We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place... Wish I could have gone on a less busier day”
Review of Atico Cocina - CLOSED

Atico Cocina
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 24
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The place is quite nice with pleasant decor. Warm and inviting with all the candles and music. We were welcomed by a staff as soon as we entered. Being a Friday evening, the restaurant was quite busy however, our host managed to seat us at a table in no time. We ordered coo coo chips, wine and a cider. The food was good and we were having a nice time. The chips were served with aioli and were nice and crisp. Everything was going good till the time one of the male waiters approached our table and whisked our aioli dip away. We just assumed may be he us just going to refill it and bring it back. We waited and waited however, the dip never returned. We had to finish the remaining chips without the dip. The last bit of our visit spoiled the experience...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelst0ries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

We had the 8 courrse degusttion menu. Our only complaint was too much food! Which isn't really a complaint at all. All the tastes and flavours were awesome. Being from the southern part of USA I loved the skillet corn bread to start. Each of the courses was from a different part of the Caribbean and all were delightful and authentic. The eggplant "fries" were very interesting and the chicken was quite tender and very well seasoned. Our wait service was quite good and it was fun watching the kitchn in action. They seemed quite passionate. Our only concern was the manager who was also in the bar seemed to be more concerned about texting than on serving the customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I went to this place on Saturday, but i have a terrible experience as the restaurant just used the Latin american name to get people in but the food is not a real Latino food. the chef was very pleasurable, the food was very cold. the service was terrible too and the food overprice. One thing annoyed me was that in this restaurant they offer food with a particular country name and it is offensive for all of us Latin america see our name in a menu and get disappointing with the result or the food, if you don't going to serve the same food just change the name but don't sell something that is no real because the opinion of people are important for our culture. and you are denigrating it. Please take a serious advice in a real Venezuelan , Dominican and Cuban food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yuraima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Four of us had dinner on Saturday night - we did not have a voucher but selected extensively from the menu. The cooks at this restaurant should be proud of themselves...the dishes are divine, tasty and very fresh.
Unfortunately the waiting staff bring the restaurant down to very Average! They need to up their came if they want people to repeat custom.
We had a lovely sweet waitress but she was totally overwhelmed by the demands of the customers. Service was very very slow. Even payment for our meal was very slow.
I actually feel sorry for the cooks because the food is lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tinaandrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

There are so many great places to eat in Auckland I would definitely give this one a miss! Wednesday night and place was busy. We were 2 tables away from the band so very difficult to hear anyone else talking. 50 minutes wait for our cocktails (despite asking for them at least 4 times) which when they arrived were terrrible. My mojito was, I think, missing the sugar and the rum and made with flat soda water (?) so I sent it back and ordered a wine instead. Food was also a big let down. The menu was limited and our ordered food took ages to arrive - when it did it was very average. Would definitely not go back and writing this so no one else wastes their money and time here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJTJ0, Owner at Atico Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear,Charlotte.
I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations, our Wednesday night was a big special Cuban night with great music for our customers, that is part of the Caribbean experience, if customers find the
I've music too loud we always try our best to accommodate them somewhere else away from them. We remembered you but we understad that you have a voucher which has limited options for dishes (Set menu). Our Menu is quite diverse and cover various area of the Caribbean. Set menus are great value for money but have lomit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atico Cocina also viewed

Auckland, North Island
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Orewa, Auckland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing