We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Getaway!”
Review of GoldenEye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GoldenEye
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Certificate of Excellence
Marina del Rey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Getaway!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We went for a destination wedding (that pretty much filled the resort) and it was not only a beautiful place for an event like that, it was a romantic getaway and a great time with friends we hadn't seen. Easy to meet for breakfast or on the beach or swim in the lagoon. The watersport equipment is so accessible, you just swim over (or walk over) and ask for a paddle board or kayak. It's very laid back but also very luxurious, like your own island getaway. The grounds and the ocean and wind -- all very beautiful and romantics. And the owner/manager, Jenny Wood, is incredibly present and lovely. I was not a huge fan of Jamaica as a destination, but this resort changed my mind. You can have an amazing trip and never leave the property and still get a great taste of Jamaica. ALSO the spa is a collection of little cottages. "The best massage I've ever had" was said by everyone (including me) who experienced it. An hour massage makes you think it's been two hours, it's so relaxing and luxurious. Go and experience for a special romantic vacation or a decadent friend or family reunion or wedding or party.

Room Tip: We had a lagoon suite (cheaper than the beachfront cottages and same size) and we loved it because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    32
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
53
179
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Goldeneye is a little piece of James Bond history- a beautiful beach resort with all kinds of activities attached to the Ian Fleming villa.
We had heard mixed live reports from those that knew Goldeneye prior to the expansion of the new Lagoon rooms. I have to say, that these didn't spoil the ambience a bit. Alll rooms are immaculate, and the new lagoon suites (while 20 secs walk from the beach) are with their own jetties/ kayaks off your own back porch- not quite James bond, but cool!
Breakfasts and lunches were at Bizot restaurant and were a nice mix of local/ Western food. The only slight let downwas dinner- I believe that the resort was between chefs and experimenting a new menu. If you get fed up with the same menu each evening, there is a wonderful driver Gloria who can take you to try the more local places.
For those that know the Outpost hotels, Goldeneye and the Caves in Negril are quite different and a nice compliment for a 2 center holiday. What the Caves lacks in smart rooms, Goldeneye definitely makes up (tho you get to appreciate the Caves retro chic w/ time). Both have great snorkeling, over-fished waters (expect just a boat trip), great staff, but splitting time between both gives a nice taste of Jamaica.
Make sure to take a tour of the gardens- all the trees planted by famous people is very fun to see- the Clinton's, Sting, Jz & Beyonce, Kate Moss, Richard Branson, Princess Margaret.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amysak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We had the privilege of spending nine days at Goldeneye in late February. I had seen lots of positive reviews on TripAdvisor prior to booking our trip, so I knew we were in for an amazing time. That said...the online pictures do not do it justice! I now know why people keep using the word "magical" to describe it. The ambience is just so relaxing and the surroundings are so beautiful. There are only 20 villas and they're spread over 50+ acres, so you never feel crowded. The food is very, very fresh and inventive (as are their specialty cocktails). The staff were among the most friendly and accommodating that I've ever encountered. Truly a vacation of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Lagoon villas are a bit more secluded than the beach villas and have your own personal sundeck right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My wife & I have stayed at several luxury resorts, and I have even worked at numerous others, but I have never before felt compelled to write a review. With Goldeneye however, we truly felt as if we experienced something unique.

As with anything else that is truly elegant, Goldeneye concentrates less on flashy amenity, and more on a subtle sense of luxury and comfort. I have honestly never experienced a place as tranquil, while at the same time, in an atmosphere of a vibrant island full of energy. The resort is small enough, that even though we were told it was full at least one night we were there, it felt as we were the only ones there.

Everything, from the villas, to the spa, to the restaurants, and even the beaches, feel as if they were all carefully designed to ensure they did not impact the natural tranquility of the environment. The villas are large and well appointed (the outdoor shower is something everyone should experience). The spa is honestly what every spa I have ever been to attempts to simulate. There is no need for spa music in the background, as nature provides the soundtrack. The restaurant serves locally sourced food that is fantastic. The lagoon is one of the true treasures of this property, as it is truly a serene playground right in your back yard.

The staff and service are incredible, and again with a sense of subtlety. There is no specific butler for each guest or villa, but that is because every member of the staff is empowered to handle whatever you ask. They also have the friendly presence of Jamaica, and even if you are only there for a day you will get to know them.

Finally, the history of this property is again elegantly presented. It is not in your face, but should you choose, you can learn about this history from Ian Fleming to Chris Blackwell, and if it is open, even ask to tour the Fleming Villa.

To sum it up, there are many resorts that can present beautiful beaches and a relaxing atmosphere, but this is the first we have found that places all of that in an authentic Jamaican package, abject of pretension, and wholly designed to be a true island getaway.

Room Tip: I would personally recommend a room on the lagoon side, as you get the serenity of the lagoon, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren-and-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My husband and I were recently immersed in the Goldeneye experience for five amazing days.

Goldeneye is peaceful, tranquil, friendly, fun filled, steeped in history and authentic Jamaican vibe,magical and musical, beautiful beyond belief with total respect for the environment.

The locally grown food is outstanding and the hospitable staff with their genuine warmth and caring make you feel like special family members.

We will always carry our Goldeneye experience in our hearts and hope to return one day

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
14.1 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
94.8 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,343 reviews
112.7 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
99.4 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
14.4 km away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,549 reviews
94.5 km away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GoldenEye? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GoldenEye

Property: GoldenEye
Address: Oracabessa Bay, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,596 - ₹ 58,801
Hotel Class:4 star — GoldenEye 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GoldenEye Hotel & Resort overlooks the Caribbean Sea in the quiet village of Oracabessa Bay on Jamaica’s north coast. Named after one of Ian Fleming’s World War II missions, Operation GoldenEye, this Island Outpost property is owned by Chris Blackwell, Jamaica-raised founder of Island Records. The stunning 52-acre property is home to secret coves, breathtaking private beaches, tropical forests and a singular lagoon. There are 49 stand-alone Beach Huts, Lagoon Cottages and Beach and Lagoon Villas, as well as Fleming Villa, designed by Fleming, himself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your GoldenEye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldeneye Hotel Oracabessa
Goldeneye Hotel Ocho Rios
Goldeneye Resort Ocho Rios
GoldenEye Jamaica/Oracabessa, Saint Mary Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing