We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable spicy food”

Spicy House Chinese Takeaway
Ranked #1,088 of 4,447 Restaurants in Auckland
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 May 2021

Well, this is not a fancy restaurant, a small but OK, and the good thing is affordable with good spicy meals. We were enjoy our dinner. Soft Shell Crab and Pork with salty fish sauce on rice. If any con, there is no wash sink, so you need to go to the nearby public toilet if you want to wash your hand, or bring your own wet wipes.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank santo-trainsspotter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2019

A quick lunch stop before movies. Some milder meals but lives up to name with some having a spice level. Not overly impressive decor or surrounds but food was very tasty and decent price.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2019 via mobile

The restaurant must have changed hands. We were back for the first time after a couple years. We didn’t walk in a packed house nor long queue. The food was still pretty good. The place is much cleaner too.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank timernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019

Quite disappointed actually. I went there because I love Sichuan food. But this is not what I know and love. Got spicy beef which was lacking spice and sweet and sour pork, which was doughy and bland. Need to do better because I won't be going back. I will keep looking for consistently good Sichuan food in Auckland.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pbaylis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2019

Great value for money and the chinese food is really good. Sweet and Sour Pork my favourite, combination fried rice medium was a little spicy for me but it wasnt too hot. Massive meals and only about $12 a dish. We use to go across the road to the one on the corner but it became very dirty cleanliness wise so found this place so much nicer. Staff were sweet. Very quick bringing out the dishes. Didn't get the lamb shank but it looked massive.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank LindaW7595IZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spicy House Chinese Takeaway also viewed

Remuera, Auckland
Auckland, North Island
 

Been to Spicy House Chinese Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.