We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much better!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I got a great deal on a 3 night stay after inquiring about purchasing our own condo at Solara. We had a one bedroom condo which has a complete kitchen with top of the line appliances, balcony with bbq, 2 fireplaces and a great shower! This is our second time staying at Solara (check out my first review) and this stay was much better!! There are still a few negatives but nothing that will keep us from staying here again. The condos are very spacious and fairly quiet. The only thing missing from the one bedroom units is the gorgeous soaker tub you see on the website. The shower is amazing though. Kitchens come with everything you need to cook, drink... whatever you want to do... minus the food of course. A tip... turn on the ice maker as soon as you step in the room. Grab your ice bucket and head to the front desk as it takes forever for the freezer to make ice. Staff at this resort are amazing!! Everyone says hi even if just passing them in the hallway. There is a movie theatre that plays two movies on the weekends: early time for a kiddie movie, late showing for a more adult movie. You can buy popcorn and snacks. What a great idea!
The disappointing part of Solara is the pool area. There is one hot pool, a wading pool and a kids splash zone. Everything is inside and all in the same area. If you have a family then perhaps it is more inviting but for us nothing beats soaking in a hot pool outside on a cool evening.
Another negative... it is very hard and seemingly awkward to get anywhere in the resort from your room. In order to get to the front desk, spa, gym from our building (Aurora) we had to walk through the parking garage and a construction zone, through a door that was possibly just for staff. Not sure if there are plans to change this or not.
One Wellness Spa is located inside Solara and is the best spa in Canmore. My husband got a massage and I got a pedicure. Beautiful facility, excellent staff. They have a huge steam room and sauna that are free to use if you're getting a treatment at the spa or $25 for the day if you just want to relax in them. We also used the huge gym near the spa which has all equipment that you would use at home and more!
Solara is still expected to add a restaurant and a Farmer's Market which means you would never have to leave.
Overall, we would definitely stay at Solara again. The positives definitely outweigh the negatives. I'm excited to see the next phase of this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Callaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for the delightful review of Solara Resort and Spa!

We're very excited about the offerings at our Resort and we're happy that you share the same excitement. There's so much value that our guests get out of Solara. The fully equipped suites allow for you and your guests to cook your own meals and the in-suite washer and dryer are great for extended stays. We play free movies every evening at 7:00pm in our 96-seat movie theatre. Our hot tub and splash park area is a great place for families and we've reserved that hours from 9:00pm to 11:00pm as a quiet time for guests looking to enjoy some relaxation time.

Plans are under way which will include a restaurant as well as a hallway that directly connects the Aurora building to the amenity space.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. There are great things happening at Solara Resort and Spa and we're looking forward to share them with you again soon. Remember to mention that you have stayed with us when booking so that we can extend a special repeat guest discount to you.

Warm regards,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

899 - 903 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

This past weekend was our second time visiting Solara. The first time was last August, 2011 and their spa, pools, etc. were not yet completed. We still loved our first stay and decided to come back during the winter for a mini getaway ski trip and I loved it even more! The staff were attentive and friendly and were able to accommodate our late check out request without any issues so that we would not be rushed after our spa treatments the day of our check out. The property is gorgeous! The suites are a very comfortable size with gorgeous new kitchen amenities, gas fireplaces, BBQ on the balcony...it was all just very nice and clean. We had such a relaxing time and I can't wait to come back for our 3rd stay! I would love to consider this resort as a place for us to get married in the next year or so :) :) :)

Room Tip: First time we stayed in an Aurora suite, and this past weekend we were in a Bow suite. Both were lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you for your review. We love this place too!

Things have certainly progressed well since your first visit and the property is looking amazing. We're very happy that you enjoy our resort as much as you do. Our team works hard at making sure your stay is an exceptional one. I'd like to invite you to check us out on Facebook so that you can stay up to date on the latest deals and contests... including our popular Trivia Tuesday contest that runs every Tuesday! It's also a nice way to upload any pictures from your stay.

Again, Thank You from all of us here at Solara Resort and Spa.

Kindest regards,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed this weekend for another doggie trip with the hubby. We jump from Solara to Hidden Ridge depending on who we are with. We prefer Solara only because of the location now - as we are only a 2 min drive to the Spray Lakes offleash dog park.

I was hoping the 2nd time around at Solara, that the kinks would be worked out that we originally had. CLEANLINESS and HEAT issues.

I have already put forth my concerns to the hotel - however for such a nice and swanky resort - it is disappointing to see it poorly managed as some of the reviews have stated.

Our first stay was at the Aurora - and this time, we got to stay at the Bow. Unlike the Aurora, our elevator and suite were very close - so no need to walk 10 rooms to get to our room.

We showed up and the suite looked clean, but as soon as you took off your shoes - you can feel the dirt and grime of the floor. NO it isn't because of the cork floor! I spilt some water on the floor one time giving water to my dogs - and we wiped it with towel and the towel was all dirt! It seemed the housekeepers vacuumed, but did not take the time to mop. Blech. So I wore my shoes most of the trip or my socks (which were grey by the end of the day).

I went out to take a look at the scenery of the balcony - and voila, ALMOST stepped into dog poop! It was not even my own dogs! I noticed the bbq was right by the door and the cover strewn on the patio .. the housekeepers probably forgot to clean the patio too.

One thing that was great, the shower/tub combo worked amazing!

However similar to my first visit, the heating was a problem. When we checked in around 4pm, our room was set for 18 degrees however it registered the temperature at 25! Sooooo hot! We turned on the thermostats fan and it didn't help at all. Once again we opened every single window in the complex, and by 2am, it finally dropped to 21 degrees, a comfortable temperature to which we finally were able to sleep.

It kind of sucked as it was -10 almost by night.. so it was sooooo cold near the window but yet the unit was sooooo hot - it was frustrating for sure.

So will we visit Solara again - we might - as it is a gorgeous place. It just has sooo many kinks that need to be worked out to make it worth the money to visit. We were hoping going in the winter - that the temperature wouldn't be an issue.

Hidden Ridge Resort in Banff is the same qualitiy, bigger and everything functions there. The drive to Canmores offleash is a pain - however they have open areas to walk your dogs to go to the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunjoyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband, 2 children and I stayed here in february 2012. The apartment was absolutely beautiful, with top of the range appliances and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We are trying to get the same bed for home! We spent a morning in the spa and were very happy with the facilities and more importantly it was very clean. It was close to the ski resort and the town centre had everything we needed. I really am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sm411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for your glowing review of Solara Resort and Spa!

We're thrilled to hear that you loved the bed and appreciated the high-end appliances. It's these touches that make Solara stand out from the crowd. Thank you for choosing to stay here. Be sure to mention that you are a returning guest when booking your next stay and we will extend a special repeat guest discount on your reservation.

Again, thank you for your review and contributing to the TripAdvisor community.

Warm regards,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We just came back from a romantic weekend in Canmore. We stayed in a two-bedroom suite, which was larger than we needed, but it was beautiful. The check-in and check-out staff were very friendly and helpful. The suite was absolutely spotless and has very high quality finishes and appliances. For longer stays it would be great to bring wine and some groceries to make more use of the kitchen. We tried out the exercise facility in the spa building which was bright and new with top quality equipment and a great view.
We drove into downtown for dinner and lunch - there are a lot of great places to choose from in Canmore, and afterwards walked around and looked in some of the galleries and furniture shops. It's a lot less commercialized than Banff. It isn't a long walk to get downtown, but in the winter it would be a bit of a slog since there isn't a sidewalk for part of the way.
We signed up for late check-out (at 5pm) which was going to cost $55, but as we checked out at about 1pm, the staff person removed the extra charge without our even asking. 1pm is a pretty late check-out compared with most places anyway. We also arrived a bit early for check-in (3pm) and didn't have any trouble getting into our room.
The only problem with our trip was that it was too short, and we should have planned ahead and picked up some cream for our morning coffees.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellstarRDM, Rooms Division Manager at Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your review of our Resort.

Among all of the vacation accommodations available in the area Solara Resort and Spa is standing out from the crowd and is recognized as one of the most unique experiences in the Bow Valley. We're very happy to hear that you got a chance to experience this for yourself and we're especially grateful that you have taken the time to share it with the TripAdvisor community.

We have new sales and promotions being released all the time. Please join our eClub newsletter by visiting our website and become the first to know of these deals before they are released to the general public and sell out.

Thank you once again for your review.

Sincerely,
Deryk Spina
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canmore
0.2 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
0.1 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
1.0 km away
Grande Rockies Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,144 reviews
19.2 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 28 in Canmore
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range: ₹ 9,026 - ₹ 34,497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience one of Canada's top wellness resort situated in the heart of the stunning Canadian Rocky Mountains. Not your typical hotel this condo-hotel offers spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartment style condo units with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Take in the fresh mountain air on your own private balcony or terrace or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. All units feature wine fridges, fully stocked gourmet kitchens, fireplaces, electric bbqs, upgraded Kohler massage showers, complimentary WIFI, heated undergroung parking and more. The best rooms in the Canadian Rockies also provide access to Canmore's only movie theatre where Solara guests enjoy complimentary movies. In 2017 the pool area was renovated and now offers Canmore's largest hot tub. The attached One Wellness Spa offers massage and complimetary gym access to guests. Book on the property's own official website to avoid any disappointments and to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Resort & Spa - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts Canmore, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing