balcony and from every window. The kitchen was was furnished, and we had 2 fireplaces and 3 tv's!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank kyzarmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Your initial look at this "hotel" will be shock at how nice it is, but that's on the surface. Once you start to settle you'll see that it likely hasn't been cleaned in a month. The dust in this place could make a quilt. When I pulled back the duvet to go to bed, there was someones hair all over the sheet, and also a perfect lipstick kiss right on the duvet. It's not a difficult task to clean a room, but apparently it is for the staff at the Solara. The room itself was large and spacious, it was a great place for 6 of us to stay - in theory - as it has three large bedrooms. But if I go back to Canmore, the Solara would be the last on my list. Even the couches were all torn, the table was sticky, the glasses were all dirty and had to be washed before using them. For how much you spend on a night here, I'd expect more. There was also a wedding party who decided to wake everyone up at 3 am, and while I'm always down for a good party, it literally sounded like they were in my room. So I'd say the walls are thin in that aspect.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarbear6r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

It should have dawned on me when the front desk told me I had a room assigned but they refused to tell me whether it had a view that I would be in trouble on this one. They told me that I could "pay more" for a "better view" but that no other rooms were available. I decided to chance it, and found out that in this area of Canada where you are completely surrounded on three sides by mountains, that the only view from my Solara room was into the living rooms of the condos in the next building. There is no food at all at this place, and it's not actually in downtown Canmore; it's down the block from the auto parts store and the Ford dealership, in the 'burbs. They offer free bikes because you can't actually walk anywhere. Other problems: we asked several times that the hotel resupply things like soap and toilet tissue, I had to finally stand at the front desk until they went and got some. And they wouldn't honor the price we got from booking.com when we checked in, the only explanation being that their "price was their price." We made two more trips to the front desk -- just what we wanted to be doing on vacation -- and finally got them to alter it. Altogether, although the room itself was fine, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Shain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This resort was nicely situated a few minutes from the town and from the highway, totally quiet at night and had all the amenities you could ask for. We had a 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom suite facing the three sisters mountains. It had 2 small decks with one having a BBQ. The rooms were well laid out and decorated nicely with a modern yet mountain style. There are so many options on outdoor activities once you get here, the week goes by quite quickly! Banff to the west and Kananaskis Country to the east and south.

Room Tip: Facing the mountains from a top floor is best although all rooms are terrific!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.1 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1 km away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#12 of 28 in Canmore
591 reviews
7.3 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,180 reviews
0.6 km away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: ₹ 7,484 - ₹ 30,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of Canada's top wellness resort situated in the heart of the stunning Canadian Rocky Mountains. Not your typical hotel this condo-hotel offers spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartment style condo units with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Take in the fresh mountain air on your own private balcony or terrace or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. All units feature wine fridges, fully stocked gourmet kitchens, fireplaces, electric bbqs, upgraded Kohler massage showers, complimentary WIFI, heated undergroung parking and more. The best rooms in the Canadian Rockies also provide access to Canmore's only movie theatre where Solara guests enjoy complimentary movies. In 2017 the pool area was renovated and now offers Canmore's largest hot tub. The attached One Wellness Spa offers massage and complimetary gym access to guests. Book on the property's own official website to avoid any disappointments and to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing