We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont come here if you're in a hurry”
Review of Atico Cocina - CLOSED

Atico Cocina
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 24
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We advised staff we were in for a quick bite before heading to a show and had limited time. Almost 15 minutes later (yes I was clock watching!), after hanging around in the bar and chatting with the barman, the waitress finally came to take our order. We again said we were in a hurry and to let us know if we ordered anything that would take too long to arrive. After ordering, we waited 25 minutes for our meals to arrive. This meant a quick gulp down and a run out the door. From our fleeting encounter with the food, it looked and tasted good - just wish we had more time to savour it. If the restaurant was busy I could understand the delay and we wouldn't have come here, but there were only 4 other tables occupied - 1 of which arrived after us and was served their food before us. If the service improved it would be good.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

You cannot fault the food, however the service was atrocious. Let's just say I hope you're not in a hurry! Seriously short staffed and poorly managed. Such a shame for a place with huge potential.

Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJTJ0, Manager at Atico Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Helen
Thanks for your review. We apreciate our customer's feedback to make sure that we meet their expectations. We are also pleased that you have enjoyed our food as we have excellent feedback from it. Unfortunately, the service on that day wasn't to our normal standards as the staff levels were low and we were fairly busy. We had two members of staff sick , and because it was a Sunday we couldn't get replacements quick enough.
we understand is not an excuse for the service but we hope you can try us again soon, so you can experience the excellent level of service that we normally provide to our customers with the best Latin American food experience in New Zealand.
regards
Atico Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The place is quite nice with pleasant decor. Warm and inviting with all the candles and music. We were welcomed by a staff as soon as we entered. Being a Friday evening, the restaurant was quite busy however, our host managed to seat us at a table in no time. We ordered coo coo chips, wine and a cider. The food was good and we were having a nice time. The chips were served with aioli and were nice and crisp. Everything was going good till the time one of the male waiters approached our table and whisked our aioli dip away. We just assumed may be he us just going to refill it and bring it back. We waited and waited however, the dip never returned. We had to finish the remaining chips without the dip. The last bit of our visit spoiled the experience...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelst0ries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had the 8 courrse degusttion menu. Our only complaint was too much food! Which isn't really a complaint at all. All the tastes and flavours were awesome. Being from the southern part of USA I loved the skillet corn bread to start. Each of the courses was from a different part of the Caribbean and all were delightful and authentic. The eggplant "fries" were very interesting and the chicken was quite tender and very well seasoned. Our wait service was quite good and it was fun watching the kitchn in action. They seemed quite passionate. Our only concern was the manager who was also in the bar seemed to be more concerned about texting than on serving the customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I went to this place on Saturday, but i have a terrible experience as the restaurant just used the Latin american name to get people in but the food is not a real Latino food. the chef was very pleasurable, the food was very cold. the service was terrible too and the food overprice. One thing annoyed me was that in this restaurant they offer food with a particular country name and it is offensive for all of us Latin america see our name in a menu and get disappointing with the result or the food, if you don't going to serve the same food just change the name but don't sell something that is no real because the opinion of people are important for our culture. and you are denigrating it. Please take a serious advice in a real Venezuelan , Dominican and Cuban food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yuraima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atico Cocina also viewed

Auckland, North Island
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Mount Eden, Auckland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing