We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HEAVENLY- like no other resort!”
Review of GoldenEye

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GoldenEye
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY- like no other resort!”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Amazingly beautiful getaway! Tucked away in the lagoon= the perfect relaxation destination. I jumped off our private deck within minutes of arriving....Simply put, Goldeneye is the dream vacation. Perfect for the traveler who seeks a beautiful romantic backdrop, totally private yet filled with fun filled activities, authentic Jamaican cuisine, and of course the unbeatable laid back vibe! I left kicking and screaming, asking my boyfriend if we could extend our stay... please could we extend or stay. I will be back 200%!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JCHESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    32
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
49
172
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Goldeneye was truly a paradise. There were so many little surprises that made the vacation special, and I will not ruin them for the next traveler. Half the fun is discovering the property and the customer service. We stayed in Villa 002, and it was beautiful. I believe the Villa could easily sleep 2 couples. There is a separate kitchen area which is great. After a couple of days, we went shopping for snacks and drinks so the kitchen came in handy. The Villa is broken into two parts, a main two story house and a detached second bedroom. The "master bedroom" is upstairs in the main house. The view from master was amazing. Every morning we could overlook the water and feel the warm breeze. The second bedroom has an outdoor shower which was amazing. There is also a nice hammock for lounging within the villa. But the weather was so nice, there was no time for lounging, the lagoon was the favorite hangout for my hubby and I! We can jump right into the lagoon from the backyard of the villa. The lagoon was a great temperature for October and very clear. I am not a particularly strong swimmer; however the water is shallow near the villas and you can get a life vest for the deeper parts.

The spa was good. We did the couples massage which was relaxing and soothing. I also did the manicure and pedicure. Both were great. The one CON is that the mani/pedi was pretty expensive. I paid about twice what I would have paid in the states and was a little put off by the cost. But I am on vacation so I let it ride. Next time I would pass...

The food and drinks at the restaurants were good. As many have said, try Jamaican. I am not particularly fond of jerk or curry foods, but the food at the restaurants were delicious! My favorite dish was the Parrot Fish.

The customer service and the care for each guest is what makes the property so wonderful. Between Darby explaining the history of Jamaica as he took us on excursions to Danny and the other lifeguard showing us on around the water and helping us on the kayaks, it was truly a great experience. I highly recommend this property!

I did want to point a few tips...

There are mosquitos. We survived, but bring protection and ask Dale to help out with spray. Also, everyone is really friendly and helpful, but we almost had a few..ahem...moments... as they walked into the villa to clean etc. While the food was great, if you want hamburgers or steak, order them more rare than you normally would. My medium seemed more like well done, so we ordered medium rare from that point forward which did the trick. Lastly, the property is really discreet and secluded which is really romantic but if you wanted a party scene count on paying a driver to take you to Ocho Rios for that type of scene. Other than that, the resort was a gem and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: While I loved Villa 2, we did tour the property. The Lagoon Suites are beautiful and are some the le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
Level Contributor
214 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Goldeneye is part of a large estate that incluedes the former house of Ian Fleming in jamaica.
You can understand why Mr Fleming wrote so many james bond adventures in this retreat: there is nothing to do except watching sea, plants, birds and mosquitos.
I am not a fan of jamaica and honestly 2 hours drive (or 30 minutes flight from ian fleming airport) from Montego bay are a lot...but this resort seams to attract a lot of international celebrities (Gisele, sadie frost and kate moss all there at the same time).
the service is really slow and sometimes the breakfast was a nightmere...the dinner a little better.
the beach is very small, but the rooms nice

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Just recently got back from short stay at Goldeneye with a group of friends from school. It truly was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed. Firstly, the place is just gorgeous. The first view of the bridge taking you over the lagoon left everyone speechless. The Villas are everything I would want in my very own home. And the service is really where this place excels. The staff and management are incredibly nice and they bended over backwards to make sure we were taken care of. Oh, and the breakfasts are incredible (And included!). Would go back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Let's keep it between us. We stayed in a lagoon and beach cottage while we were there. It was funny, both had fully equipped kitchens but the lagoon cottage didn't have any pots and pans and they seemed to have all ended up in other kitchens around the property. It was so nice to be able to self-cater a light meal when I was tired of the resorts delicious food. We stayed in Jun 2011, and I'm counting down the days until I can go back. But please, I'd like to keep the rum daiquiris and the island hammock reserved for myself.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank govinda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracabessa
14.0 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
94.8 km away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
112.7 km away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
96.4 km away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
99.4 km away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GoldenEye? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GoldenEye

Property: GoldenEye
Address: Oracabessa Bay, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oracabessa
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,790 - ₹ 55,854
Hotel Class:4 star — GoldenEye 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GoldenEye Hotel & Resort overlooks the Caribbean Sea in the quiet village of Oracabessa Bay on Jamaica’s north coast. Named after one of Ian Fleming’s World War II missions, Operation GoldenEye, this Island Outpost property is owned by Chris Blackwell, Jamaica-raised founder of Island Records. The stunning 52-acre property is home to secret coves, breathtaking private beaches, tropical forests and a singular lagoon. There are 49 stand-alone Beach Huts, Lagoon Cottages and Beach and Lagoon Villas, as well as Fleming Villa, designed by Fleming, himself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your GoldenEye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldeneye Hotel Oracabessa
Goldeneye Hotel Ocho Rios
Goldeneye Resort Ocho Rios
GoldenEye Jamaica/Oracabessa, Saint Mary Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing