We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
106
61
18
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
61
18
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly owners picnic tables tile flooring saltwater pool new owners great shower free upgrade full kitchen walking distance to restaurants clean rooms main st dog beach would stay here again room was large short drive one night stay road trip
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Friendly helpful managers. Nice place. On a cold night the manager actually drove us to the local restaurant strip, even though it was a short walk.
If this couple were not the owners I would be very surprised as they gave delightful friendly service. Nothing really fancy , but good value for money.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Voyager617313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsoyoosLakeview, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you for your kind words. We were happy to take you to the restaurant strip. We hope you come back and see us again next time you are out this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very basic. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were very lumpy. The wifi was not consistent. This property was not at all worth the price that we paid for the room.

There was no housekeeping - unless we were willing to pay an extra $25 per day. We were expected to take out all our own garbage and recycling. We were to be charged an extra $10 fee if any dishes were left unwashed. Yet they could not even be bothered to leave a box of kleenex or napkins in the room.

This property is not like a regular motel/hotel. It is more like a very short-term apartment rental.

Pros: Heated pool, close to a small beach, air conditioning, spacious room.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsoyoosLakeview, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

We are very competitive in our prices in our area. Sorry you found the bed uncomfortable. Mattresses are a very personal thing and it is hard to find 1 that suits everyone.

You are correct about the no housekeeping, we do not provide housekeeping for numerous reasons, one of which is that you would know your belongings are undisturbed when you leave your room to enjoy pool or lake. Garbage and Recycling to be taken out is more for our long term guests than our short term guests, and anything left in the room after checkout we do take out without any issue.

As for the kleenex (or as you stated, the lack of kleenex) there is a travel package of kleenex in each room, therefore if you needed to take it on the road with you it is more convenient.

As for dishes left unwashed, this is a common practice at places that provide kitchens that there is a charge if you leave dirty dishes.

We do the best we can to try to satisfy everyone's needs but like the saying goes, "you can't please everyone". We hope you had a good rest of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I booked this hotel solely on the basis of Trip Advisor Reviews because there is no website or AAA rating for this motel. I cannot agree with the over 4 rating or the Certificate of Excellence that has been awarded. This is an older property that is the equivalent of a 2 Star AAA rating. It is away from the main part of Osoyoos, is in a relatively quiet part of town, kids seemed to enjoy the pool and indeed we could see the Canada Day fireworks from the property, but not the lake as is implied by its name. Our room was tired, the mattress crunched when you moved, the shower ( a wand, not a shower head) temperature was barely adjustable (in fact it only provided stone cold water), the Wifi was the worst I have ever experienced, and the front door was a sliding patio door with a broken lock. We were woken up at 6 am when the tenants upstairs made so much noise simply from moving around and using the bathroom and shower. The price is a lot less than higher rated properties in this popular resort town, just be aware that you are not getting a bargain. I was really embarrassed by the fact that friends booked on the basis that we were there.

Room Tip: Insist on second floor room
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Drew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsoyoosLakeview, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We tried to accommodate you as best we could, including the downstairs request, on such a busy weekend. Sorry you did not feel we did as well as you would expect from higher priced places, if that is what you require then next time don't try to penny save and book into the higher priced places.

We do not rate ourselves but the ratings shown are based on previous guests reviews, and the value and service that they have (and will continue to) receive. This is an older property, yes, and some updates have been done and more updates are to take place. The pictures on line show the property as it is, there is no surprises.

There is indeed a view of the lake from the property, rooms don't have the same view as other rooms, but that is not something advertised as being promised.

As for noise, it is not always avoidable in a full motel, especially on a busy weekend (like Canada Day!). Also when you request a downstairs room, common-sense says there is a possibility you could hear some movement from above.

As for the broken door lock, it works fine but can sometimes be finicky, but I did show you how to work it.

As for the shower and wifi, everything is in working condition, obviously you had issues no one else stated they had during the weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

We paid US $144 per room per night during the week (unfortunately for 2 nights) for a clean but very basic, no frills no thrills room in this motel without a lake view, contrary to what's its name implies. The 2nd floor has a very minimal glimpse of the lake over another motel (The Safari Beach Motel, who has to have a primo view and I guess was later built on the waterfront, blocking the view from the one we stayed at) but on the first floor, you can't even see the lake, period. Pretty misleading, the LakeView name ought to be changed really. With regards to the room itself, it's dated, built with the cheapest possible materials (linoleum, formica, plastic...), basically an older Motel 6, but for 3 times the price. Only positive thing is that it is within a small walking distance to a nice beach located on the North of the (Safari Beach) motel that is blocking their view. Looking elsewhere would my strong recommendation, as they are plenty of motels with a real view, if you want one.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there choose the 2nd floor as you can't even see the lake from the first floor.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank FrenchyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsoyoosLakeview, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Sorry you were not satisfied with our motel. Glad you found it to be clean. The view of the lake is visible from different parts of our motel. We are very competitively priced in our market place for peak summer travel, close to the lake and downtown in a quieter area and with an outdoor saltwater pool. In your case, it is my understanding that you booked a 2 bedroom suite, which of course does add an extra cost to accommodate ALL your family into one suite.

In regards to our rooms, they all have been updated overtime and we continue to update as required. All rooms are at the standard that our ratings show on booking.com, where you booked from. Kitchens have been updated, some rooms have tile or laminate floors (not linoleum) and we do not have plastic furniture except outdoor chairs.

As for the motel name and the view as it is now has been the same for over 30 years and we have guests who have been coming back year after year since the beginning without complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the cottage for 3 nights during the week. Weather was 38 °C at the hottest. The 3 rooms in the cottage were perfect for our family of 4 along with my parents. There are 2 window air conditioning units. 1 in living room which cooled the main area and 1 bedroom if the door was kept open. The other air conditioner in the back bedroom worked to cool but was very loud like a train so bring ear plugs.

The kitchen was lovely and had all the comforts of home and we did not want for anything.

The picnic table and green space was enjoyed by everyone except for I often longed to see what was "beyond the hedge".

The children LOVED the pool which was extremely warm and clean but I'm sure during the busy weekeneds it could use one more umbrella.

A 5 minute walk to the beach and a little further is a splash park and school playground.

I would stay here again, the owners were friendly and I could only hope that next year they plant some nice flowers around the pool. Oh and I tried to stay off my device but there was a poor wifi signal for our androids.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank andreanfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsoyoosLakeview, Owner at Lakeview Motel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for your input, we are making improvements as we are able, and we'll certainly take your suggestions under consideration. Glad your whole family enjoyed the pool. Thanks for staying with us, we hope you come stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews