We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,215)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveller rating
458
393
202
82
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
393
202
82
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free mini bar coffee machine compact room small bottle of wine car park four poster city centre lovely little hotel fresh milk dressing gowns would stay again free parking ironing board street parking little extras lovely touch one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Room was a little oddly shaped but had everything needed, a very comfortable bed and a great shower. The little mini-fridge with some complimentary drinks was a nice touch and very convenient. The breakfast was excellent - all good and freshly cooked and especially appreciated in contrast to the previous hotel we had stayed on this trip.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenkentuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear StephenKentUK,
Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Good to hear you enjoyed our breakfast - we get all our (meat) items from the award-winning local butcher next door to the hotel, rather than frozen, mass-produced items you often find in hotels. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which gives you 10% off the price of your booking, 10% off the price of food and drink at the hotel, along with various other benefits.
Kind regards
Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This hotel is close to the centre of York but still quiet. The people are friendly and helpful. The food is very good the room I had was lovely. As a single person I felt well received. Would stay again

Room Tip: The hotel is over 3 floors with no lift, if you don't like stairs ask for a ground floor room
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pamela510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Pamela510,
Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Good to hear you felt well received as a solo traveller - we do have lots of solo guests here, so we do appreciate that you feel safe here. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which gives you 10% off the price of your booking, 10% off the price of food and drink at the hotel, along with various other benefits.
Kind regards
Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Double room very comfortable, clean and quiet. Nice touch with coffee machine.
Only one fault we were only people in restaurant for evening meal and had to wait nearly an hour to get our meal. Waitress in the evening and breakfast very friendly.
Not far to walk into York, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Ian,
Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry you found the wait for your meal to be too long - all our food is prepared from fresh so it can take a little longer than expected - I have passed on your feedback to our head chef in any case. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which gives you 10% off the price of your booking, 10% off the price of food and drink at the hotel, along with various other benefits.
Kind regards
Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Just had 1 night stay just as well we got in the room to find the bed was broken this was sorted while we sat in the bar with a free cocktail the problem was we were in room 108 on the ground floor the pavement went straight past the window so no view and on a very busy road through the night if we had the windows open we couldn't sleep because of the noise if we shut the window no noise but the room got too hot so we would open the window then to much noise worst night sleep in any b&b/hotel we can remember.On the plus side the staff were great the room was clean and a short walk into the city breakfast was good would we stay here again yes but not in room 108 tip for you ring and make sure you haven't been given this room and you stay should be great we only gave 3 stars due to the lack of sleep

Room Tip: Ring to make sure you are not in 108 if you want to sleep
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear David N,
Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry you found the room too hot - there is a fan provided in every room though. We can allocate a room at the rear of the building, and on an upper floor, if that's what you prefer. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which gives you 10% off the price of your booking, 10% off the price of food and drink at the hotel, along with various other benefits.
Kind regards
Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We arrived by bus from York station - it's about 10 minutes and there is a stop outside which was very convenient as it was a very hot weekend and walking too far wasn't on. In normal weather, the city centre would easily be walkable.

My daughters booked the family room in the hotel as a surprise night away for my 'big' birthday. They had specifically explained when booking on the phone that we would be there earlier than normal check in and were told that was no problem. Unfortunately when we arrived, we were told somewhat abruptly that our room wasn't ready but we could leave our cases. No offer was made of somewhere to change from our travelling clothes into something more suitable for my birthday lunch in town so we left somewhat disappointed.

When we returned in the early evening, a different receptionist was much more pleasant and helpful. Our bags had been taken to our room and he was able to provide a toothbrush straight away for the daughter that forgot ...

The family room was reached via the outside at the back and was a lovely room which easily fitted 3 adults. The bathroom was big too (shower only) and we heard very little noise from other rooms. It was nice to have a Tassimo and also 'real' milk for tea/coffee in the fridge. The free mini-bar was an unexpected bonus.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but did take advantage of the offer they had on cocktails in the bar which made them very reasonable. We did, however, have breakfast there which was cooked to order and was delicious.

The hotel redeemed itself after its somewhat inauspicious start and I would certainly consider it when visiting York again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear GillB,
Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry you couldn't check in early - our guests often arrive before check in starts at 2pm to take advantage of our car park, or to leave their bags, but unfortunately we are sometimes unable to provide a room for early check in, as the previous night's guests are not required to check out until 11am, and the rooms then have to be cleaned, before being ready for the next day's guests. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which gives you 10% off the price of your booking, 10% off the price of food and drink at the hotel, along with various other benefits.
Kind regards
Hotel Noir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews