We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So good we've already booked to return next year!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Courtyard Creamery

Courtyard Creamery Spacious Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Courtyard Creamery Spacious Living Area
Outside of Courtyard Creamery Looking at Courtyard Creamery from across the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Courtyard Creamery Spacious Living Area
Outside of Courtyard Creamery
Looking at Courtyard Creamery from across the courtyard
Open-plan Sitting Room & Kitchen
The Sitting Room & Kitchen from a different angle
Relax on the comfy sofa and play backgammon in front of the fire
Leading to South facing patio
Well-equipped kitchen with everything you need for dinner
Bedroom with king-size bed, goose-down duvet and 100% cotton linen.
Relax in the comfy bed and listen to the Roberts Radio.
Relax in the roll top bath after a long days walking.
Spacious bathroom with everything you need for your stay.
Bathroom with separate shower, travertine marble floor and heated towel rail.
Soft fluffy towels in the Bathroom
Patio which is perfect for a glass of rose!
Overlooking Biggin Dale towards Whim Hill
Another view from the patio.
And another one ...!
Looking towards the village
Autumn colours
Cows and sheep in the surrounding fields
All-weather tennis court which has stunning views over the fields
Guinness the donkey!
Indian Runner Ducks to amuse you
Monastic barn in the grounds
Courtyard Creamery is a converted barn in the grounds of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Mitch4808
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“So good we've already booked to return next year!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Peace and tranquillity!
It was everything we expected and more
Very well equipped in all areas
Jane was very friendly and available but unobtrusive. Just what we would expect from someone with a professionally run business
So good we've already booked to return next year!!
Thanks very much Jane we can't wait for next spring and our return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I am glad you have returned to recharge your batteries though judging by the amount of walking and cycling you did I'm not sure how much rest you had! Looking forward to seeing you both next year and thank you for your helpful advice about the cottage. I love feedback from guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smck525
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem....great find”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Hi Jane and Richard
Having previously stayed last year it was great to come back again and you made us so welcome.. thankyou :-) our stay was truly the best and so so relaxing. We loved the extra touches you have made since last year.
The boutique accommodation is a superb standard and very rural with wonderful scenery and tranquility of the Dale. The village of Hartington is very close and for food we visited the Devonshire Arms, in nearby Hurdlow the excellent and very reasonably priced Royal Oak, without not forgetting the best fish and chips in Ashbourne - Market Place. There is also a butchery close to the cottages Stanedge Grange can highly recommend they open the latter days of the week.
Jane is very welcoming and has made some delightful personal touches to the accommodation offered. if you want to get away from it all this the place to stay. We hired bikes and went on the Tissington and High Peak Trail, the market town of Buxton is only 15 minutes drive....if you love tearooms you have to visit Over Haddon and the Garden Tea Room - all made by the owners from their kitchen

Thanks again Jane and we will be booking again for next year....take care

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2014
It is lovely when guests return and I am glad you had another good week. There is so much to do in this area and you certainly covered some ground - well done! I am always trying to improve the cottages and pleased you could notice some changes. Also, so pleased you discovered the fish and chips run by the crazy Greeks - my children love it! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verity27M
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in idyllic country setting”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent four nights in this cottage and had a lovely time. There is so much to do in the area; we visited Bakewell, saw well dressings, looked around Chatsworth House. The area is lovely and great for running, which I made the most of. On our last night we had dinner at the pub in Biggin and I couldn't recommend it more, the food was excellent and the service exceptionally friendly. Overall a lovely place to stay and a great experience: thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped kitchen, beautiful patio area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
I'm so pleased you had a nice few days in Derbyshire. I agree about The Waterloo Inn as I took the children there for supper last week and the food was really good which is handy when I don't feel like cooking! Do come back and see us again. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaur66
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it - would stay again”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I would definitely recommend this cottage to other people looking to stay somewhere nice, quiet and clean. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, wish it was longer. It was so beautiful and peaceful. Apart from the shower squirting water, the few flies in the cottage and wood lice crawling in the bathroom and bedroom and the owner not coming to check us once over our weekend stay it was nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful and scenery
Liked least: flies/no welcome or checking on us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thanks for your review. I am very sorry that my house-sitter did not manage to see you but I did email you before to say I was abroad on holiday.
I will look into the shower immediately with the plumber and I am very sorry that there were some wood-lice and flies. Obviously we live in the countryside and at this time of year when the days are getting cooler they sometimes come inside for some warmth.
Please do come back and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relcutant...
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquil trip to the Peaks”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The accomondarion is luxurious and to a very good standard. The cottage sits an easy walk from the village and it's pub and Hall restuarant. A quick walk down the road leads to the first access point to the footpath network taking you through dales and into nearby villages. We would recommend Hartington highly and the Devonshire Arms.

Jane and Richard were very friendly and welcoming. We had a quiet week of walks and relish coming again. We missed taking advantage of the BBQ and tennis court but hope to when we visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil landscape surrounding the farm.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the property. I am glad you managed to explore the local hostelries and I must go Biggin Hall again soon as I hear the food is really good. We are lucky to be so near to footpaths and cycle routes and I am glad you made use of them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing