We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow!”
Review of Grouse Mountain

Grouse Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 45.23*
and up
Grouse Mountain Admission
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just 15 minutes from downtown Vancouver, Grouse Mountain attracts locals and tourists alike. During the summer, guests enjoy hiking, Zip Line Adventures, paragliding, sightseeing, lumberjack shows and more. In winter, we have skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, sleigh rides among many other activities. Grouse Mountain also features several different dining venues, from café style at Lupins to casual dining at Altitudes and fine dining as a guest at The Observatory. We also have a refuge for endangered wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Great fun tobogganing and ice skating at the top. Cheap hire $5 a toboggan and $8 for skates ... no time limit.
Fun to go play in the snow!
We caught the bus to Grouse Mountain ... you need coins only on the bus and the right amount!

1  Thank CafLilnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience--it sounds like you had a fantastic day! Great advice for visitors about needing exact coins for public transit, as the bus drivers aren't able to give change. We hope to see you up the mountain again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"cable car"
in 323 reviews
"chair lift"
in 244 reviews
"bird show"
in 246 reviews
"gondola ride"
in 234 reviews
"ski lift"
in 172 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 197 reviews
"zip lining"
in 186 reviews
"lumber jack show"
in 93 reviews
"ice skating"
in 60 reviews
"grinder"
in 122 reviews
"wood carvings"
in 54 reviews
"canada place"
in 235 reviews
"grizzly bear"
in 60 reviews
"lumberjack shows"
in 44 reviews
"mountain top"
in 55 reviews
"fantastic views"
in 90 reviews
"free shuttle"
in 142 reviews
Filter

155 - 159 of 4,405 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Amazing place to go with kids, loved the Christmas light walk, movie theatre showcasing Christmas movies, Santa workshop, snow sports including skiing, sliding Tobagoning, skating and snow walk !
Beautiful pictures of the winter wonderland, coming down on the trolley beautiful views of the city of Vancouver and the coastal skyline!

Thank RuKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review! We strive to offer something for every member of the family, so we're thrilled to hear everyone had fun during our Peak of Christmas. Vancouver is definitely very special in that you have a bustling city on one end, and snow-covered mountains on the other! We hope to see you up here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Today I went snow shoeing with a friend and there is lot of fresh light snow on the mountain. We even saw double sun dogs ( parhelion). Be aware of huge lineups as they changed the cable for gondolas and the next few days need to run them in half of capacity as a manufacturer's requirement

Thank MirkaYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacki C, Front Office Manager at Grouse Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

We're so happy to hear you had a great day with fresh snow and sun dogs. I've worked here for many years and have never witnessed a parhelion, so you should consider yourself very lucky! We thank you for your understanding in regards to the tram lineups; as you mentioned, operating at half capacity after the cable change was a manufacturer requirement to ensure safety. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to see you on the mountain again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

If it wasn't closed for the season I would have done The Grouse Grind hike up Grouse Mountain, but at the time I went in mid-November, it was closed. Taking the Skyride gondola we went from fairly green scenery, climbing to an abundance of snow covered ski hills.
There was lots of room on the ride up, but I was warned by some of the locals this changes drastically during the ski season. Up top was a mix of snow and ice so at that time of year I would recommend hiking boots (What I wore.) or even snow boots. The Eye of the Wind was closed for maintenance, but people could still make the trek up to the base and along the rim of the mountain, which was well worth the views. I would also recommend eating at the restaurant Altitudes Bistro. (See my separate review. ) The snow machines were working hard that day which provided some good artsy photo moments. Visitors, if your timing is right, will get to see the 2 orphaned sleepy bears lounging in their hibernation area pre-big-snooze. Majestic animals and a lot bigger then I would have imagined. I was very happy I got the opportunity to see them since I'm not sure if they are in and out of their hibernation area during the winter. Maybe call ahead if that's what you're going for. Throughout the area are a number of wooden sculptures. Keep a lookout not to miss any. I want to return in the summer and hike what grousemountain.com terms , "Mother Nature's Stairmaster."

Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2017

On arrival we were told that not all 5 zipline trails were open. A bit of a downer, but still went ahead. A bit of a trek between zip lines, but what a fantastic adrenalin rush. Not the best with heights, but the guides are very reassuring. Paid for a Go Pro, but guides forgot to switch it on. Guides were also very knowledgeable. A couple of good Aussie blokes.

1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grouse Mountain also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Grouse Mountain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;