We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful weekend trip to Christmas at the peak”
Review of Grouse Mountain

Grouse Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 271.53*
and up
Private Tour to Capilano Bridge and Grouse Mountain
More Info
US$ 345.58*
and up
Full Day Best of Vancouver Private City Tour and Alpine Adventure
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$ 42.29*
and up
Grouse Mountain Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just 15 minutes from downtown Vancouver, Grouse Mountain attracts locals and tourists alike. During the summer, guests enjoy hiking, Zip Line Adventures, paragliding, sightseeing, lumberjack shows and more. In winter, we have skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, sleigh rides among many other activities. Grouse Mountain also features several different dining venues, from café style at Lupins to casual dining at Altitudes and fine dining as a guest at The Observatory. We also have a refuge for endangered wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Yesterday we arrived at grouse mountain with my baby and four year old for a night of Christmas fun. We arrived around 5pm and had booked a reservation for the observatory. We were planning to go on the sleigh ride before dinner. We were turned away first time and was told to come back and they will try to squeeze us in otherwise the closest is 8:40pm! We came back after dinner and we were told the 7:20pm group is too big and we have no chance again! The wait is just ridiculously long and my little one was more than disappointed watching people get on and off the sleigh ride twice .

We headed over to the sliding zone and its hugely hazardous. People were sliding from the waiting line up and crashing into people in the line up. My four year old was one second away from being crashed by unruly people sliding in non designated areas. The GM personnel who witnessed whole incident did not respond according to such a dangerous act. We were so put off by the danger we left shortly after one try. We have been to Whistler or Callaghan park for tobogganing and have never had such a safety concern playing a supposedly fun and low safety sport. Please have better safety measures in place so people can enjoy the fun safely without being concerned about being run over. The line up was moving so slowly that people were finding their own dangerous ways of sliding in danger zone. It only takes a few more staff to ward off people and to move the line up along (ie not have people linger in the actual sliding zone) but they were not in sight.

The observatory is also a huge disappointment. The waiter seemed uninterested with us since we had no alcohol and had a baby and toddler. Didnt make small conversations, no warm welcome, no explanation of the menu, not offer to sit beside window, ....the menu is very limited with five options for entree. Service was slow. Stay away if you have other ways to go up the mountain without paying. The only reason we went was the complimentary ticket to go up if you reserve there.

All in all we were hugely disappointed in our experience at Grouse mountain. Lots of sights and sounds but none are accessible without hours of waiting or danger of being injured. I was considering of snow school for my little one but have changed my mind since I know this resort does not promote the safety of their guests.

Thank TH123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We appreciate your feedback and certainly this is not the experience we want for our guests visiting the Mountain. Safety is our top priority and your comments have been passed on to our Mountain Operations team to investigate and make appropriate adjustments to the Sliding Zone experience.

As you can imagine, this is a busy time of year for us with many visitors to our Peak of Christmas celebration. We value your feedback as it allows us to continue to refine the overall experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 4,251 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

The views from Grouse Mountain are wonderful and there are is so much to do and see. There are two Grizzly bears who were rescued as cubs so if you don't manage to see them in the wild then this is the next best thing. They have Birds of Prey shows, a lumberjack show and zip lines amongst other activities. Good fun for all ages. We ate at the BBQ which wasn't great and was rather disorganised and took an age to order and receive the food. Would avoid the BBQ in future but the mountain is worth a visit.

Thank cocostravelsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a great review! We're happy to hear that everyone in your family had fun visiting Grinder and Coola and checking out the Lumberjack Show.

We appreciate your feedback about the BBQ, as we can only improve when people share their experiences with us. We will pass along your comments to our Food & Beverage team so we can streamline our operations for the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your visit. We hope to see you on the mountain again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

We were lucky as it snowed for first day and the whole place was covered white. The snow was falling when we reached . The floor was slippery but it was fun in the snow. We managed to see the Grizler bear after a wait of 10 minutes. Our tour guide gave us tickets for the trolley to go up hill which takes 8 minutes to reach up. Must visit place.

Thank Gagan_Gupta_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

What a great review, thank you! There's definitely something magical about freshly fallen snow, so we're happy you got to experience it firsthand. We recommend proper footwear when it's snowing such as hiking or snow boots because, as you said, it can be a bit slippery! Thank you for taking the time to share your visit--we hope to see you on the mountain again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Great fun tobogganing and ice skating at the top. Cheap hire $5 a toboggan and $8 for skates ... no time limit.
Fun to go play in the snow!
We caught the bus to Grouse Mountain ... you need coins only on the bus and the right amount!

1  Thank CafLilnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience--it sounds like you had a fantastic day! Great advice for visitors about needing exact coins for public transit, as the bus drivers aren't able to give change. We hope to see you up the mountain again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Amazing place to go with kids, loved the Christmas light walk, movie theatre showcasing Christmas movies, Santa workshop, snow sports including skiing, sliding Tobagoning, skating and snow walk !
Beautiful pictures of the winter wonderland, coming down on the trolley beautiful views of the city of Vancouver and the coastal skyline!

Thank RuKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review! We strive to offer something for every member of the family, so we're thrilled to hear everyone had fun during our Peak of Christmas. Vancouver is definitely very special in that you have a bustling city on one end, and snow-covered mountains on the other! We hope to see you up here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grouse Mountain also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Grouse Mountain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing