We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solara in Sunshine and Sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at the Solara Resort for 10 days - it was amazing, wonderful, awesome - do those signal a great place? We enjoyed a two bedroom suite with a superb view of the mountains, a layout that gave us all the amenities with a gourmet kitchen, a king sized bed in the master, a great ensuite and another bed and bath if required. The team at Solara gave us a great stay and One Wellness gave myself a wonderful massage, a relaxing sauna and steam bath. I feel that this resort gave us 100% and the weather gave us 100% as well ----- what more could you ask.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor facing the mountains ---- perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

814 - 818 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent 4 nights here's, two couples touring around BC and Alberta. The apartment was a good size and had all the home comforts you need. The master bedroom was ideal however the other two, each with king size beds were very cramped. The other two bedrooms had either the toilet or the shower.

The reception on arrival was quite basic and very matter of fact. We didn't use the gym, pool, cinema or spa although they looked ok. Some of the corridors were showing signs of wear with stained carpets and on two occasions the lift (we were on level 4) was out of order.

The apartments were only around 15 mins stroll from the main village area with restaurants, bars and shops, the main food shopping area around 5min drive away. Canmore itself is an ideal spot to base yourself for a week to get to look around this area up to Banff and Lake Louise. Plenty of hiking and cycling. A lovely friendly town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have a Ladies Weekend every year. We went in June & our stay was so horrible, that the resort offered me all our $$$ back OR if we came again, we would find a much better time. Upgraded to a three bdrm & onto the top floor was another free upgrade.

We once again returned to a dusty, filthy condo. Floors made our pale colored socks BLACK they were so dirty. We could write our names on any wall decorations, tops of couches, tops of lamps & tops of headboards. And LIGHTS?!? At least there was only nor lamp that did NOT work at all in the MB. In the LR, only one bulb worked in each lamp, kitchen has one burnt out light, as does the MB ensuite. Speaking of MB en suite, I found ONE medication on the ground, covered in dust & hair that did not belong to me.... Dare I wonder how long it sat for?? Thank goodness I found it & disposed Of said medication before a CHILD took it!! It was in plain view from my soaker tub, so I think that speaks Volumes about how well our suite has been looked after/cleaned!!!

We also did NOT recieve the "Welcome" phone all from front desk as we had had last time!

We love to sleep with our windows open for cool refreshing mtn air && did that the first night here... Well apparently, relaxing guests are NOT allowed to sleep in b/c at 0700, housekeeping was rolling their laundry tubs full of empties, & all sorts of bottles over a BRICK DRIVEWAY directly under my bedroom window! Manage to fall a bit back to sleep with my window closed, when the BFI trucks pull up!!! So forget trying to sleep!!! It's just not going to happen at Solara.
They promised better security, yet as I sit typing this at 220AM, my LAST NIGHT HERE, I have been listening to belligerent drunks since midnite!!!

I have come to the conclusion, that Solara WANTS to be known as a PARTY RESORT in Canmore. Because after two stays here, it's all the same GARBAGE. Nothing has gotten better && NOTHING has been fixed as promised after my last crummy stay here...

A word of advice, don't stay here & if you do, ask for your Money back, don't give Solara a second chance because it WILL be the same garbage ALL OVER AGAIN!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
6  Thank nixjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My spouse and I had found the Solara on-line, and were drawn in by it's claim to be a "5 star" resort in Canmore. The reality was less than the hype. Esthetically, it is a very beautiful place. Unfortunately, throughout the weekend, small things that in and of themselves would be acceptable built up to really disappoint us. Their is only one elevator that served our wing of 25 suites per floor, and it only worked intermittently. The room had dust in it so thick, you could write your name in it. It is a non-smoking resort, yet on our balcony at check-in were a half dozen empty beer bottles, one of them half full of cigarette butts. On Saturday evening, there was no hot water in the place for a shower. We had to complain three times to get staff up to our room to get our house-keeping done on the Saturday. When you pay for luxury, you expect it. While the staff were very friendly, I should not have to ask three times to get our unit cleaned. We won't return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a wonderful experience staying at the Solara. I highly recommend if you want luxury and excellent service. This is our second year staying with them and already made reservations for next year.
The best part for us the fact that its 'pet-friendly.'

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikesAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canmore
0.2 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.1 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.0 km away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,144 reviews
19.2 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: ₹ 9,024 - ₹ 34,487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of Canada's top wellness resort situated in the heart of the stunning Canadian Rocky Mountains. Not your typical hotel this condo-hotel offers spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartment style condo units with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Take in the fresh mountain air on your own private balcony or terrace or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. All units feature wine fridges, fully stocked gourmet kitchens, fireplaces, electric bbqs, upgraded Kohler massage showers, complimentary WIFI, heated undergroung parking and more. The best rooms in the Canadian Rockies also provide access to Canmore's only movie theatre where Solara guests enjoy complimentary movies. In 2017 the pool area was renovated and now offers Canmore's largest hot tub. The attached One Wellness Spa offers massage and complimetary gym access to guests. Book on the property's own official website to avoid any disappointments and to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing