We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night out skiing”
Review of Grouse Mountain

Grouse Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 45.36*
and up
Grouse Mountain Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just 15 minutes from downtown Vancouver, Grouse Mountain attracts locals and tourists alike. During the summer, guests enjoy hiking, Zip Line Adventures, paragliding, sightseeing, lumberjack shows and more. In winter, we have skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, sleigh rides among many other activities. Grouse Mountain also features several different dining venues, from café style at Lupins to casual dining at Altitudes and fine dining as a guest at The Observatory. We also have a refuge for endangered wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 17 December 2017

So much do during the Christmas period on Grouse. Wish we had more time. Carolling, Skating, Skiing, Snow shoeing. It's brilliant.

3  Thank MTACCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your time up here and were able to take advantage of everything that we offer. If you didn't complete all of the activities you wanted to, at least you have an excuse to come back for another visit! We hope to see you on the mountain again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cable car"
in 323 reviews
"chair lift"
in 244 reviews
"bird show"
in 246 reviews
"gondola ride"
in 234 reviews
"ski lift"
in 172 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 197 reviews
"zip lining"
in 186 reviews
"lumber jack show"
in 93 reviews
"ice skating"
in 60 reviews
"grinder"
in 122 reviews
"wood carvings"
in 54 reviews
"canada place"
in 235 reviews
"grizzly bear"
in 60 reviews
"lumberjack shows"
in 44 reviews
"mountain top"
in 55 reviews
"fantastic views"
in 90 reviews
"free shuttle"
in 142 reviews
Filter

145 - 149 of 4,399 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017

Me, my husband and some friends went to "Peak of Christmas". My first thought is why is there only a family rate? We paid the same price for the two of us $89.90 as our friends with two children $89.95. Why not discount everyone's ticket by a few dollars. I feel this would make it more affordable and worth the money.
Thank goodness we had a clear night and could see the beautiful view of Vancouver.
The light walk was pretty, but be extremely careful as it is very very very icy. They do recommend snowshoes but of course you need to pay more money.
FYI... once the get to the top, you need a "free" ticket for visiting Santa which was sold out by 5pm for the night and the sleigh ride had a 3 hour wait! The ice skates cost $8.00 to rent!
We ended up doing the light walk and just looking around for a couple of hours.
Will I be paying $90 to go up the Peak of Christmas again, probably not.

2  Thank Maxine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during our Peak of Christmas. As this is an event that attracts a lot of families, we offer a discounted family ticket to make the visit more affordable at what can already be a very expensive time of year. We'll be sure to pass along your comments about pricing for all age categories for review for the 2018 event.

Because a large number of people access the Light Walk, the snow can become hard-packed and is why we recommend snowshoes. We do have snowshoe and skate rentals available, but if you have your own equipment, you're welcome to bring it up with you to save on the rental costs.

The Peak of Christmas is one of our busiest times of the year, and we implemented the time slots to visit Santa and go on the sleigh ride so guests don't have to wait outside in order to participate in these activities. By giving everyone a time slot, they can enjoy the other activities on the mountain and return at the specified time.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your comments, as we rely on feedback to help us improve. We hope to see you on the mountain again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We came to visit in September and were really looking forward to seeing what the mountain had to offer. However we left slightly disappointed. We loved seeing the wonderful Grizzly bears as it was highly unlikely we would see any in the wild.
We waited for the eco tour and were the only ones on it. We followed our guide who didn't seem to enjoy being a guide at all. We weren't sure if it was his sense of humour that made him sound so cynical, but there really wasn't much for him to show us and he seemed a little bit wasted.
We had been looking to the Bird of prey show but the benches were all cordoned off so presumably they were doing some work on them and the shows weren't being held - it would have been nice to have had some signs up saying so.
We talk a long walk up to the observatory to see the view from the top, but sadly there are no other walking trails as far as we could tell.
The only real high point was the Lumberjack show which was fantastic and very funny!
So really all there was for us to do was see the Lumberjack show and look at the grizzlies. Not really worth what we paid.
Also bring your own food - the poutain in the canteen was awful and the gravy was cold, plus we had to wait forever as there was a huge school trip who had taken it over.

Thank emtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed the Lumberjack Show and seeing Grinder and Coola, but we're sorry to hear that you left feeling slightly disappointed with the rest of your visit.

As we near the end of the summer season, the weather doesn't always cooperate with us and some activities may be postponed or cancelled because of this. We weren't conducting any work on the Birds in Motion area at the time of your visit, so I'm thinking this may have been the case. We communicate these changes with our guests whenever we can, but as the weather can change quite quickly, this isn't always possible.

In regards to your other comments, we ask that you give us a call at 604-980-9311 so we can further discus your experience as we appreciate all feedback to help us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The ride up the mountain moves faster than I expected. The view going up to the mountain was AMAZING!! Once on top, there is the option to continue up to the peak or hang out there. There are different activities. Then ride back down Wold highly recommend.

Thank Stacee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

I couldn't agree more that the views of Vancouver from the Skyride and top of the mountain are absolutely breathtaking! We're glad you had an amazing view and enjoyed your time on the mountain. Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us--we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Yesterday we arrived at grouse mountain with my baby and four year old for a night of Christmas fun. We arrived around 5pm and had booked a reservation for the observatory. We were planning to go on the sleigh ride before dinner. We were turned away first time and was told to come back and they will try to squeeze us in otherwise the closest is 8:40pm! We came back after dinner and we were told the 7:20pm group is too big and we have no chance again! The wait is just ridiculously long and my little one was more than disappointed watching people get on and off the sleigh ride twice .

We headed over to the sliding zone and its hugely hazardous. People were sliding from the waiting line up and crashing into people in the line up. My four year old was one second away from being crashed by unruly people sliding in non designated areas. The GM personnel who witnessed whole incident did not respond according to such a dangerous act. We were so put off by the danger we left shortly after one try. We have been to Whistler or Callaghan park for tobogganing and have never had such a safety concern playing a supposedly fun and low safety sport. Please have better safety measures in place so people can enjoy the fun safely without being concerned about being run over. The line up was moving so slowly that people were finding their own dangerous ways of sliding in danger zone. It only takes a few more staff to ward off people and to move the line up along (ie not have people linger in the actual sliding zone) but they were not in sight.

The observatory is also a huge disappointment. The waiter seemed uninterested with us since we had no alcohol and had a baby and toddler. Didnt make small conversations, no warm welcome, no explanation of the menu, not offer to sit beside window, ....the menu is very limited with five options for entree. Service was slow. Stay away if you have other ways to go up the mountain without paying. The only reason we went was the complimentary ticket to go up if you reserve there.

All in all we were hugely disappointed in our experience at Grouse mountain. Lots of sights and sounds but none are accessible without hours of waiting or danger of being injured. I was considering of snow school for my little one but have changed my mind since I know this resort does not promote the safety of their guests.

Thank TH123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We appreciate your feedback and certainly this is not the experience we want for our guests visiting the Mountain. Safety is our top priority and your comments have been passed on to our Mountain Operations team to investigate and make appropriate adjustments to the Sliding Zone experience.

As you can imagine, this is a busy time of year for us with many visitors to our Peak of Christmas celebration. We value your feedback as it allows us to continue to refine the overall experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grouse Mountain also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Grouse Mountain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing