We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new no frills motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice new no frills motel”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Good complimentary breakfast. Contemporary (if basic) interior. Clean room, bathroom could be cleaner.
Would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    51
    44
    21
    14
See reviews for
47
61
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The room was too hot (in December) on the second floor and as a result didn't get very much sleep. The TV keep on changing channels by itself and the WIFI was very week. The only WIFI access point appeared to be in the lobby. This fact was confirmed by the number of guests trying to connect near the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David99731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hinton hotels

Madrid
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Hinton is not really nice but the hotel was just fine: Check-in was easy and swift, the room large and clean. WiFi available as in almost every canadian hotel, without extra charge. The bathroom was also nice and clean, no bad surprises on this one.
The breakfast offered at the hotel is really, really, american: cardboard/plastic dished and cutlery, cereal, milk, toast, muffins, coffee, juice and tea. Nevertheless not many hotels on our trip offered an included breakfast, so it is worth mentioning.

For dinner we went to Boston Pizza, a 200m walk across the road, the food there was really excellent!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MD-11P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We thought it was a good place because of the price but when you walk in there you can tell there is something wrong. Consumer service was bad and worst of all! There were fleas in the bed!! I will NEVER stay there again! We left as soon as we seem them and all they said was "oh sorry" thats it!!!!! DONT STAY HERE

Room Tip: never stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristavander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed one night passing through. Booked the room months in advance, called and reconfirmed a week before arrival. Got to the hotel and they have no record of the reservation. They gave us a room anyways at a higher rate. When we go to the room it was filthy. Went back to the front desk and interupted the rude person at the desk, They gave us an upgraded room with a jaccuzi. The tub was so dirty you couldn't use it. They charged us for both rooms and now a month later still trying to get my money back. Never again!

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hinton hotels
1.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
3.6 km away
BCMInns - Hinton
BCMInns - Hinton
#1 of 17 in Hinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.9 km away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#5 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Twin Pine Motor Inn
Twin Pine Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.4 km away
Days Inn Hinton
Days Inn Hinton
#14 of 17 in Hinton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge & Suites
Address: 571 Gregg Ave, Hinton, Alberta T7V 1N1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Hinton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Hinton
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,254 - ₹ 6,835
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Black Bear Inn in Hinton, Alberta, we make it our job to ensure that you will wake up feeling refreshed when you stay in any of our 60 well-appointed rooms. We value the lifestyles that you are accustomed to and we have incorporated this in the design of our facilities. We are located in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, just 15 minutes from Jasper National Park and 3 hours from Edmonton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel
Econo Lodge & Suites Hinton, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing