We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to see the current standard!”
Review of Max Noodle House

Max Noodle House
Ranked #338 of 1,018 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

A true HK brand name, from time to time when I am really craving for some HK style wonton noodles and other goodies, I will revisit and hope for the best!

Over the years, I am afraid to say the standard has gradually declined, I can see that the boss and a few staff is still the same but I am sure the few times that I have returned the cook at the noodle and congee stand had changed many times.

Items ordered:

Beef Brisket & Tendon Rice Noodle in Soup $6.95 3/5
The beef was well prepared with the perfect tenderness as with the tendon, the rice noodles were a bit over cooked, but still retains silky smooth. I can understand it is really hard to compare to the real thing in Hong Kong but I am sure with better cooking time & technique, this will become a 5 easy!

Lo-mein with Stewed Pork Hock $9.50 3/5
Again, the Stewed Pork Hock was prepared really well, but the noodles were also over cooked and became soggy and sticks together.
Remember this is a Speciality Restaurant that prized itself for their noodles, I hope the boss will pay more attention to the production process and find good cooks for their noodles!

Supreme Wunton Noodles $6.95 3/5
This by far is the biggest disappointment, it like going to an Italian Restaurant and their Pasta is overcooked!!
The wonton itself is also not up to par, the wonton was wrapped like a dumpling (which is in a longer shape and not round like a wonton supposed to be). The soup base was good, but without the two main ingredients being prepared properly, this is not the same wonton noodles I have come to expect from this "pedigree" of wonton noodle house.

Mixed Seafood Congee (Sampan Congee) $8.15 2/5
Oh sorry, this is even worst then the Wonton Noodles I just mentioned.
Totally not the same thing as you would expect from "any" place that serves this dish, it was completely watery and with nothing inside except for a few squid tentacles!! Sorry this is nothing close to the real item!!

I really hope this "Brand" name restaurant can keep their standard and uphold the true Hong Kong Style Wonton Noodles, as there are none in Vancouver at present.

Final Score: 2.75 stars
Sad to say: Not Recommending!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Y3025YVandreww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018

i've been to this place twice & both times not too impressed by the service - usual chinese restaurant where service is a non issue. food was OK too. small portions. very limited menu. the only reason I go is because my family likes it there. there are better noodle houses that I would rather spend my money.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Monica k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

This is the one of the best Canton Style Wonton soup noodle around in Vancouver for long time ,,the quality of the Wonton and the noodle ,is excellent ,the broth is truly authentic Canton Style ! the portion is very small ,not for largest appetites ,beside the wonton noodle ,there is a lot of choice in the menu , the chicken hot pot on rice is great too ,( make to order ,wait less half hours ! ) not a bad place for snake ! they closed on Tuesday and Holidays ,service is satisfied . price is average !

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TONY L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Contrary to what some people say, Max Noodle house is not related to the famous Mak's noodle house in Hong Kong. Because we were initially told it was, we were anxious to try it out. Max is located on Alexander Road in Richmond. First let me tell you that Max Noodle House does not accept credit or debit card so bring lots of cash. The wonton/dumpling noodles were tasty but we've had just as good at the cheaper Hon's Won Ton House in Vancouver. The wonton soup servings were rather small...again compared to Hon's Won Ton House. Also tried the pork trotters which were melt-in-your mouth good. The beef brisket was just ok.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

This is the best Wonton Noodle Soup in Vancouver, this is a branch of a very famous wonton soup restaurant from HongKong, a little pricey for the size of noodle soup bowl but well worth it.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 507kennetht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Max Noodle House also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Max Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing