We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
28
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip stunning views great place full kitchen perfect holiday train station ruth pool andrea host kids florence patio note apartment peace meal
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at 6Stanco and we've booked again for next year - this, from the family who have never visited the same place twice!
The reasons are clear:
- the property (Olimpia) is clean, fantastically well equipped and has plenty of space. There's no need to go straight to the supermarket and buy everything - it's all there, including peripherals that you normally make do without. The pool is great - a good size and clean and much needed after a day out

- the host, Ruth, is utterly brilliant. Nothing is too much trouble but you wouldn't notice she's there unless you needed her. She works relentlessly to keep the place spotless and when nature takes it course (i.e. No rain for months, leading to a momentary shortage) they ensured that the guests had everything possible so we barely noticed (disposable plates, lots of bottled water...) also note that Andrea (Ruth's husband) also endured all of the elderly people in the village had plenty of water too - a measure of their good standing.

- the location is stunningly beautiful and also a near-perfect base for so many places. Bologna, Modena, Ferrari museum, Ducatti museum are all very close, with Florence, Siena, Piza etc all within reach for a day trip. You can even get up early and make it to the Rimini coast & back if you're so inclined.

For those with a disability, my husband has limited mobility (incomplete paraplegic) and this property is perfect for us, as it has a full bedroom & bathroom downstairs (allowing our daughter to enjoy the 4 poster upstairs!). Discuss your accessibility requirements with Ruth, the host, and she will do all she can to help you assess suitability (sending photos etc)

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LoveTravel607367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We had a lovely holiday at6Stanco. I'll include the ups and the not so ups, to help folks choose where to stay..
Really nicely appointed barns with loads of hot water, good showers, fresh pretty barns, cute, small but really well equipped kitchen, enough to cook in, for a few nights.
Super easy to get to, and a wonderful easy hop on the train (for 6 euros) into Florence and Bologna from the little local station. Even though we had a car, we enjoyed the train into the city) Free parking etc
The countryside is lovely - and not madly touristy. A real escape, and we returned to the UK refreshed and happy. Being able to walk to a couple of restaurants was a bonus, and the tiny supermarket in Grizzana had a yummy selection of meats and cheeses with warm friendly people everywhere. I can't think of anywhere where we've had a warmer welcome than the Italians in this region, this holiday. Lovely people.
The pool is nice - small but definitely big enough for a little swim and a much needed cool down.
Families with little kids seemed to be in heaven using the pool area, covered by lovely trees, and also the courtyard between the barns.
So -
On the downside, the bed is up in the mezzanine in the barn we stayed in (Giacoma I think) so without air-con, and unusually hot weather for end of Aug, we were baking at night, and pretty well acquainted with the moths and bugs (as we had no choice but to leave the big patio doors open) I think a ceiling fan and mozzie net would turn it into a dreamy place, even if no air-con. The fresh mountain air we had assumed would mean no air on needed, didn't show up :-) So it was pretty hot and sticky.

Also I hadn't clocked that the two semi detached barns don't have a patio (although they do have gorgeous big doors opening into the lovely trees.) It may not bother you, but we're especially fond of a late night chianti outdoors with a book.. There are lots of spaces and tables to take your drink and lunch and eat a bit away from the barn, and that's what we did. It was nice - but it wasn't ours alone, and it meant loading up our trays with goodies.

The week we went (as a couple, to get some rest away from our teens!) there were 14 kids staying at 6Stanco for a language programme. The programme looked fantastic for kids, and Ruth was obviously running it brilliantly - if I had a child keen on that, I'd definitely send them here. For us - I wish we'd asked a few more questions about privacy and kids, as we were attached in the barn to a big group of Italian girlies, having a ball..say no more :-) It wasn't a bad thing - it just wasn't quite what we'd imagined up in the mountains as a couple.
I don't know the ame of the big barn next to the pool with the patio - but that would be the one to choose!
Enjoy

Room tip: They're all nice. The one by the pool, the big one, would be the one to go for!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumkingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

One of the best holidays we have had. We stayed in Olimpia. Our hostess Ruth is English. She is also an architect and a TEFAL teacher. She designed and fitted out all the apartments to a high standard. The pool is immaculate, fenced and surrounded by views of the green hills of the Apennines. We used to take the car down to the station and catch trains to Bologna, Ravenna, Ferrara and Firenze. Returning from the heat of the cities to the peace and fresh air at Stanco was a real pleasure. If you are coming from Bologna Airport, consider stocking up at a big super-market on your way. Ruth will provide directions. Finally big thanks to both Andrea and Ruth for being so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We would happily return!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015

What great accommodation. We have just spent a week at the Guisseppina holiday apartment. It was situated in the most lovely setting, quiet, cooling breeze, unspoilt mountain region. Equipment - Everything we needed for self-catering. Shower - good. Bed - comfortable. Ruth, our hostess was kind and friendly and helpful with information that helped us enjoy our holiday. The pool is good and there are plenty of sunloungers, patio sets etc.
We really liked this accommodation as we prefer to be out in the countryside, experiencing the local area. there is a good choice of places to visit from here. We went to Bologna on the train, which is reasonable priced and only takes half an hour.
There are good places to eat near here too.
The scenery also is stunning, travel up to the mountain tops for exceptional views.
A brilliant holiday

Room tip: As far as we know each apartment has its own advantages - good views, quiet location, ample equipment for s/c.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anne2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We stayed in the largest property which was very comfortable, and well equipped. The pizza night which brought all the guests together was brilliant and Ruth was an excellent hostess throughout our week.
Great place to visit if you don't want to be totally alone, but enjoy the company of a few families. Kids had a fab time and the location was beautiful. The Bar Piña in Grizzana Morandi was also a great little find.
Thoroughly recommend it

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loobos2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews