We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Grouse Mountain
from US$ 46.20
More Info
from US$ 94.93
More Info
from US$ 166.70
More Info
from US$ 259.40
More Info
Reviews (4,690)
Filter reviews
4,690 results
Traveller rating
2,690
1,375
415
123
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,690
1,375
415
123
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car bird show chair lift gondola ride ski lift birds of prey zip lining lumber jack show ice skating grinder canada place wood carvings lumberjack shows grizzly bear mountain top fantastic views free shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 4,690 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017

We came to visit in September and were really looking forward to seeing what the mountain had to offer. However we left slightly disappointed. We loved seeing the wonderful Grizzly bears as it was highly unlikely we would see any in the wild.
We waited for the eco tour and were the only ones on it. We followed our guide who didn't seem to enjoy being a guide at all. We weren't sure if it was his sense of humour that made him sound so cynical, but there really wasn't much for him to show us and he seemed a little bit wasted.
We had been looking to the Bird of prey show but the benches were all cordoned off so presumably they were doing some work on them and the shows weren't being held - it would have been nice to have had some signs up saying so.
We talk a long walk up to the observatory to see the view from the top, but sadly there are no other walking trails as far as we could tell.
The only real high point was the Lumberjack show which was fantastic and very funny!
So really all there was for us to do was see the Lumberjack show and look at the grizzlies. Not really worth what we paid.
Also bring your own food - the poutain in the canteen was awful and the gravy was cold, plus we had to wait forever as there was a huge school trip who had taken it over.

Thank emtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed the Lumberjack Show and seeing Grinder and Coola, but we're sorry to hear that you left feeling slightly disappointed with the rest of your visit.

As we near the end of the summer season, the weather doesn't always cooperate with us and some activities may be postponed or cancelled because of this. We weren't conducting any work on the Birds in Motion area at the time of your visit, so I'm thinking this may have been the case. We communicate these changes with our guests whenever we can, but as the weather can change quite quickly, this isn't always possible.

In regards to your other comments, we ask that you give us a call at 604-980-9311 so we can further discus your experience as we appreciate all feedback to help us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The ride up the mountain moves faster than I expected. The view going up to the mountain was AMAZING!! Once on top, there is the option to continue up to the peak or hang out there. There are different activities. Then ride back down Wold highly recommend.

Thank Stacee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

I couldn't agree more that the views of Vancouver from the Skyride and top of the mountain are absolutely breathtaking! We're glad you had an amazing view and enjoyed your time on the mountain. Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us--we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Yesterday we arrived at grouse mountain with my baby and four year old for a night of Christmas fun. We arrived around 5pm and had booked a reservation for the observatory. We were planning to go on the sleigh ride before dinner. We were turned away first time and was told to come back and they will try to squeeze us in otherwise the closest is 8:40pm! We came back after dinner and we were told the 7:20pm group is too big and we have no chance again! The wait is just ridiculously long and my little one was more than disappointed watching people get on and off the sleigh ride twice .

We headed over to the sliding zone and its hugely hazardous. People were sliding from the waiting line up and crashing into people in the line up. My four year old was one second away from being crashed by unruly people sliding in non designated areas. The GM personnel who witnessed whole incident did not respond according to such a dangerous act. We were so put off by the danger we left shortly after one try. We have been to Whistler or Callaghan park for tobogganing and have never had such a safety concern playing a supposedly fun and low safety sport. Please have better safety measures in place so people can enjoy the fun safely without being concerned about being run over. The line up was moving so slowly that people were finding their own dangerous ways of sliding in danger zone. It only takes a few more staff to ward off people and to move the line up along (ie not have people linger in the actual sliding zone) but they were not in sight.

The observatory is also a huge disappointment. The waiter seemed uninterested with us since we had no alcohol and had a baby and toddler. Didnt make small conversations, no warm welcome, no explanation of the menu, not offer to sit beside window, ....the menu is very limited with five options for entree. Service was slow. Stay away if you have other ways to go up the mountain without paying. The only reason we went was the complimentary ticket to go up if you reserve there.

All in all we were hugely disappointed in our experience at Grouse mountain. Lots of sights and sounds but none are accessible without hours of waiting or danger of being injured. I was considering of snow school for my little one but have changed my mind since I know this resort does not promote the safety of their guests.

Thank TH123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We appreciate your feedback and certainly this is not the experience we want for our guests visiting the Mountain. Safety is our top priority and your comments have been passed on to our Mountain Operations team to investigate and make appropriate adjustments to the Sliding Zone experience.

As you can imagine, this is a busy time of year for us with many visitors to our Peak of Christmas celebration. We value your feedback as it allows us to continue to refine the overall experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

The views from Grouse Mountain are wonderful and there are is so much to do and see. There are two Grizzly bears who were rescued as cubs so if you don't manage to see them in the wild then this is the next best thing. They have Birds of Prey shows, a lumberjack show and zip lines amongst other activities. Good fun for all ages. We ate at the BBQ which wasn't great and was rather disorganised and took an age to order and receive the food. Would avoid the BBQ in future but the mountain is worth a visit.

Thank cocostravelsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for such a great review! We're happy to hear that everyone in your family had fun visiting Grinder and Coola and checking out the Lumberjack Show.

We appreciate your feedback about the BBQ, as we can only improve when people share their experiences with us. We will pass along your comments to our Food & Beverage team so we can streamline our operations for the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your visit. We hope to see you on the mountain again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We were lucky as it snowed for first day and the whole place was covered white. The snow was falling when we reached . The floor was slippery but it was fun in the snow. We managed to see the Grizler bear after a wait of 10 minutes. Our tour guide gave us tickets for the trolley to go up hill which takes 8 minutes to reach up. Must visit place.

Thank Gagan_Gupta_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

What a great review, thank you! There's definitely something magical about freshly fallen snow, so we're happy you got to experience it firsthand. We recommend proper footwear when it's snowing such as hiking or snow boots because, as you said, it can be a bit slippery! Thank you for taking the time to share your visit--we hope to see you on the mountain again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews