We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Atico Cocina - CLOSED

Atico Cocina
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 24
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here with friends. The food was well presented and tasted great. Very friendly and helpful service. Overall a very nice place.

Thank KeithDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

This restaurant is one of the best restaurants I've ever been too. food was AMAZING, service been superb and environment was just great.

very friendly staff who explained everything to us, had great suggestions and been very very nice.
I would go back to this restaurant again and again...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mustravel_365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Went for the Special Latin Night on Friday with a group of friends that love Salsa Music. Atico didn't dissapoint us, the food was lovely and the music was great.
We all are good fans of Latin Culture after three months of traveling around from Mexico to Argentina.
Having a place like Atico is like going back to those fun places where we had such a good time in Mexico and other places. The service was great, and we were able to practice our spanish ( a bonus!).
The place was packed and we waited a bit for our drinks, but those cocktails were worth the wait, great mojitos and margaritas.
Later our tapas style entrees arrive...humm beatiful ceviche and prawns with guacamole. Our mains were even better!, perfect pork, Chicken Jerk and a big portion of Beef Ribs.
We ate, dance and had a great time, will defenitely come back for more!
Did I mention the deco is super stylish and coloful?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We advised staff we were in for a quick bite before heading to a show and had limited time. Almost 15 minutes later (yes I was clock watching!), after hanging around in the bar and chatting with the barman, the waitress finally came to take our order. We again said we were in a hurry and to let us know if we ordered anything that would take too long to arrive. After ordering, we waited 25 minutes for our meals to arrive. This meant a quick gulp down and a run out the door. From our fleeting encounter with the food, it looked and tasted good - just wish we had more time to savour it. If the restaurant was busy I could understand the delay and we wouldn't have come here, but there were only 4 other tables occupied - 1 of which arrived after us and was served their food before us. If the service improved it would be good.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

You cannot fault the food, however the service was atrocious. Let's just say I hope you're not in a hurry! Seriously short staffed and poorly managed. Such a shame for a place with huge potential.

Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJTJ0, Manager at Atico Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Helen
Thanks for your review. We apreciate our customer's feedback to make sure that we meet their expectations. We are also pleased that you have enjoyed our food as we have excellent feedback from it. Unfortunately, the service on that day wasn't to our normal standards as the staff levels were low and we were fairly busy. We had two members of staff sick , and because it was a Sunday we couldn't get replacements quick enough.
we understand is not an excuse for the service but we hope you can try us again soon, so you can experience the excellent level of service that we normally provide to our customers with the best Latin American food experience in New Zealand.
regards
Atico Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atico Cocina also viewed

Auckland, North Island
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Mount Eden, Auckland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing