We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful country cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
View from Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Kitchen
Garden Woodlands Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
View from Kitchen
Garden
Woodlands Cottage
Christmas at Woodlands.
Lounge
Lounge with wood fire place
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen with wood stove
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom with fireplace
Bedroom
View from bottom of garden
View from Holmbury Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holmbury St Mary, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deb33550
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful country cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I am glad we ignored a previous negative comment, because we loved our stay at Woodland Cottage, which is absolutely charming. The weather was cold when we were there but we found the heating perfectly adequate, but were also able to enjoy a real fire in the evening which made the cottage very cosy and authentic.
The local farm shop is excellent, and can provide most of what you need.
The cottage is a perfect base for exploring the stunning surrounding countryside.
The area is teaming with wildlife, and we loved the "duck fly past" every morning.
A week was not enough, we will be back, and I would happily rent this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quaintness of the cottage
Liked least: the list of instructions, no emergency numbers and unavailability of owner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Woodlands cottage. Unfortunately it was colder weather during your stay and I am happy that you were able to adjust the heat accordingly. The issue with the toilet cistern breaking was very unfortunate and not something one can predict. I did have someone come to fix it as soon as was possible as this happened on a Saturday night, on Monday morning. Buckets and a sink bowl were available under the kitchen sink. The hifi was available in the cottage and I sent and email containing the password for your convenience, along with detailed information of where to buy groceries and firewood should you require it. There are 4 light weight duvets and 4 heavy ones available at the cottage, along with blankets if needed. The cottage was cleaned thoroughly before your arrival as it is each time. I only ask that it is left in a similar state once you vacate along with putting your rubbish in the containers provided outside. I had never considered that a spirex visitor’s book is not the best and will correct that so that people may read all the comments left by previous guests. This is my home and I care deeply about it and hope that people enjoy it, the village and the area as much as I do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Reviewed 7 September 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The back garden and the location
Liked least: The lack of renter's manual.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing